Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Youtubers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Danny healy ray

has the farmer any law to get in this situation I for one wouldn't be going for the gate have spent a ball of hard earned money on a place she could pay me for my work done on the place or il continue to rent it for the four see able future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Tileman

Thats the law. U can’t stay as a tenant at the expiry of the contract just because u did it up. U know going into it and spending money what the rules of the game are. Obviously very hard to take especially in farmer Phil case but otherwise it would be complete carnage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cjpm

there is a thing called f off money its in all aspects of letting she wanted them out because they wouldn't mind her horse hardly under condition of the original contract

yea she wanted them to mind the horse as part of condition of renewing the lease not of the old one. Different thing. If u overstay ure lease u are no better than the scumbadlgs who don’t pay their rent for houses and landlords have to wait for years to get them out.

thanks for that so kind if she payed some way towards fencing that she has for her horse I would gladly go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Suckler

She is entitled to say no and close the gate on your way out.

She didn’t ask you in this hypothetical case to do fencing. You choose to do it. and at the end of the lease you are now asked to vacate it. Annoying but that’s just the way it is.

• I'd be lifting the stakes and rolling up the wire no matter what hardship it would be. She must've been some miserable ould git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Aravo

Surely this is a good example of what was agreed. If one agreed to rent it as is then there you go. If it's fenced and reseeded or whatever then who will pay for this. Can it be put against rent. All goes back to what was agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Suckler

Trouble starts when valuing the fence or the pipe etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭farmerphil135

In the heel of the hunt the landlady was entitled to do what she done the lease was up and it was never mentioned to renew it.

I was naive, wet behind the ear, fresh out of college with grand notions of how to farm efficiently. Everything was kosher with the lease some allowance was made on the rent to tidy the farm (tho not to the extent I went) and we thought we’d be set for a long time there as we put in a hellish effort to straighten out the farmers affairs for his sister after he went into a nursing home but I Spent too much to bring the farm into shape for the length of the lease and got burned. Learned my lesson spending more than the minimum is only benifiting them not you. Not our 1st rodeo with leased land and probably not our last. My uncle got caught where he leased land he’d been renting in grass to turn to tillage for 7 years. After 2 years we got a notice to reseed and vacate the landlord had got a dodgy solicitor to back date the lease 5 years and the following year a freshly reseeded farm hit the market nothing we could do about it.

the more I thought about the plan from last spring the more I got cold feet. The current thinking is to redo the hay shed/lean to into a purpose built calf shed extend its footprint and design it so there’s a viewing platform or area where visitors to the new farm shop can view the calves in the shed or out on the lawn We’re at the very early stages of designing as there’s 2 routes to go with the shed and we’ve to visit a few places to see what we think will work

😂no I’m classed as an old farmer now 1st five years you have to make use of the young farmers grants. All I got out of tams as a young farmer is a dribble bar tanker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Capra

Is that not a contradiction there? Do it once and do it right....but buy cheap 4 " stakes and strainers? If you buy cheap stakes you are not doing it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

@farmerphil135 ye are doing a fantastic job on the 1200. I wasn't expecting to see a full nut and bolt restoration when it was pulled into the work shop. A lot of credit goes to Lee too, he is very handy with the spray gun. Really looking forward to seeing the final product, and seeing it ploughing in a video. I know space in the workshop is at a premium, but do ye have any plans to do something to the 2725 in the future? My mechanical knowledge is very limited, but I do enjoy videos of lads ripping at machines.

Only for Lee i couldn’t see it getting done as quick. Trying to keep him in the shed to push hard to have it done before we get busy tilling.

we’re still waiting on the doors to be remade for the 2725 and we intend on doing a bit with it to dicky it up but probably not a nut and bolt as it looks pretty good original. Next project in the workshop will be decided by the viewers for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

The Killen bros series on FarmFLiX is very good. Just shows you what can be achieved by working together.

All 20 odd of the vintage/classic will be on the list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭visatorro

Must be money in this contracting craic when you see the money spent on machinery. Couple of lads round me getting very big with second harvesters etc. Wonder how many lads left cutting 1000 acres. Bit like a lad milking 30-40 cows, thing of the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Their working like dogs in fairness, couple of them are fair shook looking for their age, it's not a great lifestyle been full tilt 365

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Aravo

Saw some fine machinery at a parade today. No doubt it's on some hire agreement.

things a bit different in ni. You can right off a new tractor or shed fully in one year where as we have to do it over 7 years down here. Which is why you see so many sheds on farms and machinery

they also have a lot of irons in the fire with 500 + cows plus all followers and an AD plant and there’s 7 invested interests there to make sure it all works. As one of the brothers said it’s not that we’re making a load of money they’re just turning over alot of big money every year and it’s a big pie

Yeah they’re fair sloggers. Old school way of operating. I’d say the goal is for them all to have a farm off there own so it doesn’t end up that cousins have to farm together and that’s when things get messy

my parents would know of a family who operated in a similar fashion and have accumulated a lot of land in the last 50-60 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭kk.man

Adrian had great vid today and nice respite from this biblical weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

In all fairness they are some operators and have serious farm business and have a great herd of cows, get through some work. They all seem to know their work and get along so well, know of 3 brothers contracting and 3 sons involved and farming together and work hard with a lot of land as well. As the main man says get up in the morning early and day will follow and no need for dark work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The days of the above are a pipe dream in all fairness, what's needed alone their every month for hp payments and wages would be eye-watering

• This writing off a tractor in one year is not as good as it sounds, if you buy a tractor for 100k and write it off in year 1 and sell it for 60k in year 3 you are making a tax profit of 60k and pay back the tax profit in your return in year 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cjpm

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• They run a fresh fleet so are obviously disposing of the older ones, when they do dispose a tax clawback occurs unless they give the old one away for free which is not happening as they use expensive tractors. See my example above.

100% tax write-offs are purely a cashflow benefit, if it’s an asset that you will sell in the medium term and the asset will be worth more than zero then you will have a tax payback decision. The problem for lots of people is they think this is a permanent tax savings and spend and then don’t have the cash.

Similar down south with normal machinery 8yr write off, unless the machinery is worth zero at year 8 then there is a tax payback. Big issue with tractors holding strong value so you then have dealers trying to “manage” the trade in invoice by showing a large trade in value and reduced new tractor cost so the farmer doesn’t have a big tax bill, (eg 5y.o tractor, tax value €10k versus market value €20k, a €10k tax profit is crystallised at sale, dealer may say trade in was €15k reducing immediate tax profit down to €5k but knock on is a lower cost new tractor to depreciate).

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Anyone watch Sam shutt farming. She is some woman to work. The husband is a pure pig.