Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭straight

At least now you can wash the sh1t off whereas you can't wash that sh1t from the meetings off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Imagine him playing with Roy Keane in the team, the kicking wouldn’t be from the opposition. We have two teenage girls who since they could walk they have being out doors on farms, use to milk for a neighbour a couple of times a week and one would come to feed the calves in turn and he would help us watching cows for calving when we were in work, when lambing starts they were involved. Kids nowadays are very clever and see danger quicker than adults and won’t take risks, our kids spend more time in conversation with adult men since they we’re young that with other girls due to nature of farming. They are not into make up etc and enjoy life. The biggest problem is posh mummy who don’t want the kids outside getting dirty on the farm. No Xbox here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Jack98

It certainly did you’re two no harm so, have a neigbor here who brings his two girls 8 and 6 over one evening during the week to feed calves they’ve great interest and the oldest one would come into the parlour and even put clusters on cows most of them would be quite anyway and you’d be watching she’s used to it from her grandfathers place. It might slow down that evening but it’s great to have children around the place bringing great energy at a time when weeks can be long on the farm and gets them out of the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,699 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I've only every done it with a calf and that is place two fingers under the butt of their tail. There is an artery there where Vets used to draw the blood for brucellosis testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,861 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cushtie

Had the young one at a rugby blitz this morning, weather was cat and the pitch was atrocious. The poor kids were frozen, lots of crying and not wanting to play. Was thinking that kids are gone very soft these days , until I remembered they were all under nines 😂😂😂, my small one kept going to the end, but wanted to come off at one stage. I told her it was character building and keep going. Got a few looks from a few of the mammies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭green daries

Ya or it can be done kinda underneath the jaw I forget which side but as the previous vet said If you can get her to let you take it there she's may not have one for much longer ...otherwise its a stethoscope job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

F895C5D5-08F2-4883-84F9-A06A574D901A.jpeg

My older 2 are stone mad for being out, and the youngest lad who’s only 16 months tears the place down if he sees them or me going out the door and he can’t

currently tidying up a farm we’ve taken and they’re with us every afternoon. Not doing much apart from running around and playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Ach I ndáirire, bfeidir go bhfuil an ceart aici, níl aon "No" sa gaeilge. An bhfuil slí eile againn? Labhairamíd ár teanga nádúrtha leo fós!

Jaysus the cold and wet was miserable this morning, everything was called off around here. Id be fairly pragmatic about these things but they just don't have the body mass for getting soaked in it at that age. I'd be afraid I'd have no one next week!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

My Irish isn’t the best but I get the gist of what you’re saying.

Is ea is half close to Yes, but Tá and Níl are only approximations as there’s no straight Yes and No in gaeilge.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,531 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

The guy thats renting my tunnel would always have his son with him, he's 14 now and never with him, He's getting €10 -12/hr elsewhere. in jobs that have a better future . He seems to be getting all the work he wants

If that’s the way it goes here so be it. Farming is not something they should be made feel they have to take on. They have to love it because it’s never been easy and it never will be

at least they’ll have good work ethic and be able to think quickly on the spot.

im always asking mine questions when they’re not asking me questions.

Often found the girls training or games would go ahead and the lads would be cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,467 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

A child being out on a livestock farm usually brings on good mathematics too. Counting stock and multiplying pens of stock. Then there's the birds and bees of stock and there's no mystery of stock being born or going in calf/in lamb/in foal. There's no "ickyness" that other children would have of situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭straight

100%, I'd a lad going through the AI catalogue black and whites and adding up the %s and wondering about the missing bits. It alsodoes give a great foundation to biology lessons alright. And all that's before the freedom and exploring, my kids tore off with their younger 3 1/2yo brother today through a Glen to conquer "the impossible above" as they call it. Came back with muddy pants, the odd wet welly, rosy cheeks and appetites.

A farm can be the best place to grow up.

Is ea, deirimíd Ní féidir leat nó níl cead again nó mar seo.

(Thats it, so instead of saying no we just have to say you can't or you're not allowed etc)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

A language reflects a people/culture so we shouldn’t expect words to translate exactly unless the peoples/cultures are the same.

I can’t put it into words but there’s something in that to remember when we’re being told that the research and demo farms with all their infrastructure and staff are able to get cows out to grass in this weather, so apparently the rest of us should be able to do it too.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭older by the day

I like having the children with me, at the safe jobs, I set a potato and veg garden and feeding calves ect.

Most days I would rather do homework or go for a walk with the children, until my wife comes home from work.

I did the health and safety course over zoom for a tams grant and it was a real eye opener.

A child hiding in the long grass getting killed by a mower. A trailer overturned into a dyke with a child on it. Track machine driver not seeing a child behind him.

Things go wrong in seconds.

If they are with you, don't forget they are children

For sure. Mine have seen a fair few births at this stage and know fairly well what’s involved.

I thought a had a dead calf well hidden one day and they spotted it, would rather they hadn’t but now at least they know a bit about the good and the bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭older by the day

I had a good one today, when I was showing my new Hereford calf to my seven year old. He asked where his dad was, I told him it was insemination. That led to how do the ai man get the baby into the cow?. Ask mammy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

lad here favourite time is when a cow is calving... he loves seeing cows calving... i'll put on ropes even if no need and i'll let him pull one rope and i'll have the other and we'll pull the calf out between us.... he is then put out of pen before cow gets up in case she becomes a total lunatic... i have had a few lucky escapes with cows calving over the years so i am well aware of the dangers associated with it... he wants to be involved as much as possible... so i try to involve him if cow needs a bit of assistance when calving...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Agree with ye all about kids on the farm but the safety point above has to be reiterated, the stupid **** we did as kids we were lucky to get away with, in my brothers case lucky was being in the hospital after it not the morgue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Fully agree …only my opinion but I see some people with there kids on a farm and I cringe and hope to god I never have to face into a funeral …I very nearly lost my young lad at birth and an infant a couple of days old in my wife’s extended sadly passed away and that funeral is one that will always stick with me and one I never want to have to go through again

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I had to Google that.so does it contract into a smaller time frame as well

It's not just the kids you'd be weary of but the elderly too.

I'm fairly tormented, I just moved onto a different batch of bales and the knives must have been turned off in the baler, all lumps and tangled and cows pulling it in and blocking scrapers.

Leave the bales out a bit from the feed trough