Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Independent Golfer Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭coillcam

Those green fees of €40-50 are very standard relative to where club costs have gone. Most club's fees and subs haven't increased proportionally against costs.

To give some context, the cost of sand has gone up 50% in my local club. That's another €40k per year the club needs to find. Heat/Electricity is still more than double where it was a few years ago, even considering recent price drops. Unemployment is 4% and minimum wage has gone up. Meaning it's harder to keep staff and wages are obviously higher. So for those reasons, you're not going to see a €25 visitor green fee all that often, even for guests of a member. On an open day you might get close to that rate or possibly a last-minute golf now booking.

The reason I bring this up is that my local club released info this week explaining all of this to members ahead of an EGM. We need a 15 year loan to complete essential remedial works to facilities and projects while stabilising cash flow. The net result to the members is a €170 increase in sub/levy. Green fees were discussed and argued but they've been indexed against similar clubs in the area as appropriate.

You're spot on that it doesn't make sense to lose potential business from visitors. At the same time, the club needs to balance that against what they offer vs the other clubs competing for your business. It's no different than two restaurants or hairdressers. My club has a bar/restaurant and there's one half an hour away with a sandwich machine while experiencing regular course drainage problems. Which green fee do you think is higher?

Clubs need members to survive but they also need visitors just as much. Personally, I don't think iGolf folks should pay extra on green fees but I do think some consideration is needed on how to manage opens/prizes. That consideration is no different than handicap limits or the minimum number of score requirements. Clubs still have to determine what this is like.

I'd love to see an iGolf only open day in my club some Saturday that's promoted properly and with a genuine welcome to players. Let's face it, we are all there for 5 hours hitting a ball around a course for the same reasons. There should be more reasons for us all to be aligned than segregated into specific pens.

Don't give up on the iGolf scheme because a couple of stuffy clubs try to exclude you. That's their short-sighted naivety. Stick with it and I'm sure you'll find the majority of clubs will be warmly welcoming your business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

So the greenfee was €45 in one course. You felt it should be €25 so went to Gort and paid €20. What is wrong with that? You went with the cheaper option as is your right, and everyone else's right. The greenfee is the greenfee. Why should anyone but the club itself determine whet the greenfee is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,921 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

I'd be curious to know how many clubs are functioning successfully without an active membership.

Probably a couple of the big famous courses and resorts would be sustainable, but I imagine some of the smaller clubs could take an impact.

Not saying this will destroy club golf, but some clubs would certainly be put at higher risk

But you won't be using your old number. It's a completely new Golf Ireland number with the first 4 digits unique to igolf members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,106 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Exactly

They’d be stupid to spike prices for iGolf members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭shefellover93

Seems like a good solution, or have a separate comp running alongside for only iGolfers which is something small like a €20 lunch/dinner voucher while the members play for the main prize. Giving token prizes to iGolfers might also deter potential sandbaggers because the prizes just aren't worth the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭kyleman

Cannot see clubs letting out iGolfers at the open day price.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

There are already "virtual" golf clubs in Ireland without a course of their own.

On the Opens and Prizes, why not a higher cost IG setup where you pay full green fees and cannot win prizes, we should be encouraging golf participation. Hopefully courses will accept green fees from IG members, be awful if they don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,297 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

They'll accept green fees from anyone already. Question is will they accept 'open' rates from them and allow them into open competitions. As with Slievenamon - which is essentially the same thing - they probably will as long as the numbers dont get out of hand. If clubs lost a tangible number of members to iGolf - which I dont think they will - I'd say the gloves would come off quickly.

Me personally I don't quite understand the case some people are making for iGolf allowing them to play only 10-15 times per year, with lower green fees, a handicap and 'competing'. I thought that's precisely what a golf society offers already? Whats the big difference, the 'official' handicap, competing against better golfers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭blackbox

Outside the Dublin area and not including the big names, most clubs are owned and run by the members and barely making ends meet.

Apart from the greenkeeping, nearly all of the running is done by volunteers. These volunteers take their turns on various committees etc. to keep the club operating. They do it for the benefit of themselves and their fellow members. They are happy to manage and operate open competitions on a quid pro quo basis for members of other clubs.

Undoubtedly there is a proportion of members who see it as a pay for play transaction rather than actually sharing in the responsibilities as well as the benefits of the club.

However every one of the iGolfers is looking to benefit from the time given by volunteers.

I would certainly be in favour of charging them a premium for entering open competitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,973 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Yeah I see that since, which makes sense to do it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭bobster453

Not too sure going forward this will be anything other than a non issue anyhow.

Example: Golf Ireland targeting 350000 who play golf but are not members of a club.

Golf England doing the same for 2.5 million for a few years recently celebrated 50000 signups.

Thats 2 percent return in 3 years or so.

If same applied here, in a few years there would be 7000 signups.

Golf England state over 13000 of 53000 have joined clubs.

Thats 25 percent

Or in Irelands case 1400 new members.

Golf Ireland claim there are 377 clubs with 223000 members, yet there are 350000 people not members who play golf regularly.SERIOUSLY???..HOW CAN THIS BE RIGHT.

So according to Golf Ireland figures in a few years clubs will gain an average of slightly less than 4 members each.

Post edited by bobster453 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭kyleman

Very true. Very few members clubs outside Dublin would survive without volunteers.

They also would not survive on green fees and membership alone and almost all run events such as draws,lottos and classics to keep their clubs afloat.

Most members pay well above their membership throughout the year so an Igolfer to pay a green fee to play in an open competition would seem very fair.

Exactly

I pay 1000 or so including 100 sub against restaurant or comp fees.

Play 2 times a week so 100 gone in about 8 weeks.So spend 12 a weekend x 40 weekends is 480, say 500.

Spend average 30 a week in restaurant x say 40 weeks is 1200.

Enter club draw every week at 4 x 40 is another 160.

Pro has lotto once a month at 10 say another 120.

So not including Medals or Majors..supporting Club Classic..Captaind, Presidents prize etc my average outlay is about 3 grand.

Tell me again why I should allow anyone to get the benefit of a handicap for 65 euro and how that will..not airy fairy might..actually will benefit my club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,106 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

they’d be crazy to refuse the money. That’s the whole point of an open. Taking money elsewhere is a recipe for disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭blue note

Think you forgot to carry the one there bobster

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Seems to be a fixation on Opens, just charge IG members full green fee whether an Open or not.

A large number of the arguments here could just as well be levied at Distance Membership, why not abolish that now IG is up and running

i think your figures are off. If that 50000 is correct then that is a 2% uptake. A similar uptake here would be 7000.

@callaway92 most clubs won't refuse any money. That's like saying that if I rock up to any club they should accept my offer of a fee that I think is fair. If they charge igolfers more for an open then the igolfer has the right to just refuse to pay and go elsewhere. I can't see why members clubs won't charge a premium for igolfers. The same golfers that would have been able to pay greenfees of say €50 at some course last year should not in my opinion be able to pay, lets say, €30 for an open comp at the same club next year just because they give Golf Ireland €65.

Money to run these clubs doesn't grow on trees and the cynic in me feels that while is wasn't originally a Golf Ireland initiative, they are more than happy to take €65 from casual golfers and €28 from club members and give back f*ck all to the clubs as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Bgiraffe

Was down in my old club this morning using their range. They have an open comp on today so I asked in the pro shop what the craic was with catering for iGolf members. Young asst pro basically said I couldn't enter as he didn't know how to process an iGolf entrant. Had a chat then with a club employee who I'd know and he said they're just going to see how it plays out first and see what the uptake is like. As things stand, he said, the iGolf people can actually sign in and be treated the same as any other visitor in an open comp. The mood of the club apparently is that they are totally against iGolf and that it has been foisted upon them by Golf Ireland. Probably the same feeling in most clubs.

Haha wouldnt be the 1st time I been accused of that.Usually .1 rather than 1 though 😁😁

Distance members are still members of a golf club albeit with some restrictions and apart from the clubs that are the usual suspects, they participate in club competitions etc.

igolfers are members of no club and golf ireland know clubs will treat them differently.

On another note, I am surprised golf ireland didnt make insurance mandatory for igolfers.Personally i think it should be mandatory for all golfers, be they igolf or club members.

Green fee is obviously different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,883 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Lads any idea if pay and play membership is classed as proper membership and will I be able to sign up for this?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Are you asking you're currently a pay and play member in a club and wondering if this gives to the 3 year block period?

Dont know for certain. But I guess if you're listed on GI as member of suchandsuch and have a GUI card with a club name printed on it then possibly yes. I havent heard the block is for full members only.

Out of curiosity what would the advantage of iGolf be over pay and play? Do you currently have a standing fee higher than €65?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,883 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Yeah €190 and I haven't played there all year, have only played 3 opens and some society golf. €65 would be handy for a few years until I get back into full membership once I convince the wife she's well able to look after the kids on her own for 5 hours every Saturday morning!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,226 ✭✭✭Trampas

Probably find is the powers of be in a club have an opinion and members feel they need to toe the line than give a different opinion otherwise it’ll be John Smith thinks it’s a great idea. Can you believe that. How could he think it’s good. Blacklist him.

That's a very good point tbf. My gut feeling is that GI consider pay n play or distance memberships the same as a normal club membership.

The 3 year rule is to "protect" clubs from losing members so it seems logical the clubs will be lobbying hard to keep these types of members from becoming iGolfers.

Many pay n play or distance folk would still keep their sub for various reasons. Interclubs, family/travel, access to opens (if iGolfers are being treated differently). However, you'd imagine a large amount would instantly migrate to iGolf if allowed.

Definitely a question for GI to clarify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭big_drive

The weather is another influence too, with how our seasons are going a lot of club members are maybe only getting 7/8 months usage from a 12 month subscription. Could be a factor to to consider for a lot of people when weighing up value for money.

I would say if you have a Golf Ireland index then you would have to sit out the three years. If you are a pay and play member of a club with no index then you can switch to igolf immediately

The weather is the weather, we don't live in the South of Spain. Most countries at a latitude similar to Ireland all across Europe experience a harsh winter with little chance to play golf. Go to Scandinavia and they have next to no daylight even if it's mild enough to play. All of these countries even ones with lower cost of living are much more expensive to play golf in. Ireland is pound for pound one of the cheapest places to play golf. I'm not loaded and probably would struggle to play golf if I didn't live in Ireland (or UK with similar pricing tbf).

We'll have good years and bad years. My club was closed 44 days in the first 3 months of the year. There was something like 30% more rainfall for the previous year compared to the expected average. The end of last year was a disaster with rain tbf and I'm just as frustrated as next lad when the course is closed. In the last 4 years, I've probably played 2 out of every 3 Sundays for winter golf on a midlands parkland. It's colder than most of the country here but luckily we are somewhat sheltered from the worst wind/rain.

The argument of a cohort all for reducing our club's sub due to weather was dismantled in seconds. Fine, create a 6 month membership but you'll pay 90% of the same price as now and everyone else's membership increases proportionally. No one will vote that one in. The clubs still need money through winter and have staff plus overheads to pay. No income → no staff → less clubs → far more expensive green fees.

If it's any way feasible clubs need to look at introducing a simulator in their clubhouse. It generates revenue and covers for winter golf closures. It's not unrealistic to expect 25 hours of usage in 7 days @€40/hr. That's €1k per week and wouldn't take long to cover the investment. I'd happily throw €20 in for my 4ball to have 2 hours on the sim.

We have a very good simulator and it’s nice and not all that expensive IMO @ €25. Especially in the winter. No wind no cold decent balls a thousand numbers to look at. Great piece of tech. But it’s not making anywhere near the money you’re thinking. Not in our club anyway.
    Our pro uses it for fitting sessions and the odd indoor lesson of course but member usage not so much. Last winter I was working on something and would have seen the sim bookings sheet almost every week. Some weeks maybe 2 or 3 bookings, some weeks I was the only one on it all week. Overall more like 100 per week than 1k I think. Some weeks if that even.