All Together Now 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭mgkelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Yep, a good read alright but should have asked him about the constant recycling of acts. I know relationships will have been built etc. but still…. I've just looked back through all the lineups and it's ridiculous how many will have played multiple times in just five years. A few more left field bookings wouldn't go amiss.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭mgkelly

Pas de tout! I love lots of things & people! But I accept I'm in a big minority. Doesn't make me a bad person, tho'…🤨!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭DireD

any guesses for the TBA at lovely days on satuday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭El Director

Ah yeah, boards! Awesome it still exists for things like this 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,469 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

YR forecast not looking too good for next weekend, cloud Friday with a rainy start to Saturday and Sunday mornings, let's hope they have the hay ready this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭kg703

Yesterday the same forecast was three days if sun. Hopefully will change again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭jellybeano

Thanks a mil @El Director. Would 100% recommend BTP. Love the size of it. Have a brilliant weekend at ATN 🎪🍻😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Blackie_IRL

Still too far out to predict, but what's looking likely now is a warm dry week leading up to festival so ground conditions should be good, a mild weekend with the odd shower here and there works for me, obviously sunshine and no rain works better,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Anyone have an experience of arriving on a Saturday? It will be a 3+ drive so presume traffic wont be near as crazy as on the Thurs/Fri.

As an alternative, might head down late Friday. Maybe around 8ish to avoid the manic traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭darzog

Fourth time out for me this year…

2019 memories - Father John Misty & John Grant’s Main Stage sets. Jacqui Carroll’s lunchtime mod/ska DJ set down by the big house. Poor Olafur Arnalds having his set ruined by folk piling into SKOW tent and (performatively) sheltering from the rain.

2022 - Full Messianic Nick Cave set, King Gizz, Gilla Band, Enola Gay, NewDad, Skinner, Gurriers. Best year for music for sure

2023 - Watching the rain with a Kraken rum in hand from the sanctuary of the wee wooden shack at Global Roots, Ig, Black Country New Road despite the tech glitches, Billy Bragg, me going down like a big auld sack of sh.te during the Friday evening downpour and knacking my ankle for the rest of the weekend!

2024 “plan of attack”

Less of: Charging about the place with a spread sheet / campaign map in hand

More of: Serendipitousness, Last City

If pushed: Hope to get to see OXN, Cardinals, Glass Beams, The Murder Capital, Niamh Regan, Rachael Lavelle, Overhead, the Albatross, Sprints, Slowdive, NewDad, Muireann Bradley, Trá Pháidín, Prodigy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Make sure you're there before 10pm. I've heard tales of people been stuck out in the carpark for the night.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭crl84

Think someone already mentioned Sloucho, have added him to my maybes list anyway

Chunky post-dubstep type stuff, similar to Scuba, early Flume, Flying Lotus, SBTRKT, Koreless…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,076 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Welp, had to go in for emergency spinal surgery to remove a fully slipped disk yesterday, so now I’m going to be selling my tickets :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Ruanmcg

Anyone looking for a ticket? House mate is selling one for 150, it’s physical so would have to meet up. Living in D12 but he works on Leeson Street so could prob meet anywhere in town. Drop me a WhatsApp if your interested 0873326586

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Griff77

I went down Saturday last year due to other commitments. Zero traffic and zero queues. This was leaving Dublin about 9.30ish. Was a doddle and can in hand before lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭endainoz

Hard luck! I'm a little bit on the fence at the moment as currently floored with c19 at the moment. Very weak but hopefully strength will be back tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 CorkScot

Same boat. Friday doesn't hold much interest for me, but Sunday is absolutely stacked. Not a hope I'm not swilling cans on the Sunday, so it's a Sat morn-Monday morn ATN this year for us. I did 3 nights at BTP, but I'd be pushing my 40something body into danger by repeating that strategy I feel! I'm hoping the lovely Friday can-opening feeling will easily transfer into the Saturday midday just fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭grudgehugger

Three days at BTP were a stretch for my aging bones too - and with multiple 3-4am finishes likely @ ATN plus a lot more sloping terrain to be covered, I have serious concerns over my staying power.

Thursday night will have to be a calm one, and shape throwing will have to be carefully rationed out over the weekend.

I’m investing great hope in the massage I’ve booked for 2pm on the Sunday to provide enough of a boost to get through Kalkbrenner.

Declan McKenna looked good at the bits Truck festival shared on their socials from last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Flinty81

Looking good so far groundwise on site 🤞

https://www.facebook.com/100044202440788/posts/pfbid02T7GW3VzaiXoSzUW7ffweQCJ6HgFVD7iJARE6Zxf4vWDiCDwvzBWBtitNQQw3wMEXl/?app=fbl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,207 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I hope Future Islands still do Light House in their set, one of my favourite tracks of theirs.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,430 ✭✭✭mojesius

Did anyone catch the RTE orchestra performing Leonard Cohen the first year? That was special, especially 'Democracy' performed by Phelim Drew. Sun was shining, everyone a bit fragile, think it was on the Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,420 ✭✭✭✭Basq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Flinty81

Is Roisin Murphy still OK to play I wonder

Hope so 🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,469 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

No updates from her since, it doesn't sound too serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭El Director

Past ATN highlights

• The general vibe and giddiness of a new festival!
    • The campsite being a 2 minute walk to the main stage
    • The One Love woods stage
    • The big house all lit up and the bandstand in front of it
    • Underworld
    • Mogawi
    • The Black Madonna (now The Blessed Madonna)
    • Yasiin Bey
    • Nils Frahm

• Missing the traffic chaos, took the train and bus and it was a breeze! Felt for the hundreds caught up in the traffic though
    • Orbital (unreal)
    • Fontaines DC (first time to see them live)
    • Jon Hopkins
    • Loyle Carner
    • The Good, The Bad & The Queen (perhaps top 10 gig of all time for me)
    • Ólafur Arnold’s (despite the roof almost collapsing on him with all the rain!)

• HousePlants
    • MELTS
    • Enola Gay
    • Rival Consoles
    • Floating Points
    • Flight Facilities
    • shame
    • Underworld

• Lankum
    • Villagers
    • Overmono
    • Barry Can’t Swim
    • Daniel Avery
    • The Scratch

2024 - Plan

In bold are my must see, the rest I’m pretty easy about. Despite so many repeats there’s still so much to see. I’d like to spend more time this year just wandering around the woods area and discovering things as I go. Definitely more time in The Last City

Friday

17:30 Kean Kavanagh

19:00 Glass Beams

20:00 Cooks But We’re Chefs

22:00 New Jackson and last 30 min of Confidence Man

23:45 Kiamos

01:00 Time to stroll around…Ross From Friends, Maribou State, Trad Rave, George Fitzgerald, Kolsch, Jon10

Saturday

18:00 Rachael Lavelle

18:45 Le Boom

19:15 The Mary Wallopers (should be craic) or Ezra Williams

20:30 Joy (anonymous)

22:30 Floating Points

00:00 Roisin Murphy

01:30 Time to stroll in the woods…The Last City

Sunday (if I manage to swing staying)

17:00 John Francis Flynn or The Wailers

18:30 ØXN

19:15 Future Islands or Sprints (er…clash)

20:15 New Dad or Just Mustard

20:45 Houseplants

21:00 Barry Can’t Swim (damn bad clash)

22:00 Slowdive

22:45 The Prodigy

01:00 Paul Kalkbrenner

Sunday looks too good!

It’s been fun looking back and looking forward to this year! The festival has really grew and matured, as it should, since 2018 but it’s still a small/mid size affair which is to be welcomed IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 BeardyD

Unpopular opinion I know, but Le Boom have to be the most overrated bunch of chancers I've ever seen I my life. There was blatant lip-syching going on at their last ATN gig and I'm amazed people didn't notice. Musically, it's nothing that isn't being made as well or better by dozens of bedroom producers around the country - honestly, sit down and listen to it, it's very basic stuff. I'd normally tend to big up Irish acts, but I'm actually embarrassed that these are one if our biggest electronic acts. I'm tellin ye lads, this particular emperor is balls naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭gandalfio

Any idea if Michael Fry plays his music during his set (would love to hear the below) or is it exclusively stand up?

I do agree they're a bit overrated, but jaysus the rest of what you said is a bit harsh Jeff!