Waterford Airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Valhalla90

GAA and country boundaries have done so much damage with this mentality people have no idea! There needs to be proper administrative areas redrawn up. But that’s logical so it won’t be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

his skill/abilities/question asking would be better placed if he was part of one of the major parties surely…..? who nose 👃 he might even have gotten a ministerial post ? Same applies to Lowry and the Healy Rae’s….what have they achieved for their back yards since they haven’t been needed to prop up a ‘gubber-meant’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Rustyman101

And the other trio are worth what exactly ?

2 nodding donkeys more concerned about the party and green who seems anonymous.

Would you prefer if no questions were asked ?

The answer to that question depends on your political affiliations of which I don't have the slightest interest.

Only person I will vote for will be shanahan maybe a waste of a vote but no more of a waste than the other 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭azimuth17

Maybe if offered or guaranteed a full ministry as Cullen was, otherwise the political weight of especially FG and other parties across KK/WX/CW would probably neutralise a backbencher. Thats been the story for ever. The region has all the hallmarks of beggar your neighbour and low state funding as the SEEM research shows and as Shanahan's questioning regularly elicits. Check out Shanahan's Dail debates and questioning and compare with Mr Cullinane. The latter got 20,000 votes, to do what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

independents elected based on narrow local single issues are as useful as t1ts on a bull unless he/she is propping up a minority government…….opposition TD’s are equally as useless to their consitutency

You may be right, but at this particular time, I disagree with you. Is there anything more useless than the performance of our other representatives. Four years of government and four years of flaccid SF opposition. For what? Did 20,000 people vote for silence from David Cullinane? That can't be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭Bards

DC wi llSoon find out those votes will vanish as quickly as they appeared.

Lots of people are peed off with his silence and SFs appeasement to the govt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Rustyman101

Hopefully the electorate cop on and dump 3 of our so called representatives

Problem is there's no alternatives.

Maybe the farmers party might have their act together !!!

There are some votes going a begging if there was an alternative reasonable offering rather than the 4 party alliance we currently have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,777 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...far right getting well in there by the looks of it, should be a hoot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,047 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

(non-Waterford resident but frequent visitor)

Do you remember the picture on the Mall with all of those councillors who opposed repeal of the 8th amendment?

image.png

All men, all middle-aged - I'm a middle-aged man too but I wouldn't dare assume to think that my views represent everyone else's.

Waterford voted strongly for repeal, same as everywhere else. Therefore these politcians did not represent you!

Stop voting for gobshites in general and FF in particular!

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭dzilla

I think you are being a bit generous saying these lads are middle aged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Economics101

I foolishly clicked on this thread, thinking I would learn something about Waterford airport.

Do stobarts still fly to waterford?

Is there any moderator around to tidy up this rubbish?

You wouldn't see it out in Kilbarry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭dzilla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,075 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

SOooooooooooooooo far off topic ... 🙄

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭914

The airport board unaware of the business report completion/submission, unaware of bolster announcing the business report.

The whole thing sounds like a bit of a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭iseegirls

One quick mention of Waterford Airport on Prime Time tonight, while they were discussing DAA's attempt to up the capacity numbers to 40million for Dublin Aiport.

A lot of talk on the programme that Shannon should be taking on more flights, but of course DAA would rather they stymied that.

At least the Green party member they had on would prefer that regional airports (like Waterford) be utilized more. Grace O'Sullivan was mentioned regarding the Waterford Airport bit. Now is our chance to get this rolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

That's outrageous, and barely believable, that members of the Board hasn't even been consulted on these matters.

However, I recall that Board members were complaining in the past about the lack of meetings - seemingly 8-9 months would go without a meeting taking place.

Doesn't exactly give the impression of a well run and well governed organisation.

Chair probably had a quorum meeting to sign off on business plan to get it okayed and sent it in. fairly normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,046 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Shannon taking extra flights is not going to happen if the cap stays.

Its like saying H&M, Zara etc would open in Lisduggan if City Square was full!

The end result is no outlet.

Ryanair have always had disputes with daa but not once expanded Shannon or Cork significantly as a result.

Edit - quoted wrong user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

It's absolutely bizarre stuff. It appears that journalists got it before board members did, which gives off really bad vibes in terms of the working of the organisation.

Basically the Board member said there was a meeting in November when the business plan was a few weeks away from being finalised. They haven't had a meeting since then, and the board member didn't get a copy of the business case until last week - after they asked for it.

It also appears that the County Council will need to meet and approve this plan before it is accepted.

Very, very strange stuff.

Big Phil made sure of that! Couldn’t have Waterford having a stand alone city council. Interesting to see he never amalgamated Cork or Galway. Just Limerick & Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,578 ✭✭✭✭road_high

No they went out of business and had left Waterford long before that. Was a small airline VLM or something after that but they also folded.

I have to say I’m not optimistic about this unless there’s a major change in direction politically- the green agenda nonsense would have to go. The greens hold transport and are not going to spend money on new airports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Isthisthingon?

Aer Arann had the Waterford luton route, which was then taken over by aer lingus regional - for a brief spell aer lingus was flying out of waterford again.

Then the bizarre decision to change luton for london south ( kent) and aer lingus dropped that like a hot snot ( surprise surprise) . Stobart took that over and that didnt last long.

If memory serves correct VLM took back luton and also manchester and birmingham . Was ideal for business flights but alas.........

Listened back to our Green TD on Damien Tiernan discussing the airport. He is full of contradictions he said before the report was published that he could not commit to supporting it until he read the report. Now after reading it he is saying he is not qualified to make a judgement on the decision if it’s positive or negative towards the expansion. I really hope the people of Waterford remember this when the elections come. We all know Ryan is biased towards WAT and you can be sure Marc is just as much. What hope do we have when this is what is representing us in the dail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭curmudgeonly

Stobarts owned London south and was trying to bring water to its own well, the water was having none of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Isthisthingon?

Indeed. it was only handy if you needed to be in that part of the country - southend/ Kent. ( ironically I did indeed once and flew in and out of there from Waterford)

If you needed to be in London city or the greater area you may as well be flying into Cardiff.