Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar resigns as Taoiseach

• Registered Users Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The calibre of FG TDs is quite poor all in all.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,716 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

That's an ironic statement considering it was the media (foreign and domestic) that made the most noise about those 2 points when he became Taoiseach. That and his youth.

(feel free to Google. It's cringe worthy)

The vast majority of people don't give a toss which is a credit really to how far we've come in the past 20/30 years.

However Leo himself had no issue playing it up on national radio during the SSM referendum (something that only a few years earlier he was in the Dail expressing concerns about) when he came out in order to boost his popularity and chances of succeeding Enda.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,079 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

When you get to the hospital, the real waiting begins. Not to mention, the horrific experience, on all sides, of witnessing people on trolleys in hallways. Or, slumped in chairs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Fine Gael TD Josepha Madigan has unexpectedly resigned as Junior Minister and announced she will not seek reelection.

Living the life

• Registered Users Posts: 41 foxhunter2024

She wouldn’t get the vote count not even on a fifteen count.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,719 ✭✭✭growleaves

• Registered Users Posts: 12,095 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

This.

Look at the Irish Cancer Society example today raising money for cancer care nurses, and drivers to take people to and from treatment every day.

Why do charities have to do fundraise for money for jobs that should be available to everybody anyway?

Government funding doesn't cover every essential service which is hard to understand in our so called wealthy country.

If people want to defund NGOs etc they need to have a bit of cop on and make sure they know what they are talking about first.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NSAman

Only one issue with that, from personal experience. The Golden Hour is lost in Ireland, due to lack of investment in the Ambulance system.

Ambulances are taking upwards of an hour to get to patients in emergency (I know from personal experience in the past few weeks)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,419 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

There's that phrase 'FG Choirboys' and it's so true that it's funny. There's been a wee procession this last day or so, all sound much the same and all on song with the same choreographed message. Of course, Harris is/was one of them so they must be pleased among themselves.

Personally I don't find them appealing or convincing though.... when you hear the Ringer or Bruton come on, you'd pay a bit more notice.

And people from Clonmel then have to drive to Cork or Waterford because Clonmel is stuffed to the gills with that overflow.

Its not more or spread around specialist services needed, I agree with those posters, but without more beds and step down services in the system for Limerick it just puts pressure on every area around.

People travelling to Galway as well instead of UHL

" Elon Musk caling him out "... enough to make anyone go off the deep end alright 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭suvigirl

No answers then. Ignore your posts if they don't mean anything. Pointless

• Registered Users Posts: 27,226 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Wasn't talking about the vast majority of people, was talking about the people on here and other social media who are most upset at him going, they are the ones losing their favourite mixed-race homosexual target. Whether it is 0.001% of the population or around 20% as I believe, it isn't the vast majority of people.

I also believe that the toxic effect of that 20% has led him to conclude that he is an electoral liability for being mixed-race and homosexual.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

What is clear is that Ireland has become a toxic place, full of pessimism, mistrust, vulgarness, petty point scoring and outright meanness.

History will be kind to Leo I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

Good to see Godwin"s second law being proven in abundance

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭animalinside

Believe it or not you're not the only person actually reading my posts, perhaps others understand them.

It's really quite stupid of you to assume I am available to answer any sort of vague questions of any random poster here about anything I have written. Are you confusing this with an AMA?

Instead of simply ignoring you I decided to be polite and respond back respectfully that the post stands as-is and if you don't get it there's no need to worry about it. I guess I shouldn't have bothered.

You thanked at least one of my posts before, so I guess you do understand some of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,719 ✭✭✭growleaves

So you believe Leo Varadkar has been bullied out of public life by a section of the Irish public?

I don't believe it. It looks like he was pushed out by the parliamentary party and not because is a 'mixed-race homosexual' but because FG want a fresh slate before the next run-up.

He's an electoral liability because his seven years at the top of Irish politics (I'm counting his time as Taoiseach and Tanaiste together) is enough for people to feel like they've had their fill. Most people are just sick of him by this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭a2deden

I dont think it has really, you just hear more idiots these days with social media and the echo chamber that exists in it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭suvigirl

So, you cannot explain you own posts on here. Why would anyone take any notice?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,973 ✭✭✭✭rob316

It's the same as ever it's just we have the Internet now

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

You are talking about paddy and if that clown has anything he would have released it the minute he had it….he is all noise

People want to rent, some want to buy, restricting down the rental market overnight will fix things how?

plus the majority of houses are bought by people to live in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Northernlily

You can't deny it doesn't exist outside it either. Politicians openly being confronted aggressively on the streets with cameras shoved in their faces or at their homes. I believe a lot of that is driven by social media.

Dangerous times.

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭a2deden

Oh i dont disagree at all, i just feel the idiots didnt previously have access to the instagram/X/etc likes that they get for acting like fuckheads like they do now

My point was they have always been here, its just now they have a platform to show how thick they are

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Varadkar resigning doesnt signal the end of anything, other than his leadership of FG.

Nice story though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Irish net migration is close to zero.

For every irish person that leaves, another irish person returns.

Broadly speaking, about 30k people migrating and immigrating, annually.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

You've played the fake homophobia card before many times Blanch. And it's always clear you have no idea what you're talking about. Did you campaign in the marriage equality referendum yourself because yours truly did and I have been very critical of Leo. He has been an immense disappointment after that utter clown, the heterosexual Enda Kenny. Change the record.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

It was big news at the time, especially for a country like Ireland which is seen as a white, catholic country. He was a young, gay, Irish with links to India. Not sure how people wouldn't think it is big news?

WHat has followed from people online can only be describing as a f**king disgrace and a blight on this country

Anyone saying otherwise should also be shamed of themselves.

As I have said many times, I never voted for Leo, never voted for FG, I didn't agree with his decision on children hospital etc etc but I can still point that out

Not sure what the "vast majority" comment is in regards to, yes the vast majority didn't but that doesn't cover up for the carry on across all forums and unfortuneatly boards was also involved in that. Looking back you had people creating account names in his partners name, all sort of crazy stuff going on and it was let go ahead.

Then the best some will come out with, of it wasn't homophobic.

As I said a lot of people should be ashmaed of themselves but they won't, will make up some excuse and continue on. Then they wonder why the government are looking at online hate? if they can do that type of thing to someone they don't know or never have met, what are they doing to people they know and fall out with?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

The real world had no issue with Leos background or being gay. The online is becoming lopper by the day and the loppers have less and less relivance they are working themselves in to a crescendo talking to each other that's all.

He is yesterdays news at this stage

• Registered Users Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭tom23

Exactly. This narrative that politicians are been bullied out of office doesn’t cut the mustard with me. Yes they get abuse and it’s completely wrong and shouldn’t happen. For the most part they have a team to help protect them from the worse of it. Leo played the social media game better than anyone. They knew the pitfalls that that comes with that territory.

Id say Leo was pushed and maybe for the first time he had a sense of that it was time to go. History will judge his track record. Personally he was disappointment after Enda Kenny who really had a chance to transform this country and how it does politics. varadker leaves a country deeply divided over housing, health and immigration.

I don’t expect much from Harris. But listening to Frank Flannery today about how is mentored by Phil Hogan who for me represents the worse of Fine Gael arrogance leaves me with the thought that the more things change the more they stay the same.