Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,955 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

We'll get to test our depth now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

Terrible news on Sheehan, but just thinking of next weekend I think Porter and Osborne are the most important. Kelleher and Herring are good replacement hookers. And then Murray for Casey, Ringrose for Henshaw, McCloskey for Aki, and Stockdale for Lowe are quality players to bring in.

McCloskey/Ringrose next week? Still a very good centre pairing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

was always a risk of getting a lot of injuries at end of a huge season

Big chance for others now to show what they can do

Sheehan ACL is an absolute disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Sheahan, feck. That's a huge loss.

If there's any silver lining at all, atleast Tom Stewart might get some senior international action over the next nine months, which'll be good for positional depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭ersatz

McCloskey is ideal against the Boks, great opportunity for him if he plays next week. I thought Nash was a bit slow for the kind of pace they have out wide as we need impeccable winger defense against these guys. And I thought we missed a trick not playing more wide ball ourselves in their red zone, very hard to bish bosh through this SA team. Lots of people have pointed to how little joy Beirne got carrying but that's predictable, I guess missing JGP/Mack means we lack some of the attacking patterns that we saw during this teams peak but that's what we need now. Ireland did well given the altitude and how well prepped SA were. Very interesting how little they kicked, we looked more like the boks in the regard. I can see us taking them next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

Jaysus this series is a write off, play the young lads for the second test now tbh

yeah I’d love to see that and McCloskey deserves it. Give me Cormac Izuchukwu at 6 too please! 🙏🏻 Imagine the balance of 6. Izuchukwu 8. Doris 7. VDF, with Timoney off the bench. It’ll never happen but I’d love to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

By all accounts, Osborne will be OK for next week so hopefully we'll see him get another run. I'd be surprised if Porter lets a cut on his hand keep him out.

Osborne

Nash, Ringrose, Aki/McCloskey, Lowe/JOB

Crowley, Murray

Porter, Kelleher, Furlong

McCarthy, Beirne

POM, Doris, VDF

Bench: Herring, Healy, Jager, Ryan, Baird, Blade, Frawley, JOB/McCloskey

It's still a very decent team and, with the exception of Casey, the injuries are in areas where we have good depth. I'd like to see Jager get a run off the bench, but I wouldn't be surprised to see a 6:2 split either, maybe Cian Prendergast to benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭ludeen

Is a Coombes call up a possibility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭VayNiice

Timoney is probably ahead of Prendergast due to his versatility to play anywhere in the back row. Although Farrell loves Prendergasts attributes as a player so hard to know. I still can’t understand how POM makes this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,228 ✭✭✭✭phog

Losing Sheehan and Casey isn't ideal, at least we have cover for Sheehan, less so for Casey with JGP out too. Originally, (before JGP injury) I thought Murray needn't have travelled but now it looks like he'll start next week.

I know there are a lot of what ifs from last Saturday but I think, we'll need a huge improvement to win next week. In saying that if Aki is back to his RWC performance then we might be better in defence and attack.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I don't really think a huge improvement is needed. That was a very close game that we were certainly in with a shout of winning but for a couple of uncharacteristic mistakes.

All that being said, with the losses I would probably expect a slight dip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Spilling a ball on their line in the opening minutes, losing a 5m lineout in the second half, Beirne dropping a pass on their 22, Casey getting caught by Snyman at the base (our advantage being called as over literally as he was picking the ball up) and Ryan getting turned over well inside their 22.

Five instances of where we were in scoring positions and gave them possession back. There were other errors but when you look at those five moments plus the fact that we gave them what are two absolutely gift wrapped tries, there aren't going to be wholesale changes to personnel or tactics and nor does there need to be.

Lowe doesn't have that moment of insanity and we've a scrum on halfway in a one score game, 4 minutes on the clock and they're down to 14 men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭ludeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Although judging by what happened in the last scrum we probably would have coughed up a penalty on half way which they would have kicked to put us 10 behind, or if missed pinned us back in our 22 with 2 mins to go. The could also have gone to the corner and made us defend in our 22 to close out the game.

The bigger moments were the lack of reaction when Lowe kept the ball in (Kolbe was excellent) and the Lowe try being called back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Tommysocks11

Hopefully this week is the end of POM, great servant but past it now and he is ruining his legacy by not retiring from international rugby, he offers nothing at 6 as baird and prendergast deserve starts

I doubt they are going to change the captain mid tour.

They might swap him to bench with such a short turn around between games to freshen up the team or more likely tell him to give one last big performance before end of season and rest. Then decide what to do next season

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Big difference between your own put-in and defending a Scrum V. Ireland would look to get it out asap, and the SA flankers can't afford to drive as much as they need to be looking for the ball coming off the scrum on either side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Must love hardship

I'd like to see Bierne go at 6. With Ryan and Mccarthy in the back row. And Baird and Pendergast on the bench for impact.

That scrum penalty try at the end was a thing of nightmares. Can't get much worse than that..

Maybe jager and o toole to bench over healy and beadhlam.. if o toole is going to be longterm option at loose head where better to test him than south Africa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭riddles

Is it a bridge too far expecting players following the WC - surely the post WC season shouldn’t have tours like this but extra players downtime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

SMcC played really well v SA in Nov '22 before having to go off injured.

Ringrose starting will also help the defence.

Personally I'd prefer Osborne moved to 12 and JOB at FB (if fit).

Still cant see Ireland winning. Beirne looks to be running on emptymaybe not. Sheehan's a big loss and Casey in fairness also played really well (Cheap shot by RGS).

Would also like Prendergast to bench over Frawley.

Post edited by ionadnapóca on

SCotland tour of Canada with young players etc might have been a better idea than going into the Lions den. A lot of this comes down to money, SA knew Ireland would sell out stadiums and they could charge a premium for the tickets. Same when SA come to Ireland.

If we've copped 4 injuries, they aren't going to make an additional, non-enforced change with POM.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,259 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Except southern hemisphere can't afford to not have these games. And if we didn't have these games this year with lions next year and none in a year of a world cup. You would only have 1 trip down every 4 years. Not good for game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭PMC83

Poms been amazing for Ireland and has come up with big moments for us time and time again. Although I think your being a little harsh it does feel like these big moments are becoming less and less frequent. If next week is his last in green I hope he has an absolute stormer.

Regardless I hope we look past a few of these senior players next November. Its time to move on from a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

POM does not pick the team, he did very well at lineout time when the pressure came on last Saturday, Farrell would be ruthless if required.