Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

N3 - Virginia Bypass [route options published]

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,251 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Because ye are all supposed to be using buses or "active travel" if in/around the town itself. 🙄 Doesn't matter how much longer or impractical it may be - we have to save the planet while China and Russia do whatever sure!

The reality of how people live/work/commute doesn't enter the equation when it comes to the "Green" ideology.

I lived in Virginia myself for a few years about a decade or so ago and it was bad then at peak times so I can only imagine what it's like now. Having the M3 just end at the border where it does was pointless even at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭annfield1978

Any updates on this scheme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭roadmaster

i would say 4/5 years at earliest before buckets are in the ground.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

It was planned to start in 2029 a number of years ago and that's still realistic.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

September 2024 update:

Cavan County Council are continuing to progress the development of the N3 Virginia bypass:

• A Type 2 dual carriageway has been recommended for the route
    • Terminal roundabout junctions at Lisgrey and Derver, 3 intermediate junctions at Burrencarragh Link Road (compact GSJ), R178 Bailieborough Road (compact GSJ) and Ballyjamesduff Link Road (roundabout)
    • 20km of active travel facilities along the road
    • Two Transport Park and Share Hubs at Derver and Cornaslieve including parking, bus stops/shelters, EV charging

The corridor has now been refined from 300m to 150m. A further update is due in Q1 2025.

Update: http://www.n3virginiabypass.ie/news_developing_design_10092024.html

Map of refined route:

https://jbbarry.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=cb3b48e0fe5047d0ab264b87fbecd1d9

Personal note: This looks great. Bring it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,351 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Look like a very good proposal overall. I assume it'll be SC west of Virginia, which would be fine. Can foresee a bit of resistance around the road for Cross (basically the area behind Virginia Transport) where the new road passes very close to several houses.

There will still be a lot of congestion at the existing N3/Bailieborough Road junction in Virginia. The petrol station on the corner will have to be bought out and that junction completely redesigned.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

"I assume it'll be SC west of Virginia, which would be fine."

The GIS clearly shows all the new route will be DC, right up to the Lisgrea roundabout at the very northern end of the scheme. Unless you mean the rest of the N3 route up to Cavan, will be left as SC with no upgrades. In which case I agree.

Perhaps it is a shame the opportunity wasn't taken to have a freeflow junction at the south end of the scheme where it ties in with the N3 Kells Bypass. Instead this will be a large roundabout.

The junction at Lisgrea Lake led me to think that section was SC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭KrisW1001

Shouldn't be a surprise. Large roundabouts are the standard option for Type 2 DCs where the movements on and off will be significant compared to the traffic on the mainline. Compact GSJs are preferred where most traffic is continuing straight ahead. This might seem counter-intuitive, but in the situation where you're using a Type 2 DC, maximising capacity is not the goal: eliminating right turns is.

A full, grade-separated interchange would be very unusual on a Type 2 DC because the expense of this kind of interchange is only justified for traffic levels that are close to the limits of a Type 2. Where a Type 2 continues from a Type 1/Motorway, the recommendation is to use a large at-grade roundabout to give drivers a clear signal that the type of road is changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭Delboy5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Freddypaccman

If its the Mullagh road you're referring to, no. It looks as if the existing Derver roundabout may become the defacto exit for Mullagh. The L3021/3020 from Whitegate is a better road than the R194 anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Freddypaccman

So, as N22 Macroom has been shown to be fine, the argument is basically that Cavan people are more stupid than Cork people?

Not something I'd argue if those people were my electorate...

There is 10km of 2+2 without hard shoulders immediately before the Virginia bypass on the Dublin side. It is quite lightly trafficked and I have never witnessed any vehicles brokendown there. I have however seen some incredibly dangerous stuff but that is stupid driving which hard shoulders doesn't alleviate.

AFAIK the new Type 2 DC standard includes refuge areas every 5km, the Virginia bypass would be built to this standard. Modern vehicles rarely suddenly stop working, they have warnings which indicate issues before they immodibilse it. Between junctions and refuge areas, it is very unlikely a car will breakdown without being able to get out of a driving lane.

Even better, refuge laybys are provided every 2 km. There’s also about 1.5 metres between the hard strip and grass verge along most of a 2+2. In extremis, a truck could pull over onto that, and there would still be 6.5 metres of road space free for other vehicles.

This whole argument about hard shoulders was done to death when N22 was being done. Now its open, people can see clearly that with the kind of sight-lines on the road, there’s zero chance of being caught unawares by a truck stopped ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Pale Red

I wonder if they would be so anxious for such an upgrade if the extra associated costs had to come from the Council's budget. Cavan is not noted for being a pothole free county so the desire for very high standards appear to only arise when somebody else is paying the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,431 ✭✭✭markpb

[quote]“It’s not future proof” either, argued Cllr Feeley, who said that road designers nationally are so fixated on installing cycle lanes that they’ve forgotten about the basics.[/quote]

That's it, blame the cyclists.

Jesus… he’s seriously arguing that a 3+3 lane road would be needed through rural Cavan. Not this century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

no, they are suggesting that the entire road design manual be revised so that theres an extra lane for tractors/ lay bys for and aul lads to pull over and take "urgent" phone calls. Probably also half wishing for it to be implemented on already completed N55 schemes.

For info, the N55 upgrades are fantastic but I drive neither a tractor nor have the need to STOP dead in my tracks if someone rings me (em, thanks to new fangled handsfree technology) so a hardshoulder-less road is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,370 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

While aul lads may drive tractors, I'm not sure that that you can blame them for excessive phone calls, mind you a young woman may make the call but not bother stopping, but just hold the phone.

The reality is that these designs are more dangerous, but save money. However, many issues are caused by the misuse of the road, inadequately lit trailers and the like and of course there will be no effort to address these problems. A whole new regime is needed for tractor use on roads with new regulations for lighting and licencing.

They are NOT more dangerous. There's a load of bullshit going around about 2+2 roads, and to be honest I didn't expect you to be one of the ones repeating it.

2+2 has a design speed of 100 km/h. For a Type 1 DC that design speed is 120 km/h. That higher design speed is the main reason why a Type 1 has hard shoulders.

The only alternative to 2+2 here is a wide single, which actually is more dangerous, as it can be shared with bikes and walkers.

There's no way on earth a Type 1 DC can be justified here.

This whole nonsense could be stopped if that councillor would just visit Cork and drive on the N22 Macroom road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,370 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

The point is that there is not unlimited money, and this argument needs to be made. There is no doubt that 2+2 is a safer design than S2 and any additional expenditure beyond that point would be better spent on other roads in Cavan. But even within that concept there is a case for a layby every 1km rather than every 2km.

There really isn’t any need. Where there isn’t a layby, there’s sufficient hard strip and verge for a passenger car to be pretty much completely over the edge marking of the road. A tractor or rigid truck might cross that edge marking by 30 cm. That's less than 1 ft in old money.

I think the complaints are from unfamiliarity with what these roads are, plus people not relating given widths and measurements to actual objects. Here's a photo of N22 Macroom with a car conveniently pulled in at the side. They could actually have pulled in a little further, but even this illustrates what I’m trying to say here.

image.png

I’ve also put the widths of the various parts onto the drawing.

As I’ve marked, You can actually squeeze four of these cars along that road if you drove slowly enough, but three could pass safely at 60 km/h. If the car pulled in a little onto the drain, then it would have left pretty much the whole 7.0 m of road available to other users.

A tractor with trailer is around 2~2.2 m wide - there's still plenty of room if the driver has done nothing more than pull over to the left edge of their road lane. Three tractors can pass side-by-side on this road.

This section of the road is on an embankment, which is why the edge fencing is so close. For a road at ground level, as N3 will be, the grass verge would be wider, making it even easier to safely get off the road.

That, combined with the long sight-lines (you’d see this car from over a kilometre away) means that there’s no need for hard shoulders. The laybys are large enough for people to get out and stand by the car, but for just “stopping”, they are not needed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

According to Darragh O'Brien's incoming Ministerial brief, this is to be submitted to Govt for Cabinet approval to submit to ABP in Q2/Q3 of this year. ABP submission will follow shortly after.