Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Goin back to the more mundane stuff - What's with the OB crews down at Leinster house or Govt buildings for the political reports - or Reynolds standing outside Garda HQ?

Here's Paul Cunningham at the Dail last eve at 9.05pm - 'Go into the fookin studio Paul, there's nobody in the Dail' - Send the camera/lighting/sound/producer guys home and take them off the late night OB crew rate

PC rte ob.jpg

Here's Dyane out at Crooksling at 9.05pm tonight where nothing is happening at the moment - 'Go into the fookin studio Dyane,' - Send the camera/lighting/sound/producer guys home and take them off the late night OB crew rate

Dyane.jpg

And Micheal L at 9.10pm tonight (see Paul Cunningham above) I saw Micheal outside Govt buildings at 9pm on a Sunday night recently

Micheal L.jpg

Criminal waste of taxpayers money - 2 min reports with 4/5 people getting paid to make/transmit it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭RoTelly

So here we have the drip feed of the reports : -

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2024/0502/1446954-rte-reports/

The report spins it for them

1. some criticism of previous external auditors but found that no one gained personally from RTÉ's controversial barter account.
    2. Two payments of €150,000 were made to former RTÉ presenter Ryan Tubridy through the barter account in 2022. The use of the barter account meant the cost to RTÉ was more than €230,000

2 contradict one, I don't always mention Mr. Tubs in relation to this but he and his agent clearly gained personally from the controversial barter account.

1. There is a recommendation that Government should legislate to provide a more certain funding stream for RTÉ.

How has funding got anything to do with good governance or corporate culture?

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

So Tubs owes 300k back, rather then the 150k as initially thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,482 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,353 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

That's been known for a long time. It's very expensive to cash out of a barter account and rte lost a lot of money cashing this out to pay tubs

So Tubs revised RTE earnings were still 150k too low? 665k rather than the reported 515k?

Yes, I read it as costing an additional 230k on top of the 300k Tubs received, less NK's cut. So the cost to the tax payer was 530k.

RTÉ made a mistake in the report, they mean he got 2 payments of 150k !

______

Yesterday

I say this in full knowledge that I am either

1. Giving them more credit on what they actually gave Tubs
    2. That RTÉ have made an error in their reporting of the amounts made

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I wonder would a Eurovision win give RTE a get out of jail card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Kingslayer

I don't think they want to win, it would cost a fortune to host next year if we did, which would bring all the current financial jiggerypokery back into the public view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭ForestFire

But surely they could reuse the Toy Show Backdrops and costumes….

And Of course, Tubs owes them 2 appearance dates (As Renault sure as hell aren't useusingem now)🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Kingslayer

He could be a backing dancer next year in his lobster suit. Did he ever dress up as a lobster or was that a fever dream?

No hopefully it would result in RTÉ having to except BBC coming in and hosting it as they have done in the past for other broadcasters, in 1994 they offered to host the show for RTÉ. It'd be great to see the Eurovision in Belfast IMO. After the titanic centre looks like a Eurovision set.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

at this stage i dont think rte could host a good shite without it costing millions…

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,463 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I expect if we did win, and Belfast \ BBC co-production not a runner - the Government would step in with a once off subvention covering the cost of the Eurovision, turn it into a "Gathering" type tourism promoting event.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,493 ✭✭✭Damien360

Ireland is not winning the Eurovision so don’t be worrying about hosting the thing next year.

Shared Tourism etc etc

Anyway AFAIK "the big five" now pay for most of the Eurovision, its just hosted by the winning country, I don't think "SVT" in Sweden carry the massive burden of hosting the event, I am not sure how it works but I don't think the host country is a Financially open to the event as RTÉ had been in the 1970s (1 out of 10), 1980s (2 out of 10) and 1990s (4 out of 10).

Still like Bishop Brennan RTÉ need a good kick up the arse…. **** it, the government should turn to TG4 and let them host it in Galway, by way of stepping in with a once of subvention…. even worst give the money to Virgin Media TV!

Either way I just want to see RTÉ shamed because I see all of this being massively being brushed under the carpet.

You know RTÉ talk about people being proud again of RTÉ, I am sorry but did they notice the uptake of cable in the country or the aerials point to NI and Wales, I wonder why people did that, because they were so satisfied at a 5 O'Clock start to RTÉ! "Oh but we've no money" same old **** story from RTÉ.

______

Yesterday

I don't we will make it into the Final but I hope I am wrong and you are wrong, not out of want to win the Eurovision but to put the boot in.

The scene in father ted where the Producer is popping champagne is RTÉ on everything Comedy (pop the champagne we don't have to produce comedy Channel 4 will do it for us, you know they were offered Father Ted 😉 )

______

Yesterday

So they made a change to the report: -

Payments were made to former RTÉ presenter Ryan Tubridy through the barter account in 2022. The use of the barter account meant the cost to RTÉ was more than €230,000.

It will be interesting to see if it turns out when the report is published that Tubs got 300k and not 150k and this is just for 2022, what happened in 2021?

From the Irish Times (also not how they retain the idea that in effect Renault paid the first 75k, when Renault paid RTÉ meaning it became RTÉ money and then when to Tubs). Sorry it say in effect RTÉ paid it because the gave the credit note to Renault for advertising, even without it they paid Tubs.

The question then is did RTÉ wait until 2022 to make 2 150k payments, and up to 2020 they didn't use the barter account for such transactions in 2020 or 2021?

image.png
    Post edited by RoTelly on

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭csirl

Om the Eurovision, is the reason a lot of other tv stations wont vote for us due to them being exposed to the callibre of executivre from RTE that we've seen exposed?

The DG of Eurovision (aka EBU) is the former DG of RTÉ Noel Curran, and Husband to a Eurovision winner! So no! He prob had a convo with Kevin B, "I'll fix the result Kevin, just like the old days when you were my Deputy".

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,353 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Looks like they're kite flying the rte funding solution this weekend. A revenue collected fee but reduced from €160 and a top up exchequer payment.

I'm not happy at all with that - worst of all worlds.

It is the strangest thing I have heard. Reduce the fee from €160, to what? and how much of a top up? Where does An Post sit with all of this, Mr. McRedmond is very quite on his inability to collect the fee that he want to control.

______

Yesterday

Dee not available to 'help' with report on RTE Allowances.

"The allowances include payments to staff for long service, acting up in senior roles and what are described in the report as a “role-related allowance”. The report also found allowances can vary from permanent to temporary payments and can apply to entire sections, or on an individual basis to certain staff members."

"Ms Forbes has refused to cooperate with any of the reviews into her time as director general, citing an on-going illness as preventing her from answering questions."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,482 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

How can an illness prevent you from answering a few questions?

Unless it's affecting your mouth working.

Absolute chancer of the highest order, and symptomatic of all that's wrong in the likes of rte. Pity people couldn't legally have their pensions etc stopped until they cooperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

RTE was always a cesspit of 'obscure practices' kept firmly within the organisation, and those eating at the top table and the ancillary players.

Place should have been 'scoped out' long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

No reason it will stop either.

Completely disgraceful but willingly accepted by the Irish public.

There was zero deterrent for her to do whatever she wanted to do in her role at RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,775 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Baffles me there isn't a full on fraud investigation at this point. Harris is in their pockets, it's in the publics interest for an investigation to be completed on RTE so will never happen. At the very least, it's False Accounting:

False accounting.

10.—(1) A person is guilty of an offence if he or she dishonestly, with the intention of making a gain for himself or herself or another, or of causing loss to another—

(a) destroys, defaces, conceals or falsifies any account or any document made or required for any accounting purpose,

(b) fails to make or complete any account or any such document, or

(c) in furnishing information for any purpose produces or makes use of any account, or any such document, which to his or her knowledge is or may be misleading, false or deceptive in a material particular.

(2) For the purposes of this section a person shall be treated as falsifying an account or other document if he or she—

(a) makes or concurs in making therein an entry which is or may be misleading, false or deceptive in a material particular, or

(b) omits or concurs in omitting a material particular therefrom.

(3) A person guilty of an offence under this section is liable on conviction on indictment to a fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 10 years or both.

• This content has been removed.