Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭spakman

A pity if it would have to come to that - why wouldn't a 16 year old lad and his friend be able to go to a Mayo match without having Mammy or Daddy going with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭HBC08

This is hilarious!

Drugged up teens marauding around MacHale Park stealing footballs........and malicious use of permanent markers!

It's like a heading the Connaught Telegraph would come up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭glack

Maybe my post was not clear enough. On occasions last year footballs were stolen. On occasions last year damage was made to facilities. On occasions young people wrote on players jerseys leaving them unusable for future games. On occasions last year anti social behaviour was reported in the area behind the stand (including the toilet area) while the game was underway. Some of the incidents were connected. Some were not. Each issue was relatively minor and not newsworthy on its own. But the pattern of anti social behaviour is increasingly becoming a problem. The county board are rightly trying to find a solution before it gets out of hand. I don’t often defend them but I totally see where they are coming from on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 The Supporter

Paul B says:

February 1, 2024 at 9:35 am

@muckle – i dont think it was a lack of preparation against Cork. there was a mental fragility in the team last year. When things went against them they buckled on more then one occasion. The Cork game was more or less won, even if the performance wasn’t great and then a fragility opened. Same fragility was there against Louth and Roscommon. And against Dublin, after a great first half where we could have been 5 points up, as soon as the pressure came on they buckled. I dont believe it was game plan at all. That fragility could well be a function of uncertainty in their individual roles, over prescriptive coaching or an innate lack of confidence, but I hope developing the mental strength to cope with adversity and giving leaders on the field the space to play heads up football formed a key part of the winter programme. Above from Mayo Gaa Blog, a concise summary of Mayo 2023, if Mayo Management do not put alot of work into mental preparation of the TEAM, 2024 will be the same as 2023.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Different manager but the year before was no different. Started well against Kerry; Clifford was on the periphery and hobbling and they looked well set. He got a goal, heads dropped, and everyone lost their heads. Some of the shooting was beyond belief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Lads, wont know until the last minute if can make the match or not, i presume there is no time limit on buying tickets and i can buy one right up to throw in or even after?

You can definitely buy up til throw in and I'd guess a while after aswell.

I've seen lots of lads rock up and scrambling on their phones because they didn't know you can buy at a ticket van anymore.

You'll be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Mayo team is as follows:

1. Colm Reape, Knockmore
    2. Jack Coyne, Ballyhaunis
    3. Rory Brickenden, Westport
    4. Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
    5. Paddy Durcan (C), Castlebar Mitchels
    6. David McBrien Ballaghadereen
    7. Eoghan McLaughlin Westport
    8. Jordan Flynn Crossmolina Deel Rovers
    9. Jack Carney Kilmeena
    10. Conor Reid Bohola Moy Davitts
    11. Fergal Boland, Aghamore
    12. Bob Tuohy Castlebar Mitchels
    13. Aidan O’Shea Breaffy
    14. Paul Towey Charlestown Sarsfiels
    15. Ryan O’Donoghue, Beal and Mhuirthead

Towey in for Tommy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Ladies team named also, I'd say they'll be up against it on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭TsuDhoNimh

Any idea if we might see Mattie/DOC/Enda in the next few weeks or if those are expected to be longer term?

Sorry TDN,

No concrete info on these.

I hear Rumours DOC not far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,903 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Dublin playing an ultra-thick blanket here 🙄

Hmm more open than it looked like it was going to be…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,473 ✭✭✭✭km79

Solution to the kids on the pitch was having organized kids games on the pitch !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,725 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Whelean saying Mayo have a fear of Dublin. Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Westernview

In fairness Mayo showed them far too much respect in the first 15 minutes. Hopefully the second half they'll go for it more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,632 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Some ridiculous turnovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Quiet Achiever

Why was himself taking that;?

On a knife edge…

GET IN!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,145 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

I know it's only February but beating Dublin any time is focking brilliant.

Savage ball by ROD to Boland for the winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Terrible scenes at the end there. Hope there aren't too many casualties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Westernview

Ropey at times but they kept at it.

Best thing about it all is to win at home against the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭maximus15

Great win . O shea usually well Marshalled against dubs and no different tonight . Once run at them we did damage .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,473 ✭✭✭✭km79

We gave up zero goal chances . This pleases me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭Panrich

That's been the big thing from the two games. We have never looked like giving up goal chances. If you can keep teams to points, you'll be in every game down to the wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,343 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I feared for my life,.

I saw one fella up the back of the stand with a permanent marker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Be-Jaysus

Good result

HitnMiss performance.

The forward line still doesn't pose any fluency or efficiency, but at the same time we seem to show better understanding and more solidity at the back.