Other hobbies/Obsessions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,993 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Very nice O1s1n! Some of the stuff you and the lads put together over on retro and arcade really is brilliant.

I was sorely tempted for a while by a Japanese 2 player sit down cab. Every visit to Level Up made buying seem a great idea. Tbh tho? I don't actually game enough at home to justify dropping the cash. No matter how good it would look in the Mancave 😉

I do get by with Retrox and that takes care of most of my retro needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,671 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Thanks! Yeah I kind of view it the same way as lads tinkering around inside Japanese import cars, keeps me busy and I've learned a lot about electronics along the way. So it's actually turned out to be a lot more than just gaming to me.

Just wish I had more space! (always the way, isn't it?)

I picked up a very nice selection of 1:72 Diecast planes and took delivery of them this morning.

Now 1 in particular does stand out, the model in the centre of this photo is a Northrop P61 Black widow, a late WW2 American take on the Night Fighter.

I knew it was big, but I never grasped just how different and large it truly is until I opened the box and saw it in comparison with other 1:72 including another large twin engine fighter in the P38.

IMG_20230425_101059~2.jpg

The P38 in this selection is going to be a little project. I plan on stripping the paint and decals and repainting as a P38 nicknamed "Grace" then I'll at least have the Mrs on the shelf too but won't be leaving her there 😉

20230425_105528.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭H_Lime

As I'm

Very cool indeed Banie, the P38 was a great plane, I had a model of one in long range escorts trim with drop tanks.

When you mentioned a P38 named Grace I immediately googled and disappeared down a rabbit hole of downed P38 over Papau New Guinea, but equally cool it's your missus's name:)

It's the end of an era for me today. Back in 2008 or so, I really got the bug for Satellite tinkering. Started off with cccam for 28.2e and evolved into chasing football matches and went from adding Spanish & German TV, into adding 6lnbs to my Triax TD88.

Anyway over the last 4yrs in particular I'm using my satellite set up less and less. Leading to making the decision to take down the dish and switch off the receiver. It's been wild, I learned loads and met some really smart people. The dish is now down, and the bracket will go as soon as I can find my 17mm socket.

FB_IMG_1705075866186.jpg FB_IMG_1705075916681.jpg FB_IMG_1705075969986.jpg FB_IMG_1705075883791.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭IrishPlayer

Hi All,

Hope everyone is doing well, being awhile since I posted anything, especially in this thread. Something that will interest a few on here, took a trip to the Brooklands Museum in Weybridge today. Absolutely fantastic place, especially anyone interested in aviation/ transport related. Would need at least four hours to see everything comfortably. There's also the Concorde experience which I didn't get a chance to do as it would have to been booked in advance. Not the cheapest place I've visited but worth the cost.

Some info on it along with pictures from my visit

Select "Oldest" to view in the correct order

A throwaway and to be honest, completely forgotten bid on a Shimura page by Colin MacNeil has seen me become the proud owner of this lovely bit of monochrome!

FB_IMG_1724506252914.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Ian OB

1000042860.jpg

Because its about time for my midlife crisis (and its slack enough at work to have the time).

I've commenced building an electric guitar. The body is two sheets of22mm OSB, neck is from a previous project that I never got around to, and other parts are from Temu.

1000042864.jpg

After foostering around for the day its now ready to be glued & clamped when I ho back to work after the weekend.

The eventual shape should be a flying v, but that could change. Single humbucker at the bridge, selector switch will be for use as an on/off instead.

NO volume or tone knobs!! 🤟🤟

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Fair play. That's quite a project

If you haven't already, check out Milehouse Studios on YouTube. Very amusing and highly instructional on guitar building.

Watching with interest!

Thanks for the tip. I'll check that out if theres going to be a 2nd one.

However, this is NOT intended to be a good result. Instead it'll be a ****, grungy looking yoke that will sound like nothing you have heard before (or will want to hear again).

1000043313.jpg

Headstock shaped.

1000043315.jpg

Body next. Pray for a steady hand

A flying V?!

Brill project your undertaking.

1000043324.jpg

Not only is it finished, it WORKS!!!🤘🤘

Total outlay on parts & materials came to under €40. Made it on work time so boss paid the labour.

Just have to finish taping the back of it & tune it up

Brilliant!
    Enjoy wailing on it with your Amp turned to 11!

Well, if you're going for it you may as well make it a cool one.

1000043320.jpg

There were some new words invented along the way.

The Mrs and the boy have done quite well for my birthday gifts this year!
    The Limerick Civil war book and the quite hard to find Polikarpov I-16 model will fit in nicely to both my wee library and my burgeoning 1:72 diecast airplane collection!
    The joy of my age catching up with my long held hobbies I suppose ;)

Screenshot 2025-11-14 194446.png

For ages now I've wondered what a #Strat would look like with a #Gibson neck. It would look rather splendid I'm sure you're thinking. And you would be correct.

No need to ask your GPT/AI of choice to produce an image, just scroll down a little bit more..

1000051700.jpg 1000051701.jpg

Coil split humbucker, jazz bass wiring loom, strat body, gibson style neck & bridge, recessed wiring.

Sounds class in fairness!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭doughef

Looks really cool ..kinda like a univox that Kurt cobain used to play

Is that a lil Marshall amp ?

I was certain I'd seen something like it before!! Now I know it wasn't a figment of my imagination.

Tested it with a couple of Nirvana & Therapy? riffs. 🤘🤘🎸

It sureley is, can't remember if its a 15w or 20w.

Aye, those wee Marshalls are crackers.

I have one for this old plank...

Untitled Image

A Jim Dunlop .73mm if I'm not mistaken. Great plectrums!!

Eagle-eyed!

Spot on!

I also have an old Yamaha FG700MS bought new and which my boys have broken the headstock on twice!

But a bit of spit and glue, some brute force and it all goes back.

EHSrRv[1].jpg

I don't mind the scars, so I don't want an invisible repair.

Untitled Image

I managed to pick up 2 die cast models that I've been hunting a long time today.
    A Mosquito FBIV and a Me110G-4.
    Both hard to find and I was delighted to pick them up in a batch I just bought.

Pics!

Used to work with a fella who had the entirety of his attic converted into something like beetlejuice with cast trains and car and toys. His breath of knowledge on the subject was the most impressive element to me.

I'll share them when they arrive.
    I'm debating a paint job on them both at the moment.
    The Me110 into Schnauffer's G4 and convert the Mossie into an NF.II but may just leave that one as is.

I also picked up a few other bits too including a Beaufighter, an F4-Kai and an AMX 😁

Call it a Valentine's day present to myself

I'd been hunting for one of these for a long time before one came up at a reasonable price.

wVj6Ti[1].jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I collect early cycling ephemera, books, cyclist maps, advertising etc.

IMG_20250715_140235.jpg

This book was published in 1916 about a cycle tour in France in late 1914 when the author managed to get close to the front before being arrested and ordered to leave.

The planes finally arrived yesterday.

My son may keep banging the "Dad's autistic" drum (I'm not)

I mean these are planes!
    Not trains 😉
    It's totally, totally different!
    These are the love of a lifetimes interest in aviation!Not wondering how timetables work 😜

The 3 twin engines will join my P61 BlackWidow as the basis of a wee twin engine WW2 night fighter collection sub section.

I may yet do a repainting job on my P38 into a "night lightning" yet too. I have a range of parts that will allow build a decent bash at the radar pod if I go down that route.

So the order today was a group including an Me110, Beaufighter, Mosquito, F4Jkai, AMX, Ju87 Stuka and a MiG17.

IMG_20260217_145415.jpg IMG_20230514_161728.jpg IMG_20230514_161750.jpg images.jpg

A little family shot of the twins.
    I do think I'll repaint the P38 & Mosquito into night fighter colours.
    I have a 2nd P38 so it will be nice to.have a finish other than Aluminium and nose art for that.
    For the Mossie, I may never pick up another one but I do think it needs to be an NF.

bdc672f7-30d7-4b5a-a45d-1081c80ff087.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Scan_20240327 (2).jpg Scan_20240327.jpg

Tips for Tricyclists 1887.

Professor Hoffman was the pseudonym of Angelo John Lewis (1839-1919) an English barrister who mainly wrote about conjuring and card tricks, not the kind of trickery a top lawyer would want to be associated with.