If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭pureza

How can I agree with that when the chief opposition party were also all over the place,even more so than the governmrnt as this situation devrloped?

Am I seeing a pattern here,give out about government decisions and have no answers yourselves other than make it worse hoping noone will notice?

Hows that strategy going for ye so far ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,934 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The government is responsible for the mess not the opposition.

I have nothing to do with the mess either.

If there is a pattern it is from those blaming people who have zero power to alter course or to ensure things are done properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,197 ✭✭✭This is it

Anyone have a link to the interview?

I was right in the trend in your replies ie no answers ,just give out wasnt I

Yeah the government are responsible for immigrants entring en mass via the north and shouldnt be clamping down because in your view thats pampering to the right

Looking at this,I think @Bass Reeves was on point the other day asking if you are a comedian with the replies lately,the herd is moving on account of your preferred party's comedy show

i am not a politician or a civil servant. Not up to me to provide solutions.

Soon as you used ‘en masse’ though I can see you are not going to broach any criticism of those responsible ultimately for the **** show.
    Conedy? You are the feature act.

My solution by the way - do the job you are paid to do. That goes for Civil servants and politicians. The opposition have pointed out what is being done wrong. You might not want to hear it though.

I see so no answers,just like Sinn Féin have none and had none as this situation developed,several different ways of saying nothing,shouldnt you,as their biggest fan here,be pointing out how Sinn Féin are going to stave off their immigration related fall in popularity?

Extra comedy marks by the way for saying the government shouldnt be saying enoughs enough at this stage and clamping down,this really has caught ye out hasn't it?

Time to pull the britches up,grasp nettles ,to be honest,and stop behaving like the proverbial vase holder fearing it will fall or Belfast will lose the opportunity of power they had in sight and all the UI referendum ambition goes down the swanny for at least the medium term with it doesn't it

Comedy beats the tragedy of what the government have allowed rise here by incompetence and irresponsible virtue signalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭DataDude

Have always just changed channel whenever MLMD has spoken but said I’d sit down and listen properly to our potential new Taoiseach.

10 mins in and I can actually feel brain cells dying.

How do 1 in 5 people buy this nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,929 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

MLMD on The Tonight Show.

Not impressed at all.

Appears she has had orders from West Belfast to try and arrest the slide in polling numbers.

Maybe they should have hid her.

Has anyone had a punt on what the turnout is going to be. Hasn’t really ignited as campaigns go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Germany, Italy, France, Greece, Sweden, Spain and the UK all face similar migration crises.

What would SF advise them? Could their solutions translate to success in other countries? Europe will be glad when they get into government and show how its done. Firmly but fairly and in consultation with the locals of course.

Please.

Firmly but fairly and in consultation with the locals of course

Would we have the mess we have now if that had been done competently? I don’t think we would.
    The government opened the doors to the far right, nobody else.
    Create vacuums somebody will fill them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,948 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

That was abysmal, she was somewhere between disinterested and completely unprepared, peppered with a whole load of "if I may say" and "I would say to you"

Another vacuous answer totally devoid of the reality of the situation,not surprising if you look to Belfasts representatives for inspiration at the moment,they're like the stepford wives in the movie struggling for lack of programming on what to do aren't they

Do ya know,I'll give them one bit of advice,a party like Sinn Féin whose modus operandi to date has been populism,accusing the government of pandering to the right by cracking down is counter productive and absolutely not the right thing to do now,talk about being out of touch at the wrong time? There'll be no biscuit left to take

Done competently? How exactly? Why is every country mentioned getting it wrong? What do SF know that 6 governments drawn from a collective population of 300 million don't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,926 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Another U turn as good as admitting that building a 300k House in Dublin is a figment of the nodding donkey imagination. The more people look at there policies the more they are seen through..

It's similar to @FrancieBrady saying he is not a SF supporter, it feels like BS it smells like BS it definitely BS

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2024/06/05/mary-lou-mcdonald-says-300000-price-tag-refers-to-affordable-homes-not-average-dublin-houses/

Slava Ukrainii

Always wanting to look over there.

Are you going to tell us that immigration was handled 'competently' here?

Tell us how they did that and why we ended up in the mess we did, with the government scrambling and hardening it's stance on it and the far right out in the open looking for support?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

HHer interview on the tonight show was a disaster. Refused to answer the questions despite being asked numerous times. Surprised that she admitted her mistake on housing a few day s before election. Yery poor judgment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

THis thread is good fun, we now have someone claiming that the incompetent Sinn Fein are the only answer to resolving immigration. Hilarious

The same poster who claims Sinn Fein have the answer to every question :-)

I think you will find that the contention is that a pirouetting government haven't done it.

I think you will find Sinn Fein are incompetent and it's hilarious you trying to tell everyone they have all the answer. Total delusion for a party who as I have said is incompetent from top to bottom

Even their online supporters didn't understand their policies and lots of them running away now they know the party isn't a s racist as they want

to tell everyone they have all the answer.

Calm Clo, nobody has said this. I can see why you need to invent it though.

Eh yeah, looking 'over there' as you put it, is kinda important. One might learn something. For one, the issues faced by Ireland are, clearly, faced by every other western EU country. It is truly laughable to believe that SF has the answer to fix it all given the monumental scale of geopolitical upheaval at play. Truly laughable indeed. Are we to believe they are sitting on some master plan, that will roll out once the election goes their way? Really?

Still, come to think of it, Sinn Fein may actually know how to curb immigration. They could turn it on its head in fact by implementing the policies of their favourite international partner, Venezuela. Remember that Sinn Fein holds Venezueala in the highest regard as a model, even sending a high level delegation to attend Maduro's inauguration, declaring their full support for his regime in 2019? Well, under that examplar of the Sinn Fein economic model, about 7.2 million people have left the country in the last few years. What a way to solve an immigrant crisis, make the country so unliveable that nobody wants to live there.

Is that the SF plan? It just might work.

We send delegations to all kinds of places, does that mean we want to emulate them?

Could we raise the debate above this level by any chance?

Nor have I said that 'SF has the answer to fix it all'.
    On immigration I think they have done their duty(with other opposition parties) as an opposition and pointed out where it was gotten wrong and why the government have created a vacuum that the far right has willingly filled.

That is their job.

All sorts of strange places indeed. Colombia, Libya, even the Soviet Union and Nazi Germany once upon a time. Hard to emulate all them to be fair.

And the government send people to Saudi, Russia(to look for UN support), Israel when it suits them.
    SF also happily go to the places we already go to, UK, all of the EU, US, etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭Francis McM

I remembers not long ago Sinn Fein were pro immigration but their supporters are anti immigration so it puts them in a bit of a bind. Will be interesting to see how long Mary Lose will stay as leader, or if the lads in Belfast will choose a new leader?

Ahh they want Michelle to be the new leader now if you see the online supporters. She is a good little republican

The hope is that Michelle will turn SF back into the party their hardcore supporters want, that hates immigration

Oh but you do, daily, Sinn fein have all the answers. Now running away from it becaus eyou know how incompetent they are. Hilarious

Up to you to show where I have said they have all the answers.