If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2024 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Waiting in line, terrible time, over familiar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Ye I was surprised she wasn't in the first announcement as she's supporting our mate Noah in Belfast that weekend unless purposely holding her back for the next announcement as a big-ish name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,050 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

You’re right @Mucker46 . I’d thought the Belfast & Galway dates made them certainties. Not so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Mucker46

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭mgkelly

Good God, Moby would be inspirational anywhere! Never seen him live. Assume he's touring? Need to check up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭mgkelly

Moi aussi! Latecomer to the festival scene - was in my 40s - I'm now 54.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Mucker46

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,891 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Franz Ferdinand, Stereolab, Big Thief, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,821 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Yeah. It appears to be a thing. I was also early 40's. Plenty of gigs but not festivals. Who knows why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,891 ✭✭✭Penfailed

That's mad lads. My first festival was Feile '93! I was 17.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Franz Ferdinand, Stereolab, Big Thief, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic

Sorry, meant to reply earlier. For me there’s definitely more craic at Irish festivals. The crowds are friendlier and you’re far more likely to have great random conversations. Happens also in England but the chat is briefer (they’re a shyer and often more awkward bunch) and they’re a damn sight less likely to buy a stranger a pint. Spanish fests similar to Ireland in that and other respects.

Glasto is superb, and you’ll have an amazing time when you go there, but it’s also more work than anywhere else. Over five shower-less days it’s very tiring and guys of our vintage can’t over-indulge. It just doesn’t work. EOTR and Green Man have great acts, a great ethos and now musically leave EP in the shade. But for craic, no, not yet.

Raising kids I guess for many people. There’s also never been a festival in Ireland like EP that offers such varied stuff to many people. Many older EP-heads wouldn’t have been tempted by the messiness at Oxegen and the entire vacuum preceding that. I went to lots of festivals in my twenties and thirties but living in England at the time, and the choice available, made that a damn sight easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭LilNiall

James supported by The Zutons announced for Collins Barracks 26 Aug which rules them out.

James would have been a great addition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭MsMojave

Peggy Gou had released another single (Lobster Telephone) from her upcoming debut album on June 7th if anyone is checking for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭glennponder

Eco general registration non event today, tickets gone instantly, got mine last week but think we've one from my group who missed out.....gen pop for him it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭rubick

Yeah, I was firmly ensconced in the clubs from I was 17 until my early 30s (Circus Circus, Kelly's, Shine etc.) and only went to EP because Lyn had a belter in 2009. Huge regrets not going to Irish festivals sooner but the one that hurts is not going to all those Glastonburys when you could still get tickets within a couple of days and not 25 mins until it sells out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Yeah the wife tried this morning but no joy. It is what it is I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

They went way to quick, very strange. Off to regular campsite. 20 of us tried at 1000, none of us got an open link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭jams100

Seems I was one of the lucky few, is there any reason they don't just expand the Eco camping? Is it a case of it costs more money or something? Would've thought it would balance itself out as you wouldn't need the bulldozers and cleaners in after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭rockterrain

James just announced their own gig for Collins Barracks in August so that's them out. The gouging for Irish audiences continues. They're playing festivals all summer but because the good ole Irish are happy to sell out festivals with second rate headliners bands like James do their own summer shows here. Depressing stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭thebronze14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭rubick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

That's a pity, not the biggest fan but they were very good last year at Forest Fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

It's probably because they need volunteers who they need to give tickets to and generally the tents are spaced out a bit more so likely they would need to hire more fields. I can see them doing away with it slowly, unless they decide to grow the festival. Surprised it made a comeback this year. The guy running it has an eco bin company and when he gets too busy, I imagine it would be hard to find someone to run the service for free.

I'm off to find the old man's campsite again, was in Janis 2 years ago and it was fine apart from a few friends nearby who got robbed. 2 friends got loyalty in Eco and now will likely have to walk out to us to our campsite. I'd be surprised if there were more than 200 tickets up this morning, I'm sure the loyalty gang would have filled it to the brim.

Showing my vintage here @rubick but in 1986 I just rocked up at the gate and paid £17 in cash. Three years later I got a ticket two days beforehand. No issues until the mid-2000s, even 2003 with an astonishing lineup was no bother. I’ve only got lucky once in the past nine years so whatever cheating yerself and @desk tidy are up to I’d ask that you please disclose. 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fanirish

there is a half a dozen reasons why a band chooses a headline show over a festival. Especially when they headlined a festival here last summer.
    hate to break to ya but likelihood of James or equivalent artists playing electric picnic in 2024 or in the future is extremely limited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭glennponder

Was actually confident they would have been added considering they had no other gig here, sickening.....Monday evening the weekend after EP too, couldn't be a worse time for a gig

Why would you say that regarding future likelihood? Not borne out by recent bookings.
    James are in the same category as Pixies, Waterboys, Johnny Marr, Bright Eyes, Lightning Seeds and others. Acts of that ilk will continue to be booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

At the point where we need to ‘make the best’ of the lineup, but need the actual full lineup, July is too late for an August festival!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭rockterrain

There is nothing stopping a band of James' ilk playing festivals on two consecutive years. In fact, they no doubt do it already across Europe. There is a trend here, it's not just James. Our tier one festivals are poor by international standards and promotors are taking cream on top by capitalising on the fact our main festival with tepid headliners is sold out, booking these acts separately. It's one reason, not half a dozen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

EP don't have to worry about booking big names. It sells out anyway as Irish people appear to suffer from FOMO more than any other nation on Earth, which is why they can sell out festivals before announcing a single headliner.

It'll happen again next year.