Is ea, deirimíd Ní féidir leat nó níl cead again nó mar seo.
(Thats it, so instead of saying no we just have to say you can't or you're not allowed etc)
100%, I'd a lad going through the AI catalogue black and whites and adding up the %s and wondering about the missing bits. It alsodoes give a great foundation to biology lessons alright. And all that's before the freedom and exploring, my kids tore off with their younger 3 1/2yo brother today through a Glen to conquer "the impossible above" as they call it. Came back with muddy pants, the odd wet welly, rosy cheeks and appetites.
A farm can be the best place to grow up.
Ní hea
A child being out on a livestock farm usually brings on good mathematics too. Counting stock and multiplying pens of stock. Then there's the birds and bees of stock and there's no mystery of stock being born or going in calf/in lamb/in foal. There's no "ickyness" that other children would have of situations.
Often found the girls training or games would go ahead and the lads would be cancelled
If that’s the way it goes here so be it. Farming is not something they should be made feel they have to take on. They have to love it because it’s never been easy and it never will be
at least they’ll have good work ethic and be able to think quickly on the spot.
im always asking mine questions when they’re not asking me questions.
The guy thats renting my tunnel would always have his son with him, he's 14 now and never with him, He's getting €10 -12/hr elsewhere. in jobs that have a better future . He seems to be getting all the work he wants
My Irish isn’t the best but I get the gist of what you’re saying.
Is ea is half close to Yes, but Tá and Níl are only approximations as there’s no straight Yes and No in gaeilge.
Jaysus the cold and wet was miserable this morning, everything was called off around here. Id be fairly pragmatic about these things but they just don't have the body mass for getting soaked in it at that age. I'd be afraid I'd have no one next week!
Ach I ndáirire, bfeidir go bhfuil an ceart aici, níl aon "No" sa gaeilge. An bhfuil slí eile againn? Labhairamíd ár teanga nádúrtha leo fós!
My older 2 are stone mad for being out, and the youngest lad who’s only 16 months tears the place down if he sees them or me going out the door and he can’t
currently tidying up a farm we’ve taken and they’re with us every afternoon. Not doing much apart from running around and playing
Ya or it can be done kinda underneath the jaw I forget which side but as the previous vet said If you can get her to let you take it there she's may not have one for much longer ...otherwise its a stethoscope job
Had the young one at a rugby blitz this morning, weather was cat and the pitch was atrocious. The poor kids were frozen, lots of crying and not wanting to play. Was thinking that kids are gone very soft these days , until I remembered they were all under nines 😂😂😂, my small one kept going to the end, but wanted to come off at one stage. I told her it was character building and keep going. Got a few looks from a few of the mammies.
One of the first words ours said was no.
I've only every done it with a calf and that is place two fingers under the butt of their tail. There is an artery there where Vets used to draw the blood for brucellosis testing.
It certainly did you’re two no harm so, have a neigbor here who brings his two girls 8 and 6 over one evening during the week to feed calves they’ve great interest and the oldest one would come into the parlour and even put clusters on cows most of them would be quite anyway and you’d be watching she’s used to it from her grandfathers place. It might slow down that evening but it’s great to have children around the place bringing great energy at a time when weeks can be long on the farm and gets them out of the house.
Imagine him playing with Roy Keane in the team, the kicking wouldn’t be from the opposition. We have two teenage girls who since they could walk they have being out doors on farms, use to milk for a neighbour a couple of times a week and one would come to feed the calves in turn and he would help us watching cows for calving when we were in work, when lambing starts they were involved. Kids nowadays are very clever and see danger quicker than adults and won’t take risks, our kids spend more time in conversation with adult men since they we’re young that with other girls due to nature of farming. They are not into make up etc and enjoy life. The biggest problem is posh mummy who don’t want the kids outside getting dirty on the farm. No Xbox here.
At least now you can wash the sh1t off whereas you can't wash that sh1t from the meetings off.
As told to me by a mother in law, the daughter in law goes to her creche and and asks to speak to the owner and explains to the owner that that the staff will have to find a different word instead of the word " NO " . She told them tat the word NO is not used in their home. Mother in law was then reminded of same . This is 100% true
Of all the things we ve spoke about rearing children is the last thing I m in the mood to talk about today.i was at a funeral yesterday of the grandest young fella you d meet in a day's walk ,absolute credit to his parents.there s alot of luck in rearing youngsters
Can't give out because I give them the phone too often. I don't bring my two to the farm because I couldn't manage them on my own.one would go one way and the other would fly off the other way. Used to frighten the life outta me. I'll bring them to set up paddocks in the evening.when they go into secondary school I hope to utilise them more!
Put a fit-bit on her tail ...
I have watched the series on them, some setup but I can't see how it makes money..also seems a lot of labour given the level of automation..I know they have other business which I'm sure may be subsidizing the farm to a degree.
The lad speaking is very positive but to be fair he is a good speaker.
Was watching Grasstech latest video on Harte farm. Lely robots and Vector for feeding, all looked rosy but then near the end he said they had 3.5 labour units on the farm and they were milking only 130 cows. IMO they would be better investing in an automatic calf feeder.
I think social media is a cess pit on top of that the fakeness of Instagram is mind boggling.
Anyway, daughter asked me how do you check a cow's pulse
Ah yeah, that makes sense. You couldn't walk through them too much this time of year, within reason...
Kids nothing to do with it... i had some kids from very very difficult backgrounds... but u play away with them as best you can.... ask ur son that's a teacher.... he'll tell u... I'd still prefer to b teaching a bunch of kids from difficult backgrounds than spend 2 hrs in a staff meeting listening to a bunch of teachers moaning like fcuk about some issue or other... some of those staff meetings used to be torture to sit thru...
I'd often look into gardens on the way over and back the road in the tractor or digger. Real expensive swing sets and toys never played on. Nice manicured lawns. Our garden is in shite from football.
Ya jasus I was at a kids party a few weeks back and the two kids from the party house spent half the evening looking at a tablet 🙃 the rest of the kids played away no bother. i would have used the phone a few years ago when they were really small when we were under pressure eating out or something