If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Meanwhile on the Roads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,104 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

recent buses bought by the NTA have cameras instead of mirrors

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭De Bhál

https://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-motor-insurance-app-6388338-May2024/

Under the new system, which was introduced in January, frontline gardaí have access to the information details of more than three million vehicles.

Following its introduction at the start of the year, the new system has led to the seizure of 7,307 vehicles. Some 1,840 vehicles were seized last month relating to no insurance.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,370 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

"Currently, about 50 vehicles a day are being seized. At this rate, some 18,000 vehicles would be seized this year – a fraction of the overall number of uninsured vehicles in Ireland."

that's true, if all other things remain equal - but if there's a significant uptick in the number of seizures, it might (hopefully!) drive people to insure their cars, i.e. the number of uninsured cars might drop.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Optimist: Most cars that are uninsured are off the road anyway, some not declared, some are classics etc. The remainder will plummet as roughly 2 a day in each county getting siezed is considerable, and the numbers will be greatly reduced. As an aside, when people are forking out for insurance, they hopefully will drive better to reduce costs etc.

Pessimist: Bangers are cheap, a load of cars coming through the auctions will keep it that way, and people will still take the risk knowing they can pay a good solicitor to give the auld, has to get to work, keeping the working poor down spiel or they simply don't care.

If the Gardai / Revenue were selling them to Breakers for parts only, then I would be happy but that's it. Better for the economy, loads of parts for aging cars that should be reasonably priced, better for the environment etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,370 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

if they're actually seizing cars, the hassle has happened long before a solicitor gets involved.

I think you underestimate how little some people will care, the inconvenience for some will be fleeting, Buy a banger for €300, even if you only got away with it for 6 months, let it get scrapped, you will have another for the same price that evening of DoneDeal and still be saving money compared to paying tax and insurance. Yes there are a few in Yellow Reg land Rovers dropping their kids off to school in South Dublin (I see some every morning going into the school beside work) who will be embarrassed if seen but it won't be their flagrant abuse and getting around VRT as well that shames them, even though they can clearly afford a decent car. They will suffer a bit more but are presumably affluent enough to get by as well. Loads around my home place do it. Not a high percentage but still a large number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭JMcL

I was dropping the daughter to an activity earlier in the week and the Guards had pulled a fairly high end looking Beemer in, nee-naw lights flashing. I was on the way back 5-10 minutes later by which time a tow-truck had rocked up. I was wondering if this was a no insurance case as it probably wouldn't get hauled off for speeding/being a run of the mill bell-end alone, nor was it blocking the thoroughfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Apparently 150,000 uninsured cars on our roads. Again, something that a dedicated roads policing unit could be tasked with tackling. The more you analyse it, the more it seems people are content with the roads being the wild west of modern society, where you can get away with behaviour that you'd never think of engaging in outside the car/ in a shop/ in a queue etc. All the while certain cheerleaders in the media and populist politicians push the 'war on motorists' nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,546 ✭✭✭✭zell12

National Highways has released videos, filmed through the window of an unmarked lorry cab by Warwickshire Police

A woman pictured driving a light blue Nissan while applying make-up.

A woman pictured on her phone and looking at a laptop while she attempts to drive a black Audi 😮

A man pictured eating chips and sipping a drink from McDonald's with no hands on the steering wheel as he tries to control a grey van on a busy road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,967 ✭✭✭secman

On Belgard road today stopped at red lights at Airton road junction. Before we turn green there's a filter green from opposite direction to allow traffic to turn into the Belgard Retail park. That filter turns amber and then red and ours turns green to proceed through the junction. As ours turned green I proceeded to go through the junction and a large van came across our path and lo and behold there's a car behind it, who had to have gone through a red light.... it was a Driving instructor car with no learner driver in it, presumably the guy driving it is a driving instructor ☹️ ☹️

…and this is what got lifted. Fscker caught for the 4th time THIS YEAR with no insurance. If it wouldn't be for the environmental impact they should strap him to a chair and force him to watch that car be crushed

But there, you go, there is no fear, he had been caught 4 f*cking times and only on the last one was an appropriate punishment dealt out. I wouldn't say scrap but passed straight onto auction so he at least has to buy it back at market value. Not a petrol head, but that looks 2013 -2015 3 series, so if in good nick could be over 10k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭ARX

surely 'twenty seven' is as easy to type as 'almost 30'! or are the subs working to a style guide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Shotser

At the lights in Dundrum village last night, Garda car passes through. The driver of the car following directly behind the Garda car as the phone in hand typing away. This morning on the way into the office, Garda roll through an amber light (they could/should have stopped) and were followed by another car, at which time it was definitely red. Even Garda "presence" does nothing to stop this behaviour. Another lad in a merc is stuck in the middle of the junction of Carysfort and Convent road (coming from Convent turning up Carysfort). His light was red but he hadn't noticed as he was looking at his phone, looks up to cars trying to squeeze past him.. decides to move once the pedestrian lights are green and the school traffic warden is standing in the middle of the crossing with all the school kids crossing.

Of all things, this gets my goat more than anything. Used to happen where I lived in Bray, the Lolipopper in Shankill was regularly skimmed and the two on the N11 near Stillorgan would regularly have people roll through as kids are crossing. It is a level of scumbaggery that I just can't deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,444 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

I get a certain level of satisfaction stopping for the Lollipop lady and then watching the driver behind me in my rear view mirror huffing/puffing with frustration!

I've nearly ended up as roadkill twice on the same roundabout with Guards looking on - first time I was left hooked while a pair of them sat in a car watching a gesture after the offender and a mouthed "WTF?" had no response. Last time a couple of weeks ago when some impatient prick in a van bullied his way through missing me by inches with another pair of guards in a car behind him.

Our local crossing had to have a second (male) volunteer in hi-vis to visibly stand on footpath as support to the lollipop person on road. Prior, there were motorists bamboozling through, shouting abuse in front of kids, etc.

It's times like that I go a bit right wing and wonder, should we really have gotten rid of the death penalty and should this be a crime worthy of it.

This made national headlines in 2022. Photo: a car’s dashcam recorded a car driving straight through the crossing while the warden was in the centre of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭De Bhál

camera at every crossing. 6 points on the licence and a 500 euro fine

Caught on camera, did the gardai do anything about it? I suspect not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Here's one being named, so it seems to be a nice unwritten rule among journos not to embarrass these nice people, unless they have a really tasty target;

Coming through Monkstown yesterday, mother and small child along with an older pedestrian, waiting at the Zebra crossing to cross but motorists kept ploughing through. They were waiting from before I got to the shop and at least 6 cars just drove through. I stopped, which meant so did those behind me but what in the f*ck is wrong with people. Later at the next crossroads, two of the cars were tapping away on their phones and another had the look of someone whose presence of mind was not there as they frantically looked around the car for something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

I looked him up. I don't think his political views are the reason they reported on him.

Lads like him, talking bo11ox about the law are going to make for better viewing the your regular mundane RTA case and more likely to be reported on. Maybe they were there because of who he is I don't know.

Most days in a district court will serve up at least one wing nut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,104 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

do these "freeman of the land" types ever succeed with their bullshit arguments?

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

There is some absolutely cracking content in this thread

Problem is that whether it someone in a car exercising his right to travel without the need for tax, insurance or simply obeying the rules of the road, or the lads who are trying to avoid their property speculation debts, they are always trying to have others pick up the tab for their sh!tfcukery.