Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Youtubers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Jack98

Their yard would put grasstec’s videos to shame one person wouldnt even break a sweat during the day there with 150 cows once breeding is done every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

You can’t go by dung deal for average weight of dairy beef, the average weight per age over a scales in a mart up and down the country is a more accurate barometer, in the video some them heifers were different sizes and age also, what age were the bigger heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭DBK1

They’ve a great setup alright.

They’d be very good to any students that are there too, it’d be a great spot for a student to learn.

They’d always be very helpful with advice and all to anyone else thinking of getting into dairying or anything like that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Don’t want to be critical Phil. I like your channel and how you’ve carved out another income stream from it

but they’re behind target and its going to impact on there kill out this time next year

when you’re relying on those animals to make a profit for 2 enterprises they really need to be best they can be and you should be following target weights for the breed, not going by DoneDeal weights

again don’t want it to seem like I’m putting you down, you’ve a lot going on but they’re very important stock particularly when you’re relying on them to make a profit on your grains and those weaklings being behind weight going into the shed and still being behind now is certainly impacting carcass weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭divillybit

Fair play to Phil taking on with the extra ground. Phil could do with bringing Father Phil's daewoo digger to the new out farm. It's do a much better job of tidying up the hedges and plenty of other jobs it would be needed for. Maybe get a demo tree shears for the track machine and it'd be a great job for tackling those hedges and good video content. There seems to be a good bit of grass trampled compared to the damage the track machine would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭leoch

Yea and the daewoo would be a great post or strainer knocker aswell for fencing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

10th Generation Dairyman is a channel I'm watching more and more. Nice guy, no waffle with him. Some of those channels have guys talking on and on about nothing. The making of that concrete silo is crazy.

10th Generation Dairyman - YouTube

• Agree with that but it’s interesting that you mention no waffle, him and his family are very religious, he tried to introduce this into one of his videos about a year ago, in a sort of campaigning way but comments all told him to drop that angle and he hasn’t mentioned it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭jaymla627

It will be fascinating to see how it turns out, you can see his reasons for doing it, but commercially without his youtube money it wouldn't be feasible, he's Americas version of Tom premberton re dairy projects but alot tastier operators

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Speaking of Tom P, He's not happy with the fiberglass flaking off the corners of the parlour. It was an absolutely shocking finished, Spoiled the new parlour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭fulldnod

Absolute madness, 8k🫣 It's looks shite from the first day, far better getting pvc sheets and a tenth of the cost, making too much handy money of yt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

What is the story with fibre glassing walls? Is it a UK regulation? Any parlour I've seen in Ireland just had plastered unpainted walls. I thought the fibre glass laid over un plastered walls looked dreadful from day 1

No regulation, just aesthetics and easier cleaning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Well in that case spending 8.5k on what he got seems mental. Plaster and a few buckets of paint would have been twice the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭minerleague

A good few of the american channels seem religious and "God fearing"

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

He's a weird chap to make out, probably has the guts of 700k spent on the yard/parlour and it still looks like a bombsite, clamping the maize in the dung pit really showed what kind of clown show they are running, will do the summer pricking around with pig reels and temporary fences and play the poor mouth when the farm would of been paddocked/watered and roadways in for what money he's wasted on gimmicks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I could never make out that stuff on his farm. He has a fine cubicle shed and now a bug parlor but his messing around out on grass fields between poor grass management and getting stuff stuck in wet spots. His too old to be making silly mistakes like that, maybe it makes good content 🤷‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

In defence of Tom P, we are farming similar soil to him and while it gets very hard in summer, you're dealing with a wet muddy clay in wet weather. It could be up to 20 feet deep of a blue mud with no subsoil.

The water table might be only a foot under foot at times. This is wjy he never put in a slatted tank. Roads are also next to impossible to maintain. The just keep sinking into the ground.

Plus I suspect he's getting stuff for half nothing in exchange for free advertising.

To put up the shed he did and drives through shite is complete madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭leoch

Farmer Phils outfit is the same pricking about with electric fences surly posts strainers and wire is a much better job and time saving × 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Suckler

Your right but like myself it’s a case of “what can I do now and I’ll do the permanent solution when I’ve time”

It's should be a compulsory course in ag collage re been able to fence properly, was my number one goal here to have the entire farm fenced with high tensile wire and strainers/rachet tensioners etc, finally got the last bit tightened up this year some sense of satisfaction/peace of mind putting livestock into a field knowing they'll stay put 99% of the time bar a fence left off etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Nuts that they're still scraping out the cubicles with the tractor in a new shed like that. I guess he's hoping someone will give him a free robot at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭visatorro

Is the scraper tractor not a real English thing? The way the beef sheds are done aswell on a few places you'd see on YouTube. Bedded in the back and scraping out at the feed passage. Maybe straw is more plentiful but I can never understand the work that goes into it.

I made mistakes building here but I think he should have put in more units when he was at it. He seen the finish on the parlour walls in another parlour. Still mad money. In fairness he is after spending a lot of money to better the yard. Grasstec was doing something with him on paddocks. I'm not sure how I'd manage that ground and water everywhere tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Diarmuid B

grasstec mapped out the farm and that’s as far as that went. Remember he went to pre-mow for the cattle and cut enough for about 6 days🤣 that was the end of the smart paddock grazing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

It was thought to me when I did my stint. But I really think it’s in you to try be tidy or it’s not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭farmerphil135

It was compulsory when I was there and I done the same when I came home high tensile and treated posts on the home block, enough drinkers to break every field into 2 acre paddocks.

the 1st farm I rented when I came back from college 50 acre farm similar circumstances to the new farm no fences and one drinker next the yard cattle could ramble anywhere. I spent 30k cleaning it up,trimming back hedges, cleaning drains, cleared 8 acres of whins and white thorns. High tensile fence round every field treated posts, ploughed in pipes and drinkers to paddock the farm, reseeded more than the half of it. Took 3 years to get it into shape had it humming feeding 50bulls, 50 calves 10acres of tillage and cutting 20 acres of silage off it over 2 cuts The lease ran out at 5 years and the landlady fell out with my father over a bloody horse the landlady wanted us to mind. Needless to say we didn’t get it again and I said never again would I spend more than the bare minimum on rented ground. It may not look pretty but it does the same job at a fraction of the cost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭older by the day

It should be a compulsory course to teach old fellas that the wire should get a run of grazon 90. The odd time.

How many times have I helped lads fencing only to find a few years later bushes and briars have knocked the posts and wire. And the dumbass wondering why they had no shock

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Automatic scraper are a northern european thing. Not that common in the rest of the world especially in larger herds.they are generally seen as giving too much problems

Not been smart, if you valued your own time you'd fence the place once, and just do it right, pricking around with mild steel wire and pencil stakes every year....

2 men with a stake driver, would pound the world of stakes in a day, re cost, go with cheap 4 inch softwood stakes, and strainers, if your worried about losing the lease on rented land, it's a pet hate of mine to be fair, the ole chap always thought along your lines, now he's seen the benefits of doing a fence once and doing it right he'd happily spend a week fencing