General Star Trek thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,261 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Wrong Forum.

Post edited by TheValeyard on

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

The really dropped Boilmer down a peg once they reigned in Mariner's excesses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,256 ✭✭✭Rawr

I hope they at least do an Undiscovered Country poster. Then the collection will be complete.

Maybe a surprise mini movie at the end of S5 which has the 6th poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭JayRoc

Heading to London at the weekend to see the Greatest Generation lads do a live show.

Apparently they're roasting The Survivors from TNG season 2 which should be craic.

I expect lots of Kevin Uxbridge impressions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭ilovesmybrick

Ah that sounds great, I was very tempted to go myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 538 ✭✭✭eadrom

Very jealous! Let us know how it goes. Wish they'd pop over to Dublin next time (if there is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,790 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

So watching "Qwho" again and When Picard asks her about the ship aka The Borg I think Guinen gave Picard and Riker bad advice when she said Quote "protect yourself Captain or they will destroy you"

What do you think?.

Riker was right before that when he said let's try not to look aggressive and keep the shields down

Maybe If they had of kept the shields down the Borg might have just left them alone.

Also I really don't think the Borg would take and assimilate babies. Imagine all the extra resources it would cost them to do that and the babies brains would not be developed either but I suppose that means they would make great drones.

Post edited by AMKC on

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Inviere

They'd have taken the Enterprise regardless, as the Borg would simple have scanned it, identified it as something of interest given its size and power. Also, assimilation of babies might ensure more 'perfect' drones as they never really had fully developed personalities/individuality to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Evade

But isn't experience something the Borg also need from assimilation?

In context of Q Who/BoBW, they were portrayed this way…a simply unstoppable force with no bells and whistles like Queens, Unimatrices, and so on. It was far more interesting that way imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,256 ✭✭✭Rawr

On later re-watch I kind of assume the Cube was interested in Enterprise because it had suddenly appeared in their space without warning. That would have made Enterprise interesting enough to assimilate. Especially now if you think about how they had previously assimilated The Raven (and possibly other Starfleet vessels pre-«Q-who»), therefore knew about Starfleet, knew also were Starfleet were supposed to be and guessed that Enterprise was a highly advanced long-range vessel. I’d totally want to assimilate that into my Collective. Would be perfect :P

Ms

Yes good point. That would certainly make it noticeable alright. You woukd have to Wonder do if they had just listened to Guinens first Peace of advice turned around and headed home straight away would the Cube have came after them?

I am thinking they would have.

One part that really bugs me in that episode though is that Riker does not seem to learn that the torpedos are useless against the Cube. Twice he orders Worf to give them when they are at warp and then he orders him again a 3rd time after the Borg take down there shields and warp. Only for Data that would have destroyed them selves.

I don't blame Riker I think it was just bad and lazy writing. Worf should have asked what yield the first time Riker ordered him to fire the second time, either Riker or Worf would have said that they were increasing the yield of the torpedos and maybe the third time Worf could have suggested using phasers as the torpedoes did not work the last two times. Also Picard as the Captain of the ship should have really known firing torpedos with no shields that close to an enemy ship is a bad idea. But as I said it was lazy writing not the characters fault. But ye if I wrote it it would be better now and maybe time constraints and episode length was a thing too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Fed ships magically arrives in the system and magically escapes again? Damn right that would get the Borg attention.

But there is a lot of merit in the theory the Borg are farming the Federation for tech and innovation.

Also, maybe to do with paradox and the like, the Borg need the Federation to go back in time with the Enterprise E, so the Borg can send that signal during Archers Enterprise NX time.

Q said it best really, "they've identified you as something they can consume." It's as simple as that for me. Large ship, huge power signature, assimilate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭McFly85

A better(although entirely more expensive) way to introduce the Borg would to have had the enterprise arrive at a Borg cube in the middle of assimilating a planet.

All assistance the Enterprise tries to provide is useless and they are entirely ignored by the Borg, along with any planetary defence of the species being assimilated. The Borg simply continue to take the planet and the species for themselves and all the crew can do is look on in total horror as they realise all of the weapons at their disposal - technology, diplomacy, compassion etc. are totally useless.

At the end of the episode the planet has been assimilated, and the cube scans the enterprise and then heads off in Earths direction. Picard then has to plead with Q to get them back immediately to warn Starfleet about what it has learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,414 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The way they done it was better. Left everyone with loads of unanswered questions.

Would love to watch the early Borg episodes for the first time again. During the first episode you have no way of knowing these are not just another monster of the week.

Think S2 of Discovery would have worked better if Control had turned out to be a Borg origin story. Somehow Control ends up in the far past in the Delta Quadrant and eventually is found by some species, adapts and rest is history.

Jesus no. The Borg were ruined enough without having Discovery get it's hands on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

The Borg were completely watered down by adding Queens etc. As an un-emotional force, they present a much better counterpoint to the Federation. Especially to the Captains who choose diplomacy every time over force, the Borg represent the opposite, only force, only take, no deals, no give.

Such a perfect idea that could have spawned so many great story lines until they muddied the waters.

Queen never made sense. Just thr First Contact producers wanted a villain character.

Borg as a pure hive mind were much more scary.

A thing that just consumes, adapts, grows, and never, ever gives up.

As good an episode as it was, "I Borg" set the ball rolling on the downfall/humanising of the Borg. Voyager gets a lot of flak for ruining the Borg, but that process began way back during TNG's run.

I thought I Borg was great. It took nothing away from the power of the Borg. Interesting too that Hugh never became his old human self. I imagine he was assimilated very young.

Borg Babies

crew_full_body_cm_boimler_baby_borg_full.png

Definitely a great episode, but going from "Resistance is futile" to "Geordi is my friend" was without a doubt the first step in declawing the Borg. After that we had Descent where the aftermath of Hugh was a group of Borg with names etc, then followed the Queen, and Voyager just took it from there.

Ms

I think they really missed a trick with the Borg in that there could have been the Original Borg and then the Borg that were declawed by the virus that the Enterprise sent by Hugh. So when Voysger happened then maybe they met the debated Borg and maybe these Borg decided that needed a Queen too. That would have solved do many things and the Original unemotional drone Borgs collective could still exist too just doing about consuming. That would have been better. If they two Borg factions could co-exist or not I am not t sure.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Evade

Was Hugh human? I thought he was after near human alien.

Not sure but whatever he was he never reverted to his pre Borg persona.