Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

A good politician would make 3x as much money in the business world without any of the hassle.

Any of the director level professionals in multinationals would easily earn 10 times a politicians/ministers salary without any intrusion in one's private life.

https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2024/0312/1437440-former-glanbia-boss-siobhan-talbot-to-receive-1-14m/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

what’s with your chip on the shoulder about the man. Almost sounds personal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,056 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I got pink milk- well it's not pink, the carton is pink- in aldi last night, date 8th April. Used it in a cup of coffee, it was rank. Then tried tea, horrible. Horrible taste. Normally fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

It's all mostly begrudgery, You get very few sensible proposals from the general public ,

I Hope, like me, that Coveney has learnt to ignore all the rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,037 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Would most Dairy farmers buy milk in a shop? We always drank our own cows milk here years ago, when we had dairy cows.

I milked a suckler cow yesterday by hand for a neighbour to tube a calf. Amazing how you never loose the skill. I used to milk a cow for the house for a few years after we got out of dairying.

What ever he does next I wish the man luck. We are fast running out of capable people to run our country. The party missed a trick in choosing their last leader and I’ve a feeling the new man won’t steady the ship either

Ye, we've bought milk for years. Stopped using tank milk when cows got tb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Jack98

Harris is the fall guy for the next election, the mass exodus of sitting tds announcing they weren’t running again ever before Leo stood down…the writing was on the wall for a poor election next time around. Take the hit and when they start to rebuild Harris will get over thrown fairly swiftly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭50HX

Hard to beat the creaminess of it

Except for the first week or 2 when the go to gras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

The Killeshin/Jersey milkis now available in dunnes ive seen recently powerful stuff altogether. Black label bottle. I find with it too that the bottle nearly swells up a bit a day before the best before date i reckon its because its not processed near as much as the conventional stuff.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,259 ✭✭✭orm0nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,675 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Coveney always seems a square decent sort of a lad, I’d say he’d be reliable to have in your corner, probably not exciting enough to make party leader, maybe if he was in a lesser party.

FG seem to be faltering now and with an election on the cards it’s not a good time. I suppose back to their roots of a city party, there was never much in them for country folk.

Is it likely next government would need to be a FF/SF/FG coalition. I presume nobody with brain cells would give the Greens a vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭older by the day

It's gas, we are to busy farming to eat our own food. Like a neighbour of mine who sat potatoes a few years ago said when they grew, he didn't have the time to dig them.

We were always almost self sufficient up to the naughties. My wife would not touch milk from the tank, we gave up the pigs, and up to lately it was cheaper to buy vegetables than growing them. But I set early potatoes and cabbage, lettuce, easy things to get going

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Hard to beat a set of 'bottle tits' eh patsy. 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Seemed to have alot of "Dodgy" friends too - some of which he appointed to state Boards like ABP which led to recent planning scandals. His brother didn't exactly cover himself in glory either via the cushy number he got in RTE, then having to resign over recent scandal

PS - The Ditch media posted a recent pic of a FG candidate selection convention, hard to pic anyone younger than 70 out in the audience, probably why so many folks under 40 struggling with cost of living issues which this government has mostly ignored, are going to opposition parties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Eh? Sorry Simon, I was only joking, didn't realise it actually was you! I hope you didn't get mountainy lambs anyway?

Are you replying to someone else or thinking of some other post? I was replying to post that ended with "Discuss", I didn't realise only eulogies were allowed.

And running who down? I didn't say one word about his personality or integrity, only his ability and lifestyle. As for everyone???

Two examples of Simon in office,

As minister for ag he brought in supposedly temporary emergency rendering restrictions that handed control of the Irish beef industry to Larry Goodman.

As Minister for Housing, he had 64 meetings with the construction industry representatives, and 3 with social housing groups.

I was obviously never too impressed with Simon, and contrary to other some opinions expressed I'd say he'd have done alright in regular life but without the confidence, connections, and opportunities his background could have granted him, I couldn't have seen him set the world alight as some predicted.

Any politician I've come across who had business acumen had no issue running the two side by side, but most aren't up to much more than any normal Joe.

I'm actually quite happy to praise politicians and have defended individuals from cheap characters shots here a few times, but maybe not the right ones for you?

BTW I've given 30 odd years as a volunteer here in social, sports, agricultural, advisory, and development organisations thanks for asking, but assume and throw muck away for yourself.

What chip? As posted above, I just wouldn't be his biggest fan, he doesn't seem to be short of a few cheerleaders anyway, and more power to him. I'd hardly be posting an off hand comment and joke on here about someone that I had a personal issue anyway!

Your Yorkie bar joke is around since I was a child and as you know about his yacht trip why didn’t you say why he went on it as you seem to know a lot about the man. As I said it sounds personal

Most people under forty or indeed in this country wouldn't be bothered serving in government …… is it lazyness , I'd assume so. .

You can get into politics and work for the good of everyone now by just putting in a bit of effort.

Like the meath farmers being the cream of irish farming …….Rich and Thick.

I'll get my coat

He got a lot of money for charity out of that trip as well as it being his hobby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Yep - a big bunch of wasters that lot. Lucky we are blessed with so much "talent" in the Dail over the years….🙄

At least they put themselves forward for the positions.

They have to be admired for dealing with the general level of the Irish Population, the abuse, and the destructiveness of people, you can have nothing nice in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭148multi

Reckon Harris is going for the younger vote, he's more into social media and in fairness seems to want to get work done.

More of a push to him when he was covering for McEntee

• Registered Users Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@wrangler I ll take offence to that... as I know I am not rich... as for the thick bit I ll let others decide... Maybe I am am, as trying to be a part time farmer at the minute isn't easy.. but the thickness in me will probably keep me at it...

Sure didn't I tell you that, "when my older brother was I school", ffs.

I know nothing at all about the man other than what would be common knowledge about any other high profile politician of any party.

The only one who it sounds personal with is yourself

That's an old joke about meath farmers, I was at a wedding in meath fifty years ago where the rector said in his speech that the family were the cream of the country etc etc so the joke is that old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,314 ✭✭✭Grueller

Yes, the young people under 40, which would include a lot of my friends. I am 42 so am blessed to have a chance of a work ethic by being born two years earlier.

The same under 40s, many of whom rise at 5.30 en masse around here to drive to Dublin, returning at 7.30 in the evening. If they had any work ethic they would then go out and do a bit for a political party in the hope of getting a nomination ahead of someone from a dynasty family, rather than looking after their young family or doing a bit of housekeeping etc.

The aukd sh1te you throw out about the younger generation at every opportunity is getting old wrangler. I assume you do realise that the generation before you said the same about your generation? The world didn't get any worse over the last 40 years. Are your own children over 40 or under it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Clear test this morning thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭enricoh

Big loss to fine Gael, Coveney, pascal and griffin in Kerry were the only ones I'd pay heed to n 2 of them are jacking.

These lads are heading off into the sunset (or maybe Brussels leo!) . Imo the corporation tax Klondike was totally squandered n hopefully it's not a case of them jumping ship before the s#£t hits the fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,712 ✭✭✭White Clover

MMy fear is that we will rue the squandering of the Corp tax. Has anyone seen those figures lately?

• They do it for the large salary, the expenses, the holidays and let's not forget the pensions. A good politician never makes it to the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,930 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I heard someone say being Smart does not mean being Intelligent. And being Intelligent only means you can be Intelligent in one way as there's different types of Intelligence.

I wasn't sure if he was being Smart or Intelligent with that so put it down to being Wise.

Salary isn't that good compared with what's available for running a company and the way the quality of life is affected.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Only one real auld fella working on site with us hed be 60 plus then one fella in his 50s and three in there 40s out of a team of 30 the rest of us are under 40 with a good few of us under 30 aswell even. Today when the real auld fella knocks off at 1630 most of us will stay going till 1800 after being here since 0700 this morning, the auld fella clocking in at 8. Looks to me the younger generation are carrying this job from what i can see. Its on the road for 0530 here with me every morning and usually 1900-1930 ubtil im back moat evenings. N

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mayota

All playing anyway hard for any of us to be winning with the way the countrys being ran. Im definitly not winning, 4 years back working in the country this month and im not entitled to the PRSI benefits, ive paid €300 in tax most weeks this year so far an awful lot to be paying into a pot that i get nothing out of. Not to mention delays n getting qualified which is leaving me out of pocket all due to bad management and organisation from pen pushers working for government agencies, if they had to suffer the same % on their loss of earnings as the delayed apprentices they wouldnt be long getting it back on track. Tis no wonder most of us with no major committments to here are going to be getting on a plane out of here next year.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭enricoh

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/121973423#Comment_121973423Down a mere 28.6% on this time last year! It wasn't just squandered, there'll be big bills coming in as a result of it.

https://gript.ie/asylum-accommodation-cost/

€2.1 BILLION PAID OUT IN ASYLUM ACCOMMODATION PAYMENTS FOR THE WHOLE OF 2023

Landed home in April 2020, government imposed lockdowns meant i wasnt allowed start the job i had lined up. Had a job to get home, government were of no assistance whatsoever and i wasnt entitled to any assistance when i did get home. Door was left wide open for two years here and plenty of assistance provided to the new arrivals who landed here. That prick varadkar even had the cheek a few years back to say he was all about the people that get up early in the morning, hes helped create a reliance on social welfare before he packed it in.

Better living everyone

This looks great and could be easily done

And climb in the window when you've them off?🤔

😉

Seriously that's always my q about outside wellie stands, how to get in and out of them with dry feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭Jb1989

You can't. Winters day you'd have no comfort. Either inside back door or garage, anything but that idea.

You could put it inside or leave your slippers upside down on it while you're wearing the wellies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,083 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Prob is u don't want to touch a dirty welly withbuour hand when yer leaving or coming in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,675 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The woman is simply telling ye lads, not to be bringing yere muddy boots into the house. Whelan is being too subtle, with the message😁

If we even thought of bringing mucky wellies into the house my mother would have the wooden spoon out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Most dairy farmers don't get dirty wellies in any case.

Moccasin's are more than adequate around the yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Did anyone just see that they wheeled out a woman from the farmers journal for about 3 mins at most to talk about weather crisis on agriculture. I suppose we can be thankful that they didnt mention climate change in those 3 mins. I couldnt believe that they wrapped up the program within a few mins of bringing her on.

That was some finish to the Chelsea Manchester United game, worth staying up for