If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Always start calving here January 1st… might be 1 or 2 between xmas any the 1st Jan… have almost 80 calved… not too sure why you think it’s torture…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭green daries

I suppose its probably as I'm in winter milk an already have a block calved in October/Nov..... I'd consider it a pain to be at it that week .....I've no problem with Jan calving but it would be a bit too early for me to get to grass I'm nearly always march turn out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Don’t mind the begrudgers lad…. Best of luck with the zero grazing… looking forward to reading your feedback on how it went for you later on in the year….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

If it goes badly I’ll post the DoneDeal add of the grazer up and you’ll know exactly

to me it’s either drop cow numbers or at least try and maintain them.

If you’re going to reduce them you’ll never get them back and with the way the economy is were hurting ourselves the most by reducing. If the cows are reduced what hope has the next generation

I hope im wrong there on that one

if you’re going to maintain them you have to do your best to get value out of the extra land taken on. Cutting silage to feed it back out a few weeks later isnt the answer for me going forward, it suited fine to keep things moving on a bit but i always wanted to be as grass based as possible

39A9765E-570A-4071-822D-7A10B72AA138.jpeg

so hopefully this will get me back there and get as much utilisation out of the ground as possible and luckily the draw isn’t very far from the yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

It’s nearly costing that per head to get sheep to or from France at the moment, cattle would be more per head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Best of luck with it.

I'm just puzzled by your assertion that "if you're going to reduce them you’ll never get them back".

Why not? Going up or down 25% is not a big deal or hard to do is it?

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Best of luck with it Grass. Each to their own lads. If guys are making money and aren't tied to work i say keep doing what your doing. Nitrates and banding is putting a big spanner in the works so its about each of us making our systems as resilient as we can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

After a long day yesterday I said I’d get a good start to the day

IMG_6696.jpeg

My point about going down is that the income is lost and it can be hard to get back up once the income is gone with the way the land market and costs are atm. If you maintain the cows by taking extra land at least you can absorb it somewhat

I could be completely wrong on that but that’s just my opinion

Im

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Livestock sheds are often timber. No idea why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Grazeout isn’t breed specific, it’s down to the management. I find that you can get them to skin the ground especially when buffer feeding. First few rounds graze hard and no bother for the rest of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,304 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Milking less cows here atm, sending more milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,304 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Daughter came home from spain with me yesterday and gone to krakow this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Have we found middle ground …..you want more cows but need more toys and investement in machinery to keep it whilst some of us want less cows or hold nos but breed a cow that will efficiently produce more milk and solids ….are you planning on not having derogation going forward and ending up somewhere in beteween 170 and 220 …..and don’t tell me you think we’ll keep 220…….best of luck with z grazer ….still think your mad going that route😀 ….you’ll still end up feeding a tonne plus of nuts and still end up feeding silage at stages of year …if home block is under pressure for grass in droughts or crap weather ….your z grazing block will also suffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭ginger22

Anyone here involved in the Munster Dairy Producer Organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Danny healy ray

the one thing I see with the zero grazers is the alarming risk in tb break downs with lads that have one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Diarmuid B

what is the link between zero grazing and a higher risk of going down with tb? Never heard that before so just interested to know

We’ll see about the meal. The plan is cut it back a bit any way because we are feeding a bit extra for stocking rate reasons

I’ve no issue having to feed a bit of silage at stages but having to start feeding in September the last 2 years is what I don’t like. With the grazer and with how much land is away now I could have the cows on full grass well into November

I asked 2 vets that we use about that and they both reckoned we shouldn’t have an issue because we have very good history with tb on the farm and because we have a v low amount of tb in the area

both of them said they couldn’t put break downs in herds that are zero grazing down to zero grazing, more so that they had a track record of tb any way or there was an issue in the area already

I’d a heap of grass on outblocks last September /October ….was z grazing when I could but got very little done ….due to weather …tgeres also compaction issue that time of year ….also feeding value of low dm grass dosnt have kick required to keep milking and also keep condition on cows …I ended up getting sheep in and also grazed some with dry cows ….at that stage of year good quality silage feeds far better

You should ask a farmer or vet in tb affected herds what they think of z grazing and tb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭alps

Thinking from DVO side is that ZG removes the animals opportunity to not select a soiled piece of grass.

They have the same opinion on very low post grazing covers.

No idea of the factual stats behind the thoughts.

up until a few years ago we wouldn’t have fed silage until late october and that was to stretch out grass more than anything.

which goes back to my point again about the type of cow ppl are breeding and what they’re expecting yeild wise and then they complain then that cows can’t do it off grass.

my cow is still a smaller one and we never bred for litres which reduces energy requirements a lot when you compare her to a 100 kg heavier Holstein that has high milk yeild

Cow type irrelevant and your carrying far higher sr now than back then …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Jack98

How is the cow type irrelevant? A cow bred to produce ms predominantly off grass is far more likely to maintain yields from zero grazing on the shoulders compared to a higher yielding type cow.

We are in a tb black spot here lots of farmers operating zero grazers and its very rare to hear of any of the ones zero grazing going down for tb not to mind going down and attributing it to zero grazing. If you’re in an area with low tb risk there should be nothing to worry about.

I had a relation with high yielding herd went down the zero grazing road and got out again, he’s buffering cows with diet feeder at least 8 months of the year now.

Far from irrelevant in my book, Ive been buffering in autumn because of sr and not enough grass available per cow on the mp

you say you’re feeding because the cows don’t milk enough for you without it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭green daries

Now hang on there's nothing and I mean nothing that milked off the shite that grew from early Aug last year....... loads of lads round here had half the herd dry in October ......calving starts in Feb round here do the maths yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Jack98

The grass in the backend last year was running through cows not much value to it everyone knows that, but unless last year was to become the norm every year going forward then you can’t just write off all grass produced from august to October/November as rubbish quality.

Everyone has to utilize what they have available to them and if you’ve grass a short distance away then zero grazing could be a no brainer at certain points in the year.

Sure if you were to take the advice of some here everyone could cut numbers by 30% in the upper middle band only have to put in feed to yield and still maintain or increase turnover and profit. I don’t however think that would work for the vast majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Buffering will by nature when combined with autumn grass where your going in with maize/wholecrop, increase liters and solids, if you cut out the above and put in zero-grazed grass you'll probably lose 30-40kgs ms cow in the backend if the weather doesn't play ball, will you be any worse of probably not when the cost of buffering with the above is accounted for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭ginger22

Do you not see the contradictions in your statement. The land you are using to grow the zero grazed grass can be used instead to grow the maize or wholecrop to buffer feed, with much better milk solids return. And you don't have to drive over the road everyday with your zero grazer.