Mayo GAA Discussion

Yeah it's very early days.

Good to start the league with a win and two points.

Winning or top two would be good but survival while trying new players and game plans would do just as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭spakman

Daire Duffy more of a soccer head ;)

diarmuid Duffy did well though, pity he couldn't finish either of the goal chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭HBC08

Yep sorry,got my Duffys mixed up.

He looked confident and eager,pity he didn't finish off that chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭TsuDhoNimh

Tommy worked hard but yeah, poor enough by his standards. Not really the type of day for his talents to shine I guess but hopefully as the sod dries we see him start to fire. Odd how often we were hitting him under the high ball. They must have thought the Galway back had a weakness to exploit.... mistakenly, perhaps.

Tuohy, Brickenden, Coyne, McBrien and Carney got through an absolute mountain of the messy work that seldom catches the eye. Really impressive stuff defensively from 1 to 9 (helped with a severe lack of Galway pace, in body or mind).

Callinan stole the show for me (a couple of sloppy possessions make it unlikely he'd get the MOTM pick but that ignores how often he turned it over, all while keeping Walsh in his backpocket) and Boland with the type of comeback against neighbours that you'd dream you.

Some nice flashes from young Diarmuid Duffy, winning the penalty a nice way to round out a debut. Another game or two to settle those nerves and he'd be walking away with two goals. Conor Reid did plenty to build on recent performances. Could see him (understandably) tiring towards the end but he put in a great shift around the middle for a first day out. Nice to have another high fielding option there and looks to be one with potential (Be nice to see Murphy from Ballinrobe get a run out there too at some point).

Great to see the pace, willingness to kick, support running off shoulders/in groups clicking so early in the year. Nothing you'd be getting carried away by but plenty of positives to show the lads what they're working away at is going in a positive direction. We looked far higher paced & fitter than Galway, thought they were incredibly lucky with a few of Hurson's calls to keep 15 on the field at all times, so be interesting to see how it looks later in the year when we all hit top gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Some will cop the below is tongue in cheek. Some won’t but here we go.

Overall that was a good enough display against moderate opposition, but I felt we really didn't get going as we should have. I wouldn't be too worried, 1st game of the league. Galway had a strong team out and we were off the pace, put Ruane, Hession , Diarmuid and O’Donoghune back into that team and it changes it but still alot of potential to do more to better teams. I thought Flynn was solid and Reid has alot of potential. No harm to give the neighbours a bit of a kick in the hole and for Neighbours to downplay their defeat so as to keep the feeling they are contenders still again in January.

Post edited by Blackjack on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,627 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Anyone catch McStays interview after the match? It was Michael D/MidWest asking the question, but I picked it up on Newstalk. Assume it was on MidWest as well.

Michael D asked him how he thought the new players got on. McStay kind of deflected it by saying that the couple of new guys did well but that the main improvement this year will be seen from the guys who are in their 2nd and 3rd years.

It makes a lot of sense and goes back to the talk on here about where are the new faces... 1. There aren't a huge amount of new faces out there that remain to be discovered and 2. S&C has come on so much that it takes a few years for most newer players to really get up to speed (there's the very rare talent who can burst onto the scene obviously).

There's a big chunk of the team that you would expect to see push on and improve from last year just through having a solid year or two under their belts.

Reid aside, from the starting 15 yestrrday, the below group of 8 could be classed as a group that should all show improvement this year.

Colm Reape, Sam Callinan, Rory Brickenden, Jack Coyne, David McBrien, Jack Carney, Jordan Flynn, Bob Tuohy,

The below 5 are around long enough where much improvement isn't going to be expected.

Paddy Durcan, Eoghan McLaughlin, Aidan O'Shea, Ryan O'Donoghue, Fergal Boland.

Tommy Conroy would fall in between both imo, more so due his injury etc. I think there's improvement there to be expected.

Not sure what my point is other than I would agree with McStays take on it.

Galway were very poor yesterday, its hard to judge how good we were... and even harder to know if we want them to be good at this stage of the year.

A lot of the deflection (and don't get me wrong, McStay is more than media savvy enough to avoid the premise of a question he doesn't like or reframe it to his suiting.... which is a nice positive) was due to the wording of the question. "A lot of new guys" and then (inaccurately) name-dropping Fergie specifically as a new player.

A nice positive interview. A lot to like about it.

That was the one! I thought it was a point very well made.

A subtle low blow about Galway's decision to play with the wind thrown in for good measure as well perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 popeye mchuge

Are they charging U16's into McHale Park Saturday night?

If so, is it a charge at the gate?

Free in for juveniles/u16s and don't require a ticket according to Ticketmaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,019 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

But mayogaa voted against that as there was too many issues with young people invading the pitch etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Westernview

But that was then overruled by Croke Park I heard. So free in again.

The invasions will probably continue unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,635 ✭✭✭✭km79

Kids were kicking around the pitch at HT in Salthill too.

If the solution is to price kids out of going to matches then there is something very wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I'd agree that it sets a bad tone charging kids but I think the issue that the MCB had is Kids getting in and being allowed to roam free with no parental supervision. Stewards have enough to be doing without adding parenting to their voluntary roles.

This is what the was put out in November.

Stupid,reactionary, backwards,counter productive over the top nonsense to a minor annoyance.

I'm glad Croke Park told them to cop on.

Until one of the darlings slips and falls on the pitch and gets injured..

What do they do in every other ground in the country?

Salthill the last day for example?

Anyway,it doesn't matter as it was a dumb idea and they've been slapped down so common sense prevails.

Christ above, it sounds like a war zone out there from reading some of those meeting comments. As for the Chairman's comments about how charging for championship games solves the problem... they ground is half empty at League games, that is the reason kids have that bit of freedom.

Talk about making a mountain out of a molehill. Is the same fuss made in other counties where this is also common place.

I can see why some are concerned but the thrill and joy kids get after a match from getting a signature or a selfie overrides that for me.

If the players had an issue with it, then fair enough, put a stop to it.

Is the same fuss made in other counties where this is also common place

I doubt it, Mayo County Board seem to be unique in their ability to do stupid s**t.

That's a little bit disrespectful.... to Cork.

They've come close to our level of stupidity on a few occasions in recent years.

I don't agree that it's common sense to let unaccompanied kids free into games when they can swarm the field afterwards and cause difficulty for stewards. Our fans seem to be the main culprits for doing this. There are many cases of parents dropping off kids at the venue and picking them up afterwards and there are so many reasons to try and prevent this.

1 - Pitch damage - Last year the PA announcer repeatedly requested people not to enter the pitch afterward in order to protect the surface. That fell on deaf ears. There is huge pressure on pitches as it is with so many games played at all levels.

2 - Injury - Unaccompanied kids running around the pitch can get injured leading to litigation and increased insurance premiums.

3 - Unfairness to players - After playing up to 80 minutes on a winters night I think players should be allowed to acknowledge the fans in the stands and leave the field to recover. Ive seen players still on the field togged out up to an hour after the final whistle. In any case a lot of those kids are getting the same autographs for the upteenth time. Special meet the player nights are more appropriate for all this IMO.

4 - Stolen footballs - up to 20 footballs were stolen in one game alone last year. Stewards have been instructed to ask for the footballs back but not to run after kids in case they fall and sue the county board. Thats €1000 worth of footballs taken from a cash strapped board and the same again every time it happens. Its as much a respect thing as the cost. Do we want to encourage kids to keep doing this?

I actually did think that the first 1 or 2 invasions were amusing and harmless but as the crowds got bigger and bigger I just think its not on anymore.

I agree with all of the above. I can see the attraction of running on to the pitch at full time to meet the players but half time is madness.

I seen grown adults on the pitch at half time in galway the last day. Cop yourself on.

Was half expecting them to be blamed for global warming as well.

Sarcasm the lowest form of wit.

You've no problem for the situation to continue then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭MacDanger

We’re talking about unaccompanied youths arriving and getting in, and once they’re in the ground, going on the pitch

Surely it'd be a better solution to say that no unaccompanied U16s are allowed entry to the ground, should be easy enough to enforce?

As mentioned earlier, the only real issue that I would have was if the players didn’t want it. And players have enough of a voice these days to stop it if they wanted to imo.

I would also be against anyone running on the pitch at half time, they should run the risk of being ejected from the ground if they do so.

On the other points.

Pitch Damage - I would be more concerned with the €300,000+ the County Board spent damaging the pitch.

Insurance - McHale Park is 75% concrete, a game wouldn't go ahead if you wanted to worry about someone falling and smashing their head on the concrete seats.

Stolen Balls - your story sounds like a tale from an overly dramatic county board official tbh. If they can't manage to retrieve the vast majority of balls from the crowd then I would worry about their ability to host a match.

Mountain out of a molehill stuff. If it's safe to let kids run onto the pitch and as long as the players don't mind, then let them off. It's has been done up and down the country for generations.

I think players are under a lot of pressure in terms of interacting with fans. I don't believe that many of them would prefer to stay out there rather than get off the field.

The county board clearly cannot eject a accompanied juvenile from the ground. The problem has to be addressed on terms of having adults with them preventing them going out on the field in the first place.

The same applies to them taking the balls. Stewards cannot be chasing after them.

That's a ridiculous comment about the board spending 300k to damage a pitch. They clearly developed a good surface and any issue were afterwards with from not restricting the amount of games. This has since being addressed. The board have said that post match invasions undermines their attempts to protect it. But never mind you know best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,892 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Are we really giving out about kids running onto the pitch at HT and kicking a ball around?

They're about 40kg so doing **** all damage. If there wasn't a big deal made out of it by the lad on the tannoy then it wouldn't be as big an issue. For years young people ran on at HT and ran off again when the players came back out.

As for the balls going missing, that's unrelated to the kids being on the pitch

James Fallon (Mayo Gaels) announced as the Breaffy senior manager last night.