Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭spillit67

It is in no way strange. She cast blame on Brian Stanley and said it was within his gift to end this.

Subsequently we know a criminal complaint was sent that you yourself said that it was “impossible for SF to adjudicate on”.

For someone who claims to value whistleblowers, your brushing off of this is somewhat surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Doherty and O'Broin are likely preparing their leadership campaigns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,799 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

???

She was informed that a disciplinary process had taken place. What's unusual about that? Normal party communication after a shock resignation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭pureza

well he did see it to report stage,it’s not a criminal court and clearly he had had enough

It is interesting that he felt the need to have the level of witness and representation there that he had

We could speculate all day on that

I’ve given you a reasonable guess as to your query anyway that most people would be thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Now we are talking.

The same horse **** points have been made for years and it didn't stop SF from getting in to the early 30s.

They handled this the same as any other party it or org. does but the problem is that they tried to bounce Stanley out so an activist type could be put in.

I have explained all of that already. When you are in the cult, you accept everything about the cult. Until he realised he was being kicked out, Stanley stayed faithful to the cult.

You are the only one defending the references being given to help the paedophile get a job working with children. Given that he was photographed with a child at Stormont when they were meeting MON, you might dial back on the rhetoric a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

You have to have a tough neck to be in politics, a strong ego as well. Highly driven and probably a bit manic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,314 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Their legacy and their internal structure are connected issues, Francie. Sinn Fein faces questions here that other parties don't, and if you want to comfort yourself by thinking that the only reason for this is that the people arbitrarily choose to raise these challenges to SF and not to other parties, go ahead. But there are good reasons why SF faces theese challenges and, asn long as SF and its supporters are in denial about this, they'll never be able to deal with this problem effectively.

Which is why, this morning, SF is in the position it's in. If they hope to get out of this position, they need to be honest with themselves about the reason they're in it in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Sigma101

If that were the case it would be a huge step forward. Unfortunately, more likely is that the successor has already been chosen, will be elected unopposed, and will enjoy the unanimous support of all party members.

Well you know my reading of it.
    I think anyone would take the opportunity to rebut the preliminary report having stayed in the process so long.

If I am allowed to 'think' as you are, I would say it is 'interesting' that he walked and immediately tried to smear the process, not with details of what happened but with words he knew 'thinkers' like you and others in the media would latch onto with gusto. 'Kangaroo courts' and 'omerta'. Youse haven't let him down, I'll give youse that.😁

I 'think' that says quite a bit here.

You are the only one defending the references being given to help the paedophile get a job working with children.

Shows how desperate you are here. That is a complete lie.

I just posted my question to you and your response where I make clear;

And you are saying that details of that investigation involving another party member was leaked to Lynn Boylan on Saturday?

Your response:

Again: I would think it completely normal for party members to be informed once a shock resignation of a high profile member occurs. I can't see how it could work any other way.

Again, my question came from Lynn Boylan’s direct statement on how Brian Stanley could “end all of this” if he just told everyone what the allegation was.

Again Brian Stanley could not. The only logic to her statement would have been if she had known his allegations and dismissed them herself.

Further- you said yourself that “SF could not adjudicate” so it had to be reported to AGS.

This all flies in the face of your professed belief that whistleblowers should be protected.

clearly Stanley of 40 years standing in the party knew that further appeal would be a waste of time

I hate having to state the obvious

No they didn’t.

Mary Lou McDonald said on television of Sunday night that if the complaint on Stanley had been criminal then it would have immediately have been reported.

Yet one day later we find out that Brian Stanley had a complaint of a criminal nature on September 11th that the SF “process” recommended he report and that they themselves reported one month later.

Mary Lou McDonald was not informed of this complaint of a potential criminal nature until October 12th though apparently.

This makes no sense, with them contradicting statements they make daily.

There isn’t a competent organisation in Ireland that would not inform their leader of a potential criminal charge if they became aware of one and said to that person they should report it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Not made with hands

There's a story flying around on Whatsapp which involves neither a parking ticket nor missing money.

I've no idea if it's true so won't be posting. Although it does sound plausible given the bits we do know.

Either way the facts are known by a lot more than the cops, himself and senior party members.

By way if example there was a former Clare hurler in bother recently and everybody who wanted to know knew who it was prior to him appearing in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Who cares what Morning Ireland think?

RTE are corrupt. They've all been bought off with taxpayers money by FF/FG to the tune of 750 million and now it's payback time.

This ain't complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,066 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Yeah and of course WhatsApp has never been know to facilitate the spread of false information to try and influence election outcomes has it?

There's also a story floating around on twitter (which is just as reliable as WhatsApp for news) that also implicates a FG minister, but details on that one are short, to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

Your really losing the run of yourself. So you're now saying McGonagle shouldn't have been suspended until he was found guilty?

Of course you can. It happens on a weekly basis. Not every employer wants to go to the Garda after an employee took a chicken fillet roll without paying for it ffs. The notion that an employer can't then proceed with disciplinary process against the employee becusse of that is ludicrous.

There absolutely was an onus on BS legal team to report it according to you. You even linked to the article in the law society that's states it.

The obligation to make a report under section 19 is broad in scope, applying to any ‘person’ (which would include a solicitor). A person must disclose information that he “knows or believes might be of material assistance” to the gardaí in relation to the investigation of a relevant offence.

It is important for solicitors to be aware that there is no statutory exemption for legal professional privilege in the act.

Why were members of FG not investigated when they didn't report Leo btw?

Stop making up things that I am not saying. It is a clear attempt at distraction. Tactics that are familiar on here for years.

About 3000 direct and indirect work for RTÉ,its finances are now under the remit of PAC and the C&AG and it’s news output subject to the same regulations as Virgin or independent radio

If you want to see what non independent TV/radio looks like,spend a few hours watching GB news or Fox,instead of talking out of your arse like shinnerbots on x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

Francie, honestly, i don't know why you waste your time and energy with this thread when you get the same bollox off the same posters, day in, day out

https://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/fionnan-sheahan-its-sinn-feins-gubu-moment-and-as-questions-over-identity-of-shinner-texter-remain-mary-lou-mcdonalds-leadership-is-on-the-line/a150146187.html

This hasn't been referenced here before, but Fionnan Sheahan really goes to town on Sinn Fein.

"In a remarkable turn of events, Sinn Féin is in even more trouble now than when the debate was arranged a week ago. At that stage, there was the grotesque situation of a paedophile staff member being given references by Sinn Féin officials to get a job with a charity where he would have access to children. The party’s bungled handling of that saga went right up to the top, with the charity being accused of not doing its due diligence.

The past week though has thrown Sinn Féin into even deeper waters. The unbelievable situation will see McDonald, the leader of the opposition, being dramatically challenged to answer questions of profound public interest. The Brian Stanley saga is certainly bizarre, with the party struggling to explain why it did not refer the case to the gardaí sooner, if it believes there was potential criminality involved."

It is a compelling reading outlining the seriousness of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭mikep

Jaysus...a letter was handed in to the public office in the Garda station..

http://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2024/1015/1475483-sinn-fein-politics/

Complete panic I suspect is the reason behind that.

There is at least one barrister out there whose reputation will be in tatters over this.

No it wasn’t a ‘leak’ any party member wanting to know why a sudden resignation + a statement happened would have been given details of it. That a complaint and disciplinary process had taken place.

What other details did Boylan reveal? Precisely none.

It is frankly a strange obsession at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

No it's not. It's an attempt to try and get you to not talk gibberish. Sf are a cult becusse they didn't care about McMonagle, what a take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Not made with hands

SF were quick to throw Sean Gallagher under the bus in an election all those years ago. False information torpedoes were there before WhatsApp.

It would probably help them at this stage to at least give some details of the nature of the allegations.

"Sure it's a garda matter now we can't comment" isn't going to cut it.

Why one?
    According to @Bass Reeves all solictors and barristers have a duty to report matters if they think a criminal act occurred.
    Surely if Stanley's team presented this allegation they 'believe' it and should have reported it.

I notice too that the same poster's elaborate conspiracy theory around SF appointing a northern barrister has disappeared too.

She said he could “end all of it”.

How could that have been if she knew there was a counter allegation.

If she did not then why did SF not inform her of that given that you yourself said they “could not adjudicate on it”.

It is in no way strange, it is just unfortunate for you that your own inconsistencies are called out.

MLMD on Sunday

https://x.com/virginmedianews/status/1845506331031076893?s=46&t=hy6wc4bLZMiyfotc20UniQ

Even a “suggestion” would have meant the Guards were informed on the Stanley allegation.

Not the case on his counter allegation apparently.

Moreover she wasn’t even informed that there was one, even though they recommended that Stanley informed AGS.