Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The decline of SF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭pureza

Manslaughter of a Garda is not defensible by anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,220 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I have pointed out it was unfortunate but the point is that all sides have commemorations and let them all to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭mikethecop

your a disgusting coward slandering dead people on line mate ,

Its much worse than unfortunate,it was wreckless

The IRA weren't supposed to be shooting Gardaí and you'd have to ask yourself were there not enough banks and post offices in the occupied 6 counties to rob without running the risk of engaging the forces of the free State

Manslaughter of a Garda is not defensible period

Draping the coffin of one of the killers in our national flag was also not defensible In the circumstances even if we know that the shooting dead of the Garda was a mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭mikethecop

Shnners love to think their victims will forget them, helps when you telling lies to some teenager to drag them into your cult

unfortunately for you those people have families who still remember them

Meanwhile in 2024,if SF want to be in government,maybe they need to grasp the nettle and have an internal discussion on how best to have some of the more sensitive comemorations discretely when victims immediate families are still alive

The luxury in celebrating awful events that founded this state a 100 years ago is theres no mass media footage of the mahem,theres no living memory of the events and there is something huge to celebrate,a states creation,a work in progress still but a State borne none the less

It wasn't an issue 10 years ago, maybe 25 years ago, it's even less now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,804 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Why are you not pressurising all those who used violence here to desist commemorating?

Surely a democrat is not just cherrypicking and engaging in selective outrage?
    Can natiobalists ask that all public eulogy and commemoration of the BA and the various disgraced security forces be hidden away?

Honestly,I've never heard anything so ridiculous and inconsiderate

The NI troubles victims brothers sisters , cousins,mothers and fathers are all alive

A little discretion towards them would not go astray

Come back to me when you think a memorial to the killers of Garda McCabe would be acceptable outside of their graveyard

Imagine having a national celebration for the bombers of a horseguards parade in England or for the Enniskillen bombers

Good luck with getting approval amongst voters for that because thats what you're trying to compare the old IRA Civil war and 1916 celebrations to

Come back to me when you've left SF lala land in that respect and entered the real world

As regards,British army celebrations,those are the celebrations of a foreign country not ours

And conveniently you forget that out in the real world that is exactly what this state (orchestrated by the civil war parties)did after doing similar to what the IRA did in the north.

But in your head they weren't real people killed and mutilated and they weren't actual destroyed lives after that. As for the

As regards,British army celebrations,those are the celebrations of a foreign country not ours

nonsense, the British army are 'celebrated' in this country, it might not be 'your' country but it is the legitmate country of many who suffered at their hands, north and south. Of course there are those who would love to celebrate them in the Irish government and southern populace too.
    I said before, without a hint of triumphalism, I might add,(it's not my thing) that some people need to prepare themselves for young people wearing t-shirts with Adams and McGuinness on them in the future, much like my generation sported Che t-shirts.

That is just how it goes with these things, another generation will forget, just like you conveniently do that real living people died and real people are still living with the pain. They'll sing the rebel songs and glorify just like the generations of the 30's 40's 50's 60's etc sang about. It's happening already if you care to open your eyes and ears.

If you also care to listen you'd have heard MLMD and others talking about how such things would need to be treated sensitively by the state in a UI, so I don't see state celebrations of IRA actions in the future. But conversations about what and how people remember need to be had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,793 ✭✭✭✭maccored

are we back in 'old ira good / pira bad' land again?

You're still in lala land

Show me one elected representative in this state that attends celebrations of the murder of people in NI by a foreign army and government,there are none

Do not deliberately misrepresent me by claiming I don't know what constitutes my country

You do not have that right

Thirdly I couldn't care less what a foreign army or a foreign passport holder or a foreign government celebrates. I can and do sometimes wholeheartedly disagree with any celebration they do,they have a democratic government who decide whats right and wrong for their army and can pray to their cats as far as I am concerned

What they celebrate in no way justifies SF or others not applying a little discretion celebrating the killings of people in Ireland,in my country while their immediate family is alive

Nothing at all would justify putting my countries flag on the coffin of someone who killed a Garda or celebrating such killings

As regards sensitivity,if SF are going to talk about that at all,they'd want to be setting the example now when victims are alive or else how are they expected to be taken seriously talking about respect in a UI

Show me one elected representative in this state that attends celebrations of the murder of people in NI by a foreign army and government,there are none

Ah right, the familiar tactic, set up an argument around something I didn't say to deflect from dealing with what I actually said. But to answer it anyway, here is what the RBL say they are about:

Every year we lead the nation in commemorating and honouring those who have served and sacrificed.

We remember those who lost their lives on active service in all conflicts; from the beginning of the First World War right up to the present day, as well as all those who have served and their families. 

There is zero distinction there and that is why the Poppy stuff is anathema to those who suffered at the hands of the British soldiers on 'active service'. How do you think, to give just one example, the mother or family of one of the nearly 40 children killed with impunity by a British soldier feels when she or they see the Taoiseach lay a wreath of poppies in honour of those who killed their child? I could go on.

Do not deliberately misrepresent me by claiming I don't know what constitutes my country

You do not have that right

Don't make comments like you did so. You ignored that the British Army are celebrated here in Ireland.

What is 'discretion'?
    As I said earlier, for years these commemorations passed off without anyone paying a blind bit of attention to them. If you take the blinkers off you can see why they are now the subject of outrage.

And again, you would want to get used to being outraged because already there is a generation doing what generations did here, willfully forgetting that what they have was achieved through just as brutal and horrific violence as what was achieved in the north. Ditto everywhere else in the world where there was a conflict/war/

Answer my questions please instead of the deflection

If you cannot,or the questions are uncomfortable,just say so

There isn't a single question mark in your last post, just proclamations, from what I can see.

Come on now,have a splunk of sense,aren'there plenty questions for all to see,none of which you want to answer

If your party wants to be in government in Dublin,it will need to address those questions around sensitivities blocking the other 2 main parties from working with them

It's a new situation you are in,for decades what ye did,didn't matter,and sticking the head in the sand about it now won't solve it will it

You DIDN'T ask any questions in your post, you just vented.

I asked you several questions and instead of dealing with the points made you made up something I said to answer. Gimme a break!

Quite simply, you 'demand' of SF what you won't demand of all the others who celebrate murder and killing and violence carried out here.
    Just as Unionism is finding out it doesn't have a veto any longer, you too have to deal with the fact you are in no position to dictate or veto who and what gets commemorated. Realities.

I asked the questions first,you deflected like a tv signal in the 80's

You are fooling no one only yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

And your position on the commemoration of native Irish members of the Royal Irish Constabulary is......?

Review your post, there are no question marks. You were proclaiming, not to mention deflecting.

Exactly the same as it would be if SF proposed state commemorations for the members of the IRA…against it. As said, MLMD and others in SF have accepted there would need to be sensitivity around such things in a UI. I agree with them. Charlie Flanagan and Varadkar found out the hard way that there needs to be sensitivity in such things.

Yeah,when I go out in the rain with a hood on my coat,my head won't be wet,but it is raining

Asking for question marks being your excuse for not answering ? seriously

You are fooling no one with that shíte only yourself

Here's how you ask a question. This is just one you ignored.

How do you think, to give just one example, the mother or family of one of the nearly 40 children killed with impunity by a British soldier feels when she or they see the Taoiseach lay a wreath of poppies in honour of those who killed their child?

Here's 3 more, ignored.

Why are you not pressurising all those who used violence here to desist commemorating?

Surely a democrat is not just cherrypicking and engaging in selective outrage?
    Can nationalists ask that all public eulogy and commemoration of the BA and the various disgraced security forces be hidden away?

Like dictating who can commemorate and who can't you are trying again to dictate here. You get asked a question and you just deflect or just make something up and go from there.

If you want to 'ask' a question do it properly.

So in this thread,you dictate what I consider comprises my country(how dare you) and dictate that a question is not a question and just see fit to deflect from answering my uncomfortable questions with your own questions about something unrelated to my question(s)

You fool no one with that shìte,only yourself

What the hell did I 'dictate' to you?

I told you that you would have to accept that you don't get get to dictate who or what gets commemorated. Look around you in the real world, people are commemorating and not just the evil Shinners.
    You can't defend your - the British are not commemorating in my country - faux pas, so you try to deflect from it with more faux outrage about me dictating.

I never said the British Army are not commemorating in my country

I simply said I couldn't care less what a foreign army commemorates

I'd like them gone,but we are where we are

Continue on with the deflections,misrepresentations and avoidance of my uncomfortable questions ,posed genuinely at the start if you think the fog of post padding will work

you're fooling no one only yourself

Here is what you said:

They aren't the celebrations of a 'foreign' country, the British army are celebrated here in Ireland when Leo and others wear their poppy or lay wreaths or in memorials in Belfast or elsewhere. Fact.

But of course the myopically selective wouldn't see it that way.