Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭visatorro

good silage and a lorry load of meal, flake of straw to hold it together! thats what im at. autumns doin 7000. im telling myself they are leaving money behind them. iv a liquid contract which obviously helps. was talking to the meal rep one they and they said they were amazed at the amount of fellas calving down in the autumn with no contract.

50% autumn 50% spring calving here

Post edited by visatorro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

young stock here love red clover ….cows not a fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭green daries

first year of having it to feed ……it dosnt look or smell as good as real good bale of normal grass silage …..nutritionist I deal with compares it to April early may grass …..it’ll scour cows and hinder butterfat ….dietvfeeder really needed to mix it with maize or some other forage …….balanced correctly it will feed v well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,704 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

zero grazing it here, cows absolutely love it. 1.95 kgs ms atm

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Once you get to a point with stocking rate you nearly end up feeding at grass anyway .when you say lorry load6? 7 ?8? Kilos a day of 18 %

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭green daries

Sound job mj hopefully it works out OK I know very little about it and less about feeding it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Arm Wax

i had the red clover here for 4 years have to say the cows loved it it was mixed with grass growing ,we cut it 5 times a year .

feed to yield. average would be around that per day yes. be over 2 tonne fed this year. yeah 18% on silage.

Been giving a little thought to spiltting the calving due to labour and deal8ng with calf sales.while spring block calving is the m9st efficient in terms of grass use because it has become the norm its starting to lose efficiency s in terms of calf sales cull cow sales and facilities use .also even though compact calving is labour efficient it puts alot of strain on one man shows in the spring and sometimes I think January is a bit of a wasted month with it.dont want to achieve massive yields and go down the maize/diet feeder route just the shear grab and parlour feeders for ration

Your going to have to give a bit of a midday feed to get the return and to get them back in calf as well

fed maize last 4 years ….no diet feeder …..fty in parlour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I think you'll burn out faster on a split system, milking 365. Ask yourself would you like to be calving cows now and managing young calves. I think you need more labour with split calving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭yewdairy

Spilt calving will result in more work surely?

Friend of mine splits calves has a decent winter contract and no doubt very profitable . We calve about the same number of cows but he definitely works harder.

Fair play to the farms that calf in the autumn and they deserved to be well paid. Bananas spilt calving without a decent winter contract though.

It's the peak numbers and the slow sale of calves that's becoming a killer.you have houses bursting with calves for 2 months and they are idle for the rest of the year.if the 2 calving seasons were only 6 weeks each spring and autumn and carry and milk the rest for 18 months approx you ve also reduced the of calves to sell annually by maybe 20 %.also I ve labour on the weekends but not during week

our coop used offer liquid contract …set price over base based on x volume @syandard solids …..no adjustment for solids over base …..I often milked thru milking cows to 50/60 days to calving and got more than contracted suppliers calving in autumn

there’s merit in splitting calving where there’s mostly a single labour unit ….!no doubt calving high % in 6 weeks in spring is best but brings big pressure for 2 months ….lots have calf feeders etc now used for 3 months of year then just sitting there ……I’d have no issue calving 20/25% of herd in September October

you’ll burn out lot faster calving lot of cows in short period in spring ….throw in shite weather ….outbreaks of scour etc ….milked thru last 3 years …oad from late November to start calving around 12 Jan …..very relaxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

The discussion on dairy breeds still evokes some passionate engagements!

The flight from dairy has finally come to a halt here. With many years now I’ve been able to buy ICH for around €900-1100, but they’ve exploded in price to €2500-3000 with the last 6mts. Unfortunately this means that I’ve to return to breeding my own. Around 95% of the herd is pure Holstein, with the rest being NRx. Running at a consistent average of 3.5pr and 4.5bf with a few years now but I’m not getting anything for protein over 3.2%, however I’m well paid for bf over 4.1% because I’m in AOP butter. Therefore I’m looking into buying stock bulls for producing my own stock. Butter fats are my main objective but I don’t want to lose too many litres. Any breed will be considered.
    Suggestions?

big push on fleikveigh (simmental) the last couple of years. i know one indoor herd doin well with them. one grazing/buffer feeding place not so well. heard some people say the norwegian red have a bad temperment? have you ever used normonde? its a french breed a i think . or the monty? know a few suckler men that swear by them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭yewdairy

There is a lot less work in milking through though, no calving, no breeding option to do oad for a period. All cows in same stage of lactation, no fresh cows. When milk price is good there is definitely money milking through.

No question high six week calving rate is mental busy for a couple of months but you have the advantage of a handy six months second half of the year. Whatever suits individual farms

it works well for me. i dont have the facilities to calf everything in one go. calf down mostly october november in autumn. i use a bull because the breeding clashes with calving in the spring. dont like sept calving because there not enough in the grass for fresh calvers and i cant really seperate them out to buffer feed.

not bother selling calves in fairness. although if you cant sell the calves in spring people will tell you you're doing something wrong that they have fellas ringing them looking for calves. still handy to not have as big a group if you have to hold onto them for a while.

i also have the big red box milking them so burnout isn't an issue. and i might aswell keep that yoke working!

one issue i think people over look is slurry storage. milker's create more slurry than dry cows because there drinking lots of water possibly. i wouldnt have an exact figure on this but iv heard people saying tanks were getting quicker.

@yewdairy i dont think im working harder. iv 2 8-10 week calving blocks. number of cows calving per day is handy for one gobshite show like here. if i tried to squeeze all into one period in the spring i dont think id cope tbh. cubicles have to be done anyway, cows have to be fed anyway. im just adding meal to the diet feeder for the milkers. once calves get good start there isnt that much work once you keep them moving. if things were different id consider all spring but im working with whats here

Top ten on the ebi index from last year............I'd Imagine there going cheap at this stage ........

I'll just grab my coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,353 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

It's the same as everything, it's as easy or as hard as you make it. This was the first year I had carryover cows. Had alot not in calf last backend. They're calving away now and milking very well. Wont house hopefully for another few weeks. Edited to say milking takes less than an hour. Can move it around to suit what we're at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Just out from Ballyragget from the Tirlan tour. Very well done, interesting to see where the milk goes, what it's turned into and where its sold. They are expecting over 2,000 people over the two days. Tour takes about an hour and a half. At the end they have sandwiches, soup and you can talk to people involved in all aspects of the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭straight

I guess the ICH below cost were never going to last for you. Maybe a few jersey stock bulls would raise your fats for you....🤣🤣.

What do you think is best? Dutch Holsteins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Just on the way up to it myself, sounds good..I didn't bother with the ploughing this year thought this would be something different.

Ya I do. You don’t necessarily need to feed extra overall but a kilo a head during the day of preferably high protein ration is a big help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Would Normande cow be an option?. Had few male ones out of holstein cows and they were pure pets, lovely animals. Always wanted to milk a pure bred Normande cow.