Greatest League in the World 2026 [LOI Thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,376 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'd take a draw too! 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Niall_76

Patrick at it again there. Throwing his leg into the defender and looking for a penalty. Should’ve been carded for diving.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,681 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Derry score from a free that wasn't. How many games do we walk away from where the referee is the deciding factor? Far too many. It's unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,522 ✭✭✭trashcan

Thought the Derry goal was coming tbh. Seems to be just me who thought it was a peno for Bohs. Connolly had his arms wrapped around him.

What a miss from McMullen there. Should have finished it. I like him as a player, but that was poor.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,681 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

We don't own the pitch dude. Still a better surface than the Brandywell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭PGE1970

What's the situation with the "mound" in the penalty box?

It's been there for years. I've wondered if it's now almost left intentionally?

Just the natural shape of the pitch. It's a hundred years old and as far as I know never relayed. It's certainly not intentional as there's no advantage to be gained from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭PGE1970

Cheers. I'm curious if it has ever been raised as an issue.

I noticed it a lot more when played our european games in Dalyer from 06-08 and thought that it might be left intentionally as the home keeper would be used to it.

Clearly several grounds staff and managers are happy with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,204 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Id like to officially announce our withdrawal from the title race tonight. We didn't wanna win it anyway. Fair play to Dundalk though, better team on the night and we just never got to the levels that we have all season.

Sickened to concede in injury time and worse the fact we had Cunningham walking around,the ball came from where he would have been, after a bad tackle from Dervin. We couldn't take him off as we had made used our 3 substitution windows.

I don't think there was anything unnatural about the bounce for that 2nd goal, just the way he struck it with a lot of top spin.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

We all know the pitch is a problem in dalymount. Relaying it is very expensive and silly when we will hopefully be ripping the whole thing up soon.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

It's by no means the worst in the league. Outside of Oriel and Derry which are the two worst by virtue of their construction, Tolka (which I believe is looked after by the same company that DCC appointed to look after Dalymount Pitch, and neither club are particularly fond of) is pretty bad also.

The pitch wasn't a factor tonight, we were crap. We're moving backwards at an enormous pace under Reynolds. Devine finished 5th and got us to a cup final. Reynolds has us in a relegation battle.

Happy to have another day out in November to look forward to.

Don't think we played overly well. Our passing was poor. But a couple of bits of quality when it mattered was the difference. Plus we could have had more if McMullen wasn't as wasteful. Defence was solid but disappointed by Bohs, thought they would have put up more of a fight. I really hope they can avoid relegation, the division needs them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭Guffy

He should have been taken off anyway. Pointless having him out there.

The one time Derry don't bottle it under Higgins.... I don't think yis were particularly good but by God we are so poor under the current manager. I think we could have played on another 30 mins and we'd not have a shot on target.

Enjoy Lansdowne, I'm livid we couldn't make a game of it, Reynolds has to go.

Dundalk players haven't been paid is the word on the street.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

What has happened to the habit of Bohs finding big physical strikers to play off. Afolabi, Kelly and the ex-Waterford one...

Having no striker is an interesting ploy.

Change in style, change in scout, management, wages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭GSBellew

Duff is carrying a fair old beer belly himself, be a bit rich him calling Garts fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Not surprising. Presumably now they're relegated they'll go into SCARP soon. There's a very real possibility they still fold at the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭shanec1928

guess the fai couldn’t even check if this clown even had a pot to piss in. Making a mockery of the league once again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭budgemook

Do you think a switch to O'Donnell would change anything or do you think a new manager altogether is needed? I mean O'Donnell is surely involved in tactics, team selection, motivation etc already right?

Yeah, you were pretty blunt alright.

Surprised that in a cup semi at home, you didn't really test our keeper once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,861 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Originated with LMFM last night and they've now deleted the tweet claiming players haven't been paid. Irresponsible reporting if it turns out to have been wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

There was a segment on Off The Ball several weeks ago, talking to a member of the supporters club and she said they were collecting money purely to pay the players with.

Was that true? Are they still collecting?

Recruitment has been poor this season. Ostensibly Piscek is our "big" man but he's not been given a chance, that may be because he's not good enough. It's hard to keep picking up good strikers year on year, Corcoran replaced by Kelly, replaced by Omochere, replaced by Afolabi then a dead end.

But that's not the main issue, strikers win games, but defenders prevent losses, our defending is shocking at times.

For example, if you talk to any Bohs fan at a match where they're 3-0 up with 20 mins to go, not one of them will tell you they're confident the game is won.

We've a bunch of highly rated coaches but I don't see where this rating is coming from, we're so poorly set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Come of the Shels.

Whatever happened @The Golden Miller , went very quiet on the soccer front.

Hes flat out over in Hull on their forum, telling them they've a future Ballon d'Or not even making the squad every week. Can't be in 2 places at once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,861 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Last spotted in a field near Hull watching Will Jarvis bang them in for Hull U21s