Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fury Vs Usyk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭jj880

Fury bouncing round the ropes in the 9th like a big Dosser. Usyk with several heavy shots. Couldve easily been a stoppage.

Post edited by jj880 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Augme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭GHendrix

He might do. He was in serious trouble tonight and had to dig really deep to come back. It gets harder to keep doing that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,476 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Fury’s problem was he only had discrete moments of success. There was never real sustained consistency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Funny thing is Fury always seemed disappointed in Wilders lack of sportsmanship when he beat him, then he goes the same way now.

Usyk seems to bring out the spoilt child in the likes of Joshua and Fury. Still, Joshua taking the mic and talking about himself for ages was the worst cringe fest of all. Fury lost to Usyk and Joshua tonight lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Very close fight but fair play to Usyk. If was the same size as Fury, he would dominate him. Poor comment from Tyson regarding Ukraine.

Rematch will be very interesting and could go any way. Most likely a trilogy.

Rematch I reckon Usyk even cleaner.. I thought well deserved tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

I would, he deserved the win tonight and who knows what happens in a rematch, Fury could get the KO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭RoryMac

The rematch if it happens could go either way but I've got doubts Fury could get himself back in this shape again.

I think Fury might do the rematch for the money but he beaten more convincingly than tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

The man was severely concussed. Can say what he likes after the show they put on.

I must have missed it, but where was Usyk in “serious trouble?” Only time any man in serious trouble was last 30 seconds rd 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Sorry but I think this is funny, you found every conceivable way to envisage Joshua correcting the record and beating Usyk in the 2nd fight, but Fury gets beaten even cleaner, he has zero hope.

I think Fury is a clown but I think you are incapable of being impartial when it comes to Fury, your dislike clouds your judgment.

Its quite conceivable Fury beats him in the 2nd fight, if he adjusts the game plan/makes better decisions next time out as you championed AJ should.

Im drunk but are you sure? I don't think he counted him. It was scored a 10/8 round either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,182 ✭✭✭✭klose

Not a boxing person really but watched it tonight as was with family and it was on, jaysus twas some scrap now great entertainment. How Fury kept going after the 9th I don’t know, he was seeing stars bouncing off the ropes!

I thought AJ coujd do better fight 2, but don’t recall saying he’d win. And he did do better fight 2.

I don’t think Fury beats Usyk fight 2. I think Usyk does cleaner job, potentially. Nout to do with Fury as a person. To me, as a fighter, he looks cooked and past it.

I’m delighted he lost. But his performance in fight 2 should we get it will be purely based on how I feel he performs as a fighter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,828 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

few people a bit confused in the thread as has been pointed out the ref calling the count when the corner held fury up was the correct decision.

Walshb I know you are happy but it was a split decision, you are posting like usyk bossed the whole fight, in the middle rounds he was labored and fury was tagging him at will and had him hurt more than once. The nose breaker turned the fight and usyk was on the front foot from then on and nearly scored a ko but at the end it was a razor thin decision.

Fight flow and aggression he did boss the fight. Clear winner on that criteria for me. I scored it 117-110. Fury was too easily moved around and was not near aggresive enough. Usyk deserved winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

I don't think anyone is saying he was in the kind of trouble Fury was in in round 9, but Fury had his moments in those middle rounds and he hurt him a few times, it was obvious to me when Fury became the aggressor he had more joy, was clearly able to hurt Usyk and to me Usyk was starting to wilt and feel it, but it never went any further.

In a rematch Fury could go after him earlier, put more pressure on him and I could easily see him getting a KO, a rematch is hugely risky for Usyk.

and I had it a draw, my score card was a lot closer than yours as it goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Fury was falling around the ring for a good while before the ref called the count, I seriously doubt Usyk would've got the same treatment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭selectamatic

He could but does he have the tank to deal with the fallout should he not get rid of Usyk early.

Usyk isn't easy get rid of. And Fury failed tonight at sustaining his offensive pressure.

Wilder 2 was the last time fury put serious pressure on a live opponent and stopped them. He was blowing hard by the time he stopped wilder that night.

Usyk is levels above Wilder when it comes to durability. And Fury isn't getting any fitter as evidenced by tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,280 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭blade1

What a fight.

Can't wait for the re-match but it's got a lot to live up to after that.

Fury has an even bigger task on his hands now.

Screenshot_2024-05-19-05-46-33-95_0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,267 ✭✭✭✭ted1

absolutely to think UYSK had a 4 inches and 2 stone disadvantage he didn’t let it bother him

great win. , even the fact that they both turned up was a great thing

why wouldn't he? The rules are the rules, few people in here that watch 1 fight a year it seems 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,267 ✭✭✭✭ted1

he pocketed £90Million. , there’s nothing a traveller lives more than hard cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Wonder were Furys comments on war and saying happy new year down to concussion, or just his general madcap brain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭geotrig

For me Rd 1,2 usyk maybe rd2 fury or even, 3 4 fury came into the fight but felt they shared evenor usyk stillshaded them , Rd 5,6 was fury and while I don't agree that usyk looked f*cked he did look tired and uncomfortable fromshots fury was landing it seemed like fury was going to push on there,but we have seen this from usyk loads where he looks tired mid match and takes a back seat as such for a round or 2.

Things I noticed was ,it took fury 3-4 rounds to start looking comfortable, he couldn't really roll the heavier shots from usyk like he normally does due to volume and accuracy of usyks shots,

He kept getting caught in corner of ring early and used a bit of showboating to get out of it, reminded me why he can be unlikeable he wasn't able to use his size to tie up and lean on usyk. Very lucky it wasn't stopped but ref got it spot on . You gotto admire how fury can ride the ropes ring the way he did,also Fury doesn't have a belly button 😂

While usyk is deemed not to have the "power", his shots must hurt some bit if everyone so far won't and doesn't push on against him when an opportunity arises

Post edited by geotrig on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭hawaii501

Thought usyk won rds 1-3 fury 4-7 and usyk winningmost of the later rds(can see why fury got a couple)

Didnt think it was a split decision though.

One question is how come fury shirts are always so high up, they were nearly up at his chest! Obviously no rules on this?