Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I mean, I know your giving them the benefit of the doubt, and that's fair enough.

But really, how many people do you think care about celebrity instagram accounts but don't get their updates from, y'know, Instagram? And how many of those have the radio on waiting for the football show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Ruairi O'Connor from the Indo was on Monday after appearing on the Indo podcast earlier that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,210 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I know it was the case in the past, not sure to what degree it is the same now, but the News Bulletin copy that was used by Newstalk and at least some of its sister stations (Today FM / Spin etc) was the exact same so then you could maybe understand the different target demographic they were attempting to hit.

And nobody is looking to the radio for celebrity updates, its probably more a case of trying to ensure they hear enough to pique their interest so they don't turn off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

I listened to Joe and it was very good. His interview with Paul O'Connell was good but to me I feel like I knew a lot of it already, he needs to delve a bit deeper but I suppose for a start it was a good start. It was great to hear his voice again.

I think he will hit OTB mainly because live radio is on the way out, and dropping in to podcast feed at 4pm is a no-brainer because people have their sports fix before they get home, no need to hear any more. I don't listen to OTB live very much as I hate ad breaks, news breaks, etc. I think podcasts are hammering live radio and I won't speak for everybody but I now listen to podcasts in the car, running, etc. Never listen to live radio and didn't even when OTB was free on Spotify. But maybe people still like live radio, I don't personally.

The thing with the Indo contributors is that some of those guys are inevitably freelance journalists who are contracted to Mediahuis for a game, season (e.g. GAA season), or an article on Thursday, etc. They can do as they wish outside that commitment, you see Michael Verney does a podcast called Our Game and has often been on OTB as a GAA and Sunday Paper contributor. I would say it depends on your employment type, in some cases both sides want that freelance arrangement. That's how I see it.

I've always found OTB AM a curious one, does it get big listener figures? I have no interest in listening to sports at that hour of the morning. I think OTB need to go quality not quantity personally.

I can understand that to be fair. I get a local newspaper and the Indo digital edition for under €4.25 a month so I think it was a good deal for me. It is for 1 year admittedly but inevitably they will put their podcast stable behind a paywall, especially if it is a stable of thoroughbreds. Unless advertising revenue is enough for them which it might be I guess.

I probably would have signed up to OTB for €5 a month myself, I would love to know who the genius who thought they could ask for a €10 a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭atilladehun

News on the hour has always been one of the most brain dead moves on radio. I can't believe so many radio stations persist with it and don't try an alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭sub3wannabe

I don't know whether it's bitterness over their pet Stephen Kenny not working out but the lads really seem to have a vendetta out against Hallgrimsson.

Appear to be nit picking at every aspect of his managerial style. Vinnie Perth virtually ranting about him " not visiting players" Seems incredibly harsh to me. Give the man a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Think they are required by broadcasting legislation to have 20% of news and current affairs to be part of their output. Putting news on every hour helps fill that quota

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭atilladehun

Yeah, aware of that. Not many trying anything alternative though. They happily persist with the lowest common denominator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Shouldn't bug me but it does. Most of the presenters on OTB who are commenting / critiquing professional athletes in various sports. Well they all look so unhealthy, overweight , generlly slobbish ,and none of them probably ever played any type of organised sports. I just find it very ironic.

Totally agree. I think to be fair Ashling O Reilly plays Camogie or something and looks pretty athletic. The lads are either overweight or skinny fat beta males.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Yeah they all have the armchair sports fan vibe, who it could be 25 degrees outside when they were kids and they inside watching a test match between England and India……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Felexicon

A nonsense argument. Plenty of top pros from various sports who make terrible pundits.

Punditry and Analysis are skills in their own right.

Not saying OTB have the best but to say fat people can't have an opinion on top level sport is an odd take.

Yeah, I wasn't aware it was a broadcasting commission requirement myself but it is totally brain dead for a media which is already lost massive ground to podcasts. I hate the ad breaks in radio shows enough but a 5-minute stop for the news is just ridiculous altogether.

Mind you Coimisiún na Meán is probably headed by some luddite whose first job was making tea for the cast filming of Glenroe or The Riordans…….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,210 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I'm 100% sure you won't do this, but if this genuinely bugs you, you and the crew who thanked it should consider finding a therapist to discuss it.

Like what an incredibly baseless, petty and judgmental comment.

To be looking to be offended by the perceived physique and/or experience of a bunch of lads talking about sports on the radio is the ultimate snowflake statement I've seen on this thread. And there's been a lot of them.

Incredible stuff. Thanks though, I'll bring this up at work tomorrow, we'll know a good 15 minutes out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

Seems like you're the one that is offended.

Find a therapist? What an embarrassing post. You can do better.

You bring it up with the lads today, and post updates here. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

There's been some sh1te spewed on this thread but that's right up there, congrats

Absolute car crash stuff with ROG on the AM show earlier. Certainly wasn't in the form to discuss Sexton's book 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Was just coming on to say the same. Surely Adrian is at this long enough to be able to read a bit of body language through the camera. The fact it got to the point that O'Gara asked if they were going to spend the full 30 minutes talking about Sexton's book is damning of Adrian's skills as an interviewer.

Shane Hannon suggesting a charity boxing match between the two for the "craic", thought ROG was going to turn the camera off 😂 Awful stuff.

I'll never forget the time they attempted to do a triathlon. Pretty sure they all either couldn't handle the training load. Got injured / didn't complete it properly.

I'll concede it's probably a bit harsh to point this stuff out as it's not necessarily a prerequisite to be able at a subject you critique but it does take a way a certain level of credibility in terms of them having any lived experience of basic sporting requirements.

Eoin wouldn't pull a stroke of rowing. He's a beta male. It's going to be difficult if not impossible for him to get into the mindset and appreciate the achievements and sacrifice of someone like Paul O Donovan. I do think this is an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

Hannon is a very good amateur athlete in fairness.

Does he have ugly transvestite legs, is he a mong, is he a French bastard? All no. But going forward, who knows. But he'll be accountable for these standards Going Forwards.

Shane proved his journalist skills this morning with ogara. It is crucial journalists ask the tough questions and take responsibility for their actions. He held the guest to high standards. And this of course applies to himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,738 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

A charity boxing match between Hannon and Kellie Harrington would be way better - now I'd pay a lot of money to see that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Butson

That was tough viewing this morning with O'Gara.

I never got the nonsense spouted over Sexton and O'Gara. Yes there was a beef. So what.

Both were supremely driven, and both pushed each other to be even better. Just like O'Gara and Humphries before him, competition makes sports people go to places and levels they did not know they had.

Would either have been the player they were if the first battle they had wasn't to keep the other off the team? I doubt it.

Anybody who ever played any team sport knows competition for places makes it. Kill one another in training for a place, its how it should be and the fact that they ended up together in France just proves that they were both the same and knew it was just the cut-throat nature of sport.

Johnny needs to sell the book so has to talk it up.

The most surprising thing is that there are people who like to listen to OTB AM…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Butson

Deleted, for a stupid comment that adds nothing.