Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greatest League in the World 2025 [LOI Thread]

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,761 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

It's all there for Derry now. They've just got to go win the games...which you wouldn't trust them to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,548 ✭✭✭✭CSF

No. Only if we drop points before then. If we win our 3 games we finish on 63 and Derry’s max would be 62

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I think Derry have 5 games left, they could theoretically get to 65. Not that I expect this to happen.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Scissor Sisters, Nine Inch Nails, Stipe, The Rocky Horror Show, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,107 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Can anybody really see Derry winning their next four, and Shels their next two to set up a final day title decider between the two of them?

Neither team has shown form like that in months.

Probably not, no.

But Rovers winning the next 3 is probably less than 50% likely also, and Derry only need 3 wins from the next 4 to be guaranteed their chance of a title decider on the last day anyway.

Rovers have positioned themselves as well as they can (Pats game aside), but they still need the ‘nobody wants to win this league’ vibe to continue for them to win it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Shams could not have asked for 3 better games in the run in - a safe Drogheda preparing for a cup final, a relegated Dundalk and Waterford with nothing to play for. The Waterford game is at home and even the away European game is a short trip up to Belfast. They may not do it, but that is an unbelievablely fortunate set of fixture's .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Rovers had one of our better performances of the season last night, Jack Byrne looked very good and caused Shels a lot of problems, but agree Shels didn't play too badly considering the amount of players they had missing. Pohls had a brilliant game. We took our chances and Shels didn't.

So hard to predict now. Despite Shels still being top for now I just can't see them winning it with their form. If Derry can win their next two games in hand then you'd have to fancy them, but any slip ups there and it's possible now that Rovers could win their last 3 and finish on 61 points. A three horse race going into the last game of the season seems likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Madeoface

I thought Drogheda might have a sniff of catching Bohs but they don't really so are looking at a play off.

Great finish to the season and even as a Pat's fan I'll enjoy the European games in tallaght.... rooting for Derry tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I didn’t say league was gone, I said it’s probably gone. I’ve never seen a team be in such poor form at such an important time of the season. 1 league win in 10!!!

I’ve been at our last 3 games and most our home games and I’ve been concerned for months that we’ve looked very nervous and have really been lacking a bite up front. Passing it around the back line and struggling to counter quickly.

It’s been in our hands for weeks and we’ve consistently failed to take advantage of it. I haven’t given up, went to Pats and Rovers game even though I was worried we’d lose on our form. I will goto our remaining games aswell (although not confident I will get a ticket for the Derry game). I convinced a friend to buy the final few game ticket package and bring his son so I haven’t given up.

But I’m not pretending we will find form out of nowhere and win our final three. I believe we can, but as a team that hasn’t won the league in a long time, the pressure on the lads must be immense. On last nights performance I hope they’ve taken enough into the final three games to believe it themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I think if Shels play the way we did against rovers we will win our next two games. Rovers were lethal with both goals and we created dangerous chances. Team also responded well to going a goal down. Also have a few lads back that were missing yesterday, including our entire central defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

Rovers excellent last night with Farrugia somewhere near his best. Delighted with that win. Should win remaining 3 games so down to what Derry will do.

I'd fancy Rovers for the title now. You can forget about Shels.

If Shels don't win the league, it'll be the biggest bottle job in League of Ireland history.

I don’t think we’ve ever even been more than 4 points clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Yeah, but won’t that mean that same logic will apply to everyone else who doesn’t win it?

Jf the logic is just that it was there for the taking.

Exactly. With both Rovers and Derry playing shite, bang average form would have already had the league wrapped up right now.

Jul 04

Prem Division

Drogheda United

Weavers Park

1-1

Draw

05 Aug

Prem Division

Derry City

Tolka Park

0-0

Draw

10 August

Prem Division

Sligo Rovers

The Showgrounds

1-2

Unknown

Loss

23 August

Prem Division

Bohemians

Tolka Park

1-1

Draw

30 August

Prem Division

Dundalk

Oriel Park

1-0

Unknown

Win

06 September

Prem Division

Bohemians

Dalymount Park

1-1

Unknown

Draw

20 September

Prem Division

Galway United

Eamonn Deacy Park

1-0

Unknown

Loss

27 September

Prem Division

Sligo Rovers

Tolka Park

0-0

Draw

30 September Prem Division St Patrick's Athletic Tolka Park 2-3 4200 Loss

And another loss last night.

That's Shels league form since the start of July.

So if Derry win it, don’t we just isolate Rovers bottlejobs (4 wins from last 9 isn’t exactly a relentless title charge either) and if Rovers win it, we can point out that Derry’s form is largely the same as ours.

Ultimately one team are going to win it, and not care a bit about the games they didn’t win, and 2 teams are going to see it as a massive missed opportunity.

And Rovers are ultimately the one with the sort of budget where they’re supposed to win it.

Yeah, Rovers (we) absolutely shat the bed for most of the season. If we win it, it won't be because we were good, it'll be because Derry also shat the bed all season, and Shels having one of the worst run ins from a long time league leader ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,252 ✭✭✭✭DvB

I think that's fair.

& FWIW i think Rovers have totally bottled it, and are only in with a slim chance through the inconsistency of the rest, with that squad the 5IAR was there to be won and if we dont win it ( still dont think we will, think its Derry's to lose) have only ourselves to blame.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

I still think there’s something to be said for the idea that the standard outside of Rovers has largely been much better this year, and that this will even be more the case next year with Kenny having a full season with Pats and Cork surely being better than Dundalk.

Shels were very consistent for most if the league, probably the only side who had been but now their form has nosedived when the title is in sight. Losing Jarvis and Molloy has been a disaster tbf. I wouldn't call it a bottle job tbh, they just have no experience of getting over the line while Rovers have seen a weakness and are now piling on pressure at exactly the right time.

Derry must drive their supporters bananas. They're such a good side on their day that they should be clear but just no consistency and yet they could win the double.

Mad league, it's great fun for the outsider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭RamonD3

That foot and mouth year that bohs came from way back must be up there. Shels massively overachieved this year, even if they end 3rd. Very hard to see them going 3 wins from 3 after 1 in 9 or 10

Jack byrne was sensational yesterday, I'd have given him MOTM, the amount of tracking back he was doing, he was so up for it

I think everyone knew our ability to win games by 1 goals constantly couldn’t be sustained, but if we’d even regressed to midtable form we’d have been fine. Unfortunately that hasn’t been the case and we’ll have to do it the hard way now.

First things first we have to wrap up Europe. If Derry had lost to Bohs on Friday, that would have been even more of a conversation. I hope to be able to cheer on Kevin Doherty and a bunch of other ex-reds in the final, but that will obviously depend on us wrapping up that top 3 spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Catching Boh's was probably never on for them but they'd have taken 9th at the beginning of the year. Getting the playoff spot and a cup final surely counts as a successful season by them. The fact the Wexford game was so tight probably shows the play off will be far from a given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭PGE1970

As a Drogheda supporter, if you'd offered us that six weeks ago, I'd have taken the hand off you!

No Drogheda supporter would take the play-off game for granted and Kevin Doherty certainly won't.

Wexford played very well yesterday but we were dreadfully poor in the first half. We were much improved in the second half and were by far the better team but, that said, it took a 92nd minute goal to win it. However, once we got to 1-1, I never thought that we would lose even when Wexford made it 2-2.

Wexford have some lovely young players; the two CBs were good and Corbally in mf looked decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,354 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Good summary.

Could be summed up, "whoever wins the league will be because everyone else was crap".

Yeah ye deserve Europe at the least. I've enjoyed Duff this season and when I've seen Shels they've been a really good side before the dip in form.

But you can also say no team in the division has been a soft touch, its been a tough league to win as well.

(In reply to NIMAN, quote didn't work)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭WindmillWarrior

Over 20,000 sold on day 1 of ticket sales for the cup final!