Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Just reading that makes me want to go pee again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭Archeron

The carbon monoxide chicken is back to remind us all of our impending home heating related gaseous death. Stupid creepy yellow bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭deezell

Phelim

Phelim Drew has his oul lad off to a tee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,548 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

There's a Newstalk ad I heard this weekend just gone while on a long drive so I can't remember the exact detail of it.. but it's along the lines of Newstalk being your old friend or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,975 ✭✭✭squonk

You're right I'm sure. I always think of Ronnie Drew in that ad, and assumed it was the son, as he does so many ad voice overs. I'm surprised there isn't a touring Dubliners tribute band, beards and all. They'd do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭optogirl

MY BULKY PEE PAD! Then she's up on someone's shoulders 'letting it all go'. Christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Phelim was interviewed a couple of years ago. He said he auditioned for that ad but wasn't picked 🤣.

And there is a new touring Dubliners tribute. They were on the Late Late a couple of weeks ago. They're managed by Phil Coulter and John Sheehan.

That's hilarious. He's probably not in the Tribute band either.

Nope. It's mainly lads based in Galway. I know a couple of them and they are very good alright.

Paul Woodful has a character, Ding Dong Dinny O’Reilly who is kind of a cross between a Dubliner and a Wolfe Tone. He’s basically using that to voice the canary

You could throw in a bit of Brian Kerr there too, though there are subtle differences. Very old school.

A video of her kid gives her the power to cycle up that mountain.

Cool

Vomit inducing, as bad as your man with the gouty knee or whatever who thinks he's going to die before his daughter's wedding (see, she has the Bridezilla magazine in case you're too thick to work it out.) Who tf gets an MRI for a sprain? You wouldn't even get an Xray.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Isn't that Barry O'Hanlon from Fair City as the grandfather in the Vodafone ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,589 ✭✭✭CoBo55

In the Ad with the aul one with the rubber knees, is the "young" fella in the car the actor who played the gormless copper in Blue lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Have you seen the terrain too? There isn't a hope she'd have the coverage to receive any message, nevermind a video, which'd take ages to download.

So you've all the gear, lycra, bikecra, et cetera, and you stop fir social media. Worse than the traffic light browsers. The budget should have bought pouches for cars and bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

The Unisef or MSF ads for Gaza or Lebanon, why are the spokespersons sound like they are shouting on a old Nokia 1100 with basic coverage, ever hear of WhatsApp audio ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88,883 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Yes it is Barry actor

Sky Mobile now has Roy Keane and his dog, well I think his own dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Radio5

Bet Tony and his Immersion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,349 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Does speaking loudly while walking at a fast pace on a treadmill not convey the authentic breathless urgency of a conflict zone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭rightmove

find a fiver - completely aimed at kids and down and outs.

Always liked a flutter but the apps and ads are criminal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,977 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

First Office Poo

Have I been living under a rock? What is this $h1t? YouTube says this ad is 6 months old, but I just seen it today for the first time on TV.

Woman involuntary farts, grabs a roll of toilet paper and a German/French dictionary so she can spread her fecal matter to it reading while she's in there(which also implies that she's going to be in there for some time). Publicly walks through the office displaying the roll of toilet paper and then smells it just before she goes into the toilet. 💩

Post edited by sligeach on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

WTAF?? My mind could have stayed unsullied, under that same rock, if I had thought to unsubscribe from this thread😐️

Vanilla post 🙄.

His famous dog died last year so he's either got another one or the ad was recorded before it's demise.

Hopefully it's the first scenario because the second one would be a bit weird.

The people commissioning this new batch of Andrex ads should have walked out at the pitch meeting stage. Both ads are rubbish. I thought the weirdo dancing his way into the bathroom was bad but this is just awful altogether. If they want to put people off buying Andrex then they’re succeeding.

The Disney ad with the epilepsy inducing rapid edit cuts. There's one shot of a cold looking wan in a blue dress up in a tower waving her arms and elbows like you'd see a dopey young wan doing on a ticktock thing. What's that meant to be? I recognise the character from a grandkid's book left behind, I think she's called Frozen? Is she trying to keep herself warm?

Then a minute later VM run a promo for their Autumn offerings, more fit inducing strobe like editing, but in one reality clip there's someone on a treatment table, and the, er, 'therapist', masseuse, shaman or whatever tf she is, is waving her arms over the victim exactly like Frozen from Disney. Life imitates art, or ticktock. She must have been a fan as a child, now she's a wizard for a living.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Hate that pizza one with Aldi James Corden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭blackvalley

AIB . “ For the life we’re after “

Probably been covered before and rightly so but the one with the little girl who seems to be living in the car with her father is truly despicable.
    Why would anyone drag their child through the rain to supposedly view a house and then demand of them “ what did you think “ as you would do with an adult .
    AIB appears to be on a path to prove how virtuous the are as opposed to all the other blood sucking leeches that are “ the banking system “ and are failing to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Acosta

A PINT OF COORS, PLEASE!

Hopefully he gets buried by an avalanche. There's a reason it's served ice cold. Because it's piss water!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

The lesbian couple on Supervalu ad. Too spicy? Cringy woke overacting nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Whos with ya 24 hrs three sixty five, who ll tell you to shuet up and listen to ya, yea we will , newstalk.

is it just me or is the female voice over very aggresive in her "Dubalin" tone ? i realy cant stand it when people say "shut up" even in ads. she sounds very like the narrator of the "crimes i cant forget" tv series on rte tonight. Jesus she fairly piles on the working class salt of the earth no messing with me Dubalin accent. I was sure she was about to come out with "Shuurrrup yew ya tick" at some stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,339 ✭✭✭saabsaab

The Eir for everyone ads. I mean are others exclusive?

Also the Northside the Southside and all of Dublin bit. Does it not work elsewhere?

I haven't heard the Newstalk ad but I think the wan doing the narration thought she was auditioing for the next series of Kin.

😆😆

I've never heard the Ad but your description is brilliant 😏😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭optogirl

Painful phrasing in ads really grinds my gears.

'So whether you're working from home during the day or at night, your housemate's having dinner with her family back home'

What? The housemate is in a permanent state of having dinner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Belikemike

In the ESB dangerous phone line ad, the older guy out walking when he sees a telephone pole on the ground and phones the ESB is the image of Ray Darcy I wouldn't be surprised if he was a relation!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭Archeron

In that Irish ad for consent, what exactly are those horrible cardboard headed monstrosities meant to be and what relevance do they have to the meaning of the ad?

They kind of remind me of the Guaranteed Irish logo, if they came to life and had scary surreal faces drawn on them.

That ad with yer wan on the bike that can't keep up. Is that because she has a phone mounted on her bike. Leave the fkucing phone at home! And maybe spend a while practicing to get your 'saddle arse' toughened before you go up a Mountain. In contrast, I enjoy the sly dig in the FBD ad at the mamils of the 'Fushia Bike Dads', as they struggle and gasp on a slight incline. The original 'Pink Panters'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,165 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Still with the Barclays advert…. “I didn’t eat any calamari, so I’m not paying for any Calamari.”

What is the point of that add ? Then yer wan jumping in the puddle outside the bank in the rain and the ‘banker’ gazing in a kind of ‘awhhhh that’s so lovely’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,170 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I hate the sneaky Cadbury ads that work hard to reset expectations that if you give someone a bar of chocolate as a little treat, it has to be the heart-attack inducing HUGE bar, and not a little small bar, which on it's own, is STILL too much for a one person treat with a cuppa.

The taciturn but considerate Da at the petrol station will be giving his daughter obesity with the huge bar for her night shift.

I'm not sure that that's her da 🤔

She sez 'love you dad' over the PA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,526 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

Anything with that absolute pain in the hole Vogue Williams in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,634 ✭✭✭RoTelly

All Cadbury's adverts mainly due to the dubbing to Irish accents, just leave the original.

Tesco "Daddy Cool" ad. It annoys me because I don't believe it was filmed in Ireland, yes Dublin Zoo is included in the the ad but it looks like it was added in post-production.

However, having done a quick search it looks like it is only used in Ireland, but I just feel it was produced in Britain.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday