Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greatest League in the World 2025 [LOI Thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,524 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Still a horrendous state of affairs when the roof to a stand can be unsafe for use after only 25 years (and it’s been gone a few years now so it’s actually less than that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

I couldn't remember when it was shut when someone asked me the other night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭rpirl

As a more or less neutral LOI fan, best match in a long while, would have had Drogs v Bohs from 2008 season (the one where Killian Brennan scored the last minute pen. for Bohs) up there but this had even more going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

It would be very strange though! Although I do think Shels are mentally cooked after last night.

Shams will beat them on Sunday leaving Shels on 54pts and 2 wins in 16 games (ONLY 1 win in the league!) .

I'm guessing 61 pts wins the league.

Galway win on Fri v Dundalk and followed by a win at Richmond Park would give them a chance of finishing on 61 pts.

So happy for Stephen Kenny last night. Fully deserved. He conducted himself brilliantly and professionally. The polar opposite to Duff. No coincidence they lost after his meltdown and grossly inappropriate behavior towards Gartland.

I don't see this incredible run continuing for St.P. Even if it did they would only finish on 60 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭PGE1970

I don't get the hate for Duff.

I think that he can be a little petulant (ignoring handshakes) but he seems to have matured and he has certainly created a siege mentality at Tolka. The players seem to love him as do the fans (even if the "in your head" song is very cringey).

He's also the highest profile manager that the league has had and would be one of a handful of Irish players known across the globe (having won the EPL).

If Kevin Doherty leaves Drogheda, I'd have Duff in a heartbeat (not that he'd come!).

Like him or not, he's good for the league.

BTW, what happened with Brian Gartland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

I know hes good for the league and I also know he's bad for the league.

Good: His profile puts more eyes on the league.

Middling: The things he says fills more column inches and talk time.

Bad: Take last night for example. He squares up to Gartland and starts barging into him. He then starts calling Gartland fat (at least three times) then starts gesturing a fat belly.

Gartland has been subject to many horrible chants over the years. Specifically about weight.

If you don't think it has an impact on players watch the Freddie Flintoff programme about his bulimia.

I was watching last nights game with my 9 year old as he was getting ready for bed (admittedly a little past his bedtime). He clearly saw what was said & the actions he made towards BG. This is the impact of what happens - my child has been called fat in school & was bullied to the point of not eating. It developed into a full blown 'Im choking, im dying' with rapid & disturbing weight loss..he's not even heavy. When he saw that last night from DD...don't have the appropriate words to describe the anguish.

Leaving the bad example to kids aside. its just a plain bad example he sets.

Duff needs to be held to account.

Last night he also attacks the officials. Again. (In my opinion he was also wrong but that's not the point)

Another example. We were at UCD v Shels in July last year. A lovely summer evening and I decide to bring the same child to the game because it will be relatively quiet/family friendly atmosphere etc.

Shels totally dominate the opening half and score just before HT. Duff sprints onto the pitch at the HT whistle straight towards the officials. Lots of finger pointing and gesticulations of incredulousness. My child says "Whats wrong with that guy?"

Duff then sprints off to the changing rooms cupping his hands behind his ears at the UCD "fanbase" and 'giving it loads' as he runs towards the Shels fans. Utterly bizarre.

I say: "Good Question! He's simply a bad sportsman"

I can site other examples of outrageous and outlandish behavior at other games towards fans and officials.

As well as unsportsmanlike conduct to opposition managers and staff (a nod for Kevin Doherty. "Im real"🙄).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

Couldn't gree more with you on the fella. Thouroughly unlikeable

Anyway, this wil be his final chance in a few years (if he stays with shels) to win a league title.

Pat's (especially with SK) will be a real force next year. Rovers will be around every year and again, Derry will be strong.

I always had some time for Shels, but not with Duff in charge. The opposite of Stephen K, who is a class act imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,018 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Totally agree.

Duff is good for the leagues profile, but he comes across as a very angry wee man.

Not sure some of it isn't an act, or perhaps that is what he's like. Thought his carry on last night was embarrassing for a grown man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭waynescales1

Don't really have a problem with Duff's antics, harmless entertainment. He's easily riled up and riles the opposition up too, spices things up. The league could do with a bit of needle.

You’d all have him at your club in a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭PGE1970

I didn't see that with Gartland and I agree that that is unacceptable and inexcusable.

Sorry to hear about your lad and I hope that he's feeling better, that's shocking what he had to endure.

Maybe, but we have the charismatic Ruairdhi, enough for any fan base.

Duff obviously shouldn’t have gestured in the way he did. Goes without saying. But I think that people watching what happens in a super heated and competitive environment, and looking for that to set the example for how children should behave in life. I don’t think that’s realistic.

Lads who cheat and dive aren’t responsible for any time a child cheats at school. When lads lash out in the heat of the moment, they’re not responsible for unconnected acts of violence. Pretty much all of them (bar maybe the divers) regret their behaviour afterwards, but ultimately parenting is for parents and not sportspeople.

Let’s be honest, there is no maybe here. You’d drive to Dublin yourself to pick him up.

Didn’t duff absolutely slate one of your players after a game to a reporter for getting sent off? Maybe not, but terrible form if he did.

In fairness, I don’t know much about the player in question previous (if any)

Player got slated for a lot more than just getting sent off. We literally had a player sent off last night and did not get the same treatment. Went through it on here at the time, but having heard a tonnes of stuff about the player before Duff said it, I wasn’t hugely sympathetic towards him.

This one is different and Duff has clearly behaved worse than he’d have wanted, and will have likely apologised privately to Gartland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,349 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Shelbourne collapse to the line continues! One of the funnier, more bizarre, truly shocking, league title chases 😂

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,200 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Netflix should do a sports documentary 'The Title No One Wanted'.

Bookies now have Derry as favourites and Rovers at 5/1.

Hmmm, If Rovers beat Shels(leaves them 2 points behind Shels with Shels to play Derry), their remaining games after that look fairly straight forward.

Derry also have Pat's away

Might be worth a few quid on Rovers, because if they win on Sunday, they'll be nothing like 5/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Rovers are great odds at 5-1. Shels could be out of the title race by the time they are playing Derry and we could hand the title to Rovers.

I’m worried we might not even make Europe at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭jonnreeks

Update | Tolka Park upgrade works

Dear Supporter,

As many of you may know, work to expand our capacity is in the final stages. We are pleased to confirm that we have been able to secure clearance for certain elements of the expansion works at Tolka Park ahead of schedule.

The full works will expand the Tolka Park capacity by 1,000, taking it up to 5,750 through the installation of safe standing in the Riverside, expansion of the Ballybough end and replacement of damaged seats in the Riverside stand.

https://shelbournefc.ie/update-tolka-park-upgrade-works/#:~:text=The%20full%20works%20will%20expand,seats%20in%20the%20Riverside%20stand.

The capacity is not 6k or anything like it, okay its 5,750 which is very close! 😛

I suspect the bookies are factoring in the fact that Rovers are now undertaking their EL group stage, and this will have an effect on their LOI challenge?

yeah but the guards and fire service won't allow more than 4.1k into the place, so that is the capacity. That is not some gotcha that you think it is.

9/2 on PP I think still represents value, I took a small wager at that price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,243 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Rovers wont win the 4 remaining games so have close to zero chance of winning it from here. Could easily see points being dropped on Sunday, then to have to go to that plastic monstrosity of a pitch in Oriel & away to a difficult Drogheda side doesn't scream handy 6 points to me.

Put a tenner on us at 5-1 and all you'll do is lose a tenner.

Any confidence I had in this team is gone.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭ollaetta

It shouldn't be too much of a factor. After Apoel tomorrow Rovers have just one other Euro game (Larne away) before the league ends. A bigger issue for me is their inconsistency. They could beat Shels on Sunday and easily lose to a much improved Drogheda in the next game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I think if Rovers beat us, they are favourites even with Europe in play. For all the slagging about our form, it’s a lot easier to be climbing the table with no real pressure then it is to be actually challenging for the league.

Rovers pedigree is what has those odds off for me. If rovers are pushing Derry , I’d bet on rovers every day of the week, even if they were stretched from European games.

Can't understand with a team that includes Faruggia (when he's fit) Byrne, Gaffney, Pico etc have been so inconsistent this season. Makes fcuk all sense.

And i'll add, for me, Farrugia is in the top 3 players in that league