Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭straight

I working alone here. Sure tis grand like but my generations before me never did it. I keep things manageable on purpose. I've 2 boys and a girl here mad for farming but they will have alot more temptations between then and now. It'll be there for them if they want it.

I was listening to the IFJ podcast earlier and they said a 70 or 80 cow herd is no longer viable whereas a 150 cow herd is. They said the exodus is just smaller lads leaving, being replaced by larger new entrants.

I don't agree but sure time will tell. People like their 39 hour weeks now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,353 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Are there many new entrants now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

I can tell u now a 70 cow herd is profitable especially if theres a beef enterprise which require very little labour all this 9 to 5 craic is great for now till theres a downturn in economy then suddenly people find they want to be farmers.

Children need to get a taste of both at least in order to make up their minds. Will be hanging up the clusters here before 60 is the plan.

Alot of lads are under pressure with nitrates and are overstocked on the milking block. Teagasc are at the same craic every year. Dump culls now while the market is good. It's only going to get harder the way the nitrates thing is going.

I keep my culls here to try and dilute the co op report and stay in the middle band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

yeah sure I worked away for 10 years and I’m glad I did- no regrets about not doing something different

I however am lucky to be farming with my brother and my father- I couldn’t do it on my own and tbh I wouldn’t want to- fair play to all the individual farmers flying the flag on their own- ye are a credit to yourselves

I’ve had many visitors to our farm over the years but one thing I haven’t been able (too young and arrogant) to convey is that it’s much easier for us to to things as we are a team on the same wavelength

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I think someone stated on Twitter there’s around 50 new entrants in 2024.

Re herd size: it’s nonsense that the IFJ say 150 cows is viable and 70-80 is not. You can’t generalise like that without knowing what kind of borrowings or lack thereof are involved, whether parents or children are helping out, spouse working or not, lifestyle of farmer (Ferrari vs Dacia Duster), etc. And that’s even before you look at the cows themselves and the farmer’s ground (heavy versus well-drained, fragmented, etc)

I get the general point they’re making but you’d be sick of the “industry” getting a horn at the mention of bigger herds and dismissing the type of farm many of them came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭green daries

I've always seen that if two people are doing /working on the same job and able to work together your going to get through the work or almost 4 individual fellas. You are definitely blessed with the father about..... I'd give my left arm to have him about

A neighbour said that to my dad years ago, how can we work together and not kill each other, him and his son fell out. My dad just said why would you argue with them, you're supposed to be helping them learn the ropes etc, I'd get on very well with my lad that's here now too. We do have the odd row but it's good to clear the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

What you’re saying is true, every man to his own. Land is the biggest factor in cows, have enough of it yourself and how good it is etc, the rag every week has to have something to write about and Teagasc lads the same to keep them in jobs, the family is the most important thing on the farm to help out, our two women from the age of four were doing small jobs every evening in the winter feed the dog, fill meal buckets, fill water etc and when I came home from work this all saved me time which is priceless, there is no point having a load of machinery tractors in a yard with only one lad to drive them, help is the success of any farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Farming with family members is perfect for getting a lot of work done and getting away on holidays but in 99% of cases it leads to civil war within a family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

The biggest proeblems around farms is auld lads if they gave control to young people the farm wud be better of big or small.Most succesfull farms had young people making decisions from a young age youd see them auld lads limping around yards and at the mart whinging no one to help them

The sad bit is lads in their fifties or sixties still waiting to have their say. My mam has to sign the cheque etc, waste of a lifetime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Anyone thinking of housing at night? Floods here now but not ready to leave them inside yet. I hate this time of year, hard to mentally transition to liming cubicles and all the extra work feeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭green daries

YYa That's no good for anyone or anything you would wonder how it was let get to thar stage on what often was a pretty modern farm in the times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

end of next week …slats to replace in cow shed early next week ..scrapers serviced yesterday ,few new lights put in ,cubicles tightened water troughs cleaned ….will have grass by day for guts of 3/4 weeks then …

Still powerwashing cubicle sheds here. Never got them done last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Cows in since last night. Terrible forecast for today it made sense to keep them in. Five month slog of it ahead. Worst part is not being able to fully switch off until the night check is done. And that hold your breath moment when you round a corner to see if they're all standing and lying correctly in their cubicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭visatorro

Going to start feeding silage next week. Have work to do on a couple of loose mats and cubicles to fix. I find when I start feeding silage because cows aren't locked in paddocks, if I start the tractor at all the bastards come in looking for feed. Last year was fully housed by Nov 1st. Left heavy covers behind. **** graze outs this spring. Cows are in last of the heavy covers for next 5-6 days. Will fly around block then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,704 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I would only check the cubicles at calving tbh

I go out before bed and push up the silage and that’s about it. We put the heifers in the cubicles yesterday and I never checked them before I went to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭ginger22

Things still motoring along niceley in our part of the country, we seem to have missed the extreme weather other parts got, no drought or floods. I think this advice by Teagasc regarding extending the rotation for the end of the years is a bad idea, trying to force cows to graze out heavy covers. What we do is start feeding bales at milking time from end of August and leave a good risidual in the paddock then, it is amazing how quickly the paddocks recover after grazing if not skinned. We keep the rotation as normal until housing. Keeps milk supply up and cows fully fed. looks like cows will stay out full time until at leaset the end of October and hopefully well into November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,704 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

built covers here for years and havent this year because the grass growth hasn’t been there, an awful lot more feed going in compared to usual and similar milk yeild

It probably suits you because you have a pile of feed from being lowly stocked but as a result of lower covers here this year we’re going to have to feed a pile more in autumn an aswell in spring because the grass covers aren’t there. I see it here around me with guys that don’t follow and autumn and spring rotation,

(and by this I don’t mean following teagasc autumn cover advice, I mean 2 x40-45 day rounds in autumn in spring vs zooming around in the farm in 21 days )

they have to make a serious amount more feed than what we would have to for similar amount of cows. We don’t build crazy high covers like we used to in years gone by but I would still like ore grazing up around 2-2200 for a spell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭DBK1

https://www.offalyexpress.ie/news/midland-tribune/1620182/public-auction-of-superb-143-acre-offaly-farm-this-friday.html

143 acre farm sold by public auction last Friday and bought by beef farming and agri contracting tractor jockeys for €1.4 million.

snap ….only ever do a check of sheds before bed during spring at calving

more /less same here …pure madness building big covers grass for October /november ….ill be in at night next weekend but that’s more a reflection of milk block sr than anything …will have grass br day till early November then ….cows back out by day middle janurary

graise consulting autumn plan makes so much sense in paper and practice ….os higher sr partly to blame in your case now as well as weather …you should be getting far better regrowths ,clean outs and more milk …I’m in similar position in that I stock milk block higher but accept that shoulders more feed will have to go in

My Teacher always told me "every good rule has an exception". I suppose if they sold a few tractors it would pay for alot of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭DBK1

Around here though the exception seems to be the rule. Majority of the land bought around here the last few years by active farmers is all being bought by what would be classed by some as tractor jockeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Since milk quota went , a bigger demand for oontractors and would easily say they along with zCo ops ,parlour sellers,quarries and lads who rent out land have benefited most .Must be near impossible for any young lad to go contacting today though a new Fusion4 is over 126k and new tractor 160hp is 150k ,so impossible to pay for them and farmers will be rightly screwed the way things are shaping up