Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,789 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Again: I would think it completely normal for party members to be informed once a shock resignation of a high profile member occurs. I can't see how it could work any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭spillit67

Why would party members be briefed when there was a counter allegation that gave rise to details being passed onto AGS?

Are you suggesting SF members are aware of what this criminal is compliant is? How is the individual in question’s right to “fair procedures” being preserved?

Stop playing dumb, MLMD said explicitly;

The report also went to the head of our disciplinary committee, and I should say the Sinn Féin disciplinary process is supervised by a barrister, by a legal professional. It’s at arm’s length from the party itself.

It is not arms length when said barrister is a member of the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭pureza

you know what’s funny?

You making this that and the other excuses in the midst of all this shambles for the party you claim to have adopted having been disappointed by Enda Kenny’s new politics 🤣 🤣

The irony is endless as is the ostrich necking

Nope-

Why are members of SF aware of what the criminal allegations against one member of the party are (not Brian Stanley)?

Why was Lynn Boylan so confident to go on the radio to attack Brian Stanley?

The 'procedures' ended with his resignation. Matt Carthy is coming on Drivetime now to discuss it, should he be expected to do that without being briefed? It's not that hard to grasp.

The barrister was there in the interests of SF I presume and ditto Stanley's was there to protect his rights. His membership or not of SF is not of any consequence IMO

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

It just proves she has no general cop on. Tge EU gig is a sentinel from national and local party politics which is a double edged sword of course but, right now, is an absolute gift. She merely had to say her focus was clearly on working fur her constituents in Europe and the Brian Stanley issue was being handled by a party process and it was for the party to comment. Easy to switch focus to her EU mandate, dodge a bullet abd keep herself looking squeaky clean for her further career ambitions. She just waded right in though and now, it can be inferred that if she knows, so does her husband who is a high ranking party spokesman. It wouldn’t be strange then to imagine MLMD knows too. Of course she knows now but I don’t think anyone really believes she didn’t know anything better last Saturday. Same as Lynn who obviously had the entire story before now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭pureza

Where was matt carty's spot on drivetime announced ?

Just to be clear on what you are saying.

Brian Stanley resigned on Saturday night. In his statement he said he felt he was poorly treated and there were other allegations made by him that he did not think were taken seriously.

You are saying that it is right and proper that SF members were briefed of all of those allegations once he left.

So Lynn Boylan when she went on the radio was aware of the matter that required a criminal complaint from Stanley’s allegations?

Given that you yourself have said the procedure was open until this morning and that the Garda investigation was required as he called it short himself, how was it appropriate for Lynn Boylan to be criticising Brian Stanley on the radio?

How does this reconcile to your professed support of supporting those who speak out?

That MLMD knows is unquestioned. That is not necessarily an issue (although her statements on timing and the fact that Stanley says the matters he considers criminal was reported in September open up questions on procedures).

To me the big question is why when it is not appropriate for MLMD to speak on the issues that it was for Lynn Boylan to make a fairly damming critique of Brian Stanley. How is it fair to both Stanley or the other individual complained about (although their name is not in public).

I’d agree with your statement on Boylan being able to say it was not a matter for her. I’m sure @FrancieBrady will be quick to say that if she had answered that way that we’d all be criticising her, but that isn’t the point. She made some very pointed comments about Brian Stanley.

You made an incorrect statement earlier to say it was to keep it at “arms length from the leadership”.

When I pointed out that she said the party specifically, you have waffled on other stuff. What you have argued and similarly MLMD did was that the presence of legal reps on both sides meant it was fair and arms length. It is not arms length though when one of the legal reps is a member of one side.

Just to be clear on what you are saying.

Brian Stanley resigned on Saturday night. In his statement he said he felt he was poorly treated and there were other allegations made by him that he did not think were taken seriously.

You are saying that it is right and proper that SF members were briefed of all of those allegations once he left.

I'm saying I cannot see how it would work once he sensationally resigned.

So Lynn Boylan when she went on the radio was aware of the matter that required a criminal complaint from Stanley’s allegations?

Given that you yourself have said the procedure was open until this morning and that the Garda investigation was required as he called it short himself, how was it appropriate for Lynn Boylan to be criticising Brian Stanley on the radio?

How does this reconcile to your professed support of supporting those who speak out?

Which bit of the 'process ended with Stanley's resignation' are you still not getting?

You tried to impugn O'Broin but the fact he was tweeting Stanley on Friday suggests he was not in the picture at that stage.

Once he resigned I cannot see how you could operate a party without telling members what happened.

FFS, the barrister was there for SF. What difference does it make if he was a member? That would be a bonus IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,080 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Can Franciebrady and Blanch152 please just set up their own chat about SF/DUP/ United Ireland etc. Every single topic about these issues is taken over and hijacked by these two and their tit for tat sniping at one another. It's childish and quite frankly boring the arse off everyone!!

How what would work?

The simple thing is for Lynn Boylan was to say it is a matter involving person (s) reputations and she shouldn’t comment on it as she does not know the details. I have no issue if she wanted to go out and try and defend the “procedures” even if that was risible like MLMD.

The fact that she has made those statements on the matter puts a question mark over any future legal proceedings once AGS investigate. This is clearly wrong.

It appears when the allegations were initially against Stanley that it was inappropriate for even MLMD to know. But when there are allegation (s) against others than someone as far down as Lynn Boylan should be aware. Square that.

It is not arms length from the party when all persons are members of said party.

You incorrectly said it was “from leadership”, why was that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,981 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Francis should realise that the Shinners have imploded on themselves which is no real surprise .

Time to wrap up any thoughts of forming a govt after the cascade of problems which were badly handled ab initio.

The game is up time to fold up the tent and decamp to the wilderness.

I don't need to square anything.
    The process ended with the resignation, party members who wanted to know were briefed. Perfectly normal to me. Can't see how you could run a political party any other way tbh.

*MLMD said she was aware of a complaint but not the specifics btw.

But that isn’t the case.

There were allegations against another party member. I would have thought that Boylan would have been determined to have seen an outcome on that if she knew the details.

Why was it appropriate for Lynn Boylan to know about those on Sunday morning but inappropriate for MLMD to not know of the details of the Stanley ones from the end of July (not the start of August as she said)?

According to Boylan yesterday pre announcement of Garda involvement;

Speaking on Newstalk, Ms Boylan said: "Brian could end all of this today, and actually could tell people what he was being investigated for, if he felt so hard done by in terms of that process."

How could Brian Stanley have “ended it all today” if he just said what he was investigated for? There was a counter allegation which Stanley has said he wanted reported to AGS in September but was not.

Lynn Boylan was exacting with what she said and who she seemed to think bore responsibility. Was she saying she did not believe the other allegation?

The process was terminated.
    Party members are not restricted by it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,981 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

The whiff of cordite from Connolly House is all over this, one would surmise.

But it wasn’t. The other individual is still a member of SF and the allegation remains against them and is being investigated by AGS now.

But supposedly it is fine for Boylan to know about that?!

Why did one rule apply to Stanley but not another here?

SF have said they cannot adjudicate on whether it was criminal or not. That's for the Gardai to decide.

If it is I presume another process will begin.

Nobody should be discussing it if your logic is correct.

But Lynn Boylan was very specific.

Speaking on Newstalk, Ms Boylan said: "Brian could end all of this today, and actually could tell people what he was being investigated for, if he felt so hard done by in terms of that process."

Yet here you are saying that “SF cannot adjudicate” on the other allegation.

How could Lynn Boylan say it was in Stanley’s gift to “end it all” given your statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,887 ✭✭✭blackwhite

There's quite the mental gymnastics going on here.

On one hand, Sinn Féin couldn't warn the GAA about someone they had booted out of the party for sending inappropriate texts to a minor, because it would be divulging personal information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly OK for Sinn Féin to have briefed Lynn Boylan on the nature of a complaint lodged against Stanley - despite it having nothing to do with her?

The other 'allegation' is an 'allegation'. It isn't a criminal offence until someone is charged and found guilty. SF have said they cannot make that adjudication, it's for the Gardai.
    If they are charged I presume another disciplinary process will begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Because he was of the culture of Sinn Fein, and dutifully subjected himself to their internal kangaroo court procedures. Simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

You can't identify him to the world, but you must take steps to protect children. Simple as that.

With a barrister and solicitor representing him? A court that seemed to be fine for him up to the issuing of the preliminary report?

If it was a kangaroo court why didn't his legal reps get him out of there and go to the courts? Or did it only become a 'kangaroo court' when the report issued?