Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Spectacular own goal not to drop all Ukrainians down to 38 if they being given accommodation. To bring them in line with any other asylum seeker.

Surely open to legal action to have a cohort of 80,000 people on 220 and everyone else on 38. No justification either, the fact they fled early in the war entitles them to 7 times as much cash for some reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭_Marshall_

• In this case, absolutely acceptable way to behave considering the imposition on our country
    • It was not random, he found an economic migrant , that's who he wanted to talk to. Good Man for highlighting this.
    • This Economic Migrant is a clear bullshit artist and should be sent back when he came. He told us himself for gods sake.
    • In what way is that Man perfectly legitimate? and if that's legitimate, then we have deep disfunction in our systems.
    • The fact that 10's/ 100's of thousands like him are here IS the real issue I'm afraid.
    • 'My problems' I've done everything right, I'm one of Leo's early rising Big Pharma types, have a good career and spend most of the week sleeping in my **** van at work in Dublin because there is no accommodation. I pay a **** ton of taxes and get nothing in return. I have a right to be pissed off.
    • ALL of the big issues in this country are being made much much worse by your open door , anyone come in and take everything attitude to our sovereignty
    • Honestly, it feels if a person can straight up support all of this, you must have skin in the game frankly, its Kafkaesque....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

We know what needs to be done:

1) Build a tented camp on the Curragh with security fencing.

2) Put all asylum seekers in this tented camp, pending rapid evaluation of their claims. Fed but with no payments. This is a perfectly adequate solution to meet basic needs.

3) Guarded by the army.

4) Either issue papers to genuine claimants / deport all others promptly to make space available on a rolling basis. No appeals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,303 ✭✭✭crusd

Asylum applications in 2023 were down versus 2022 and represents 2 in 1000 people. Excluding Ukrainians, which has dropped about 50% from 2022 to 2023.

But go ahead and claim its the biggest issue facing the country because your social media feed tells you it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

If a couple of 10's of thousands is ok, are you ok with a few 100's of thousands?

Legal migration is a different ball game coming here to fill vacant roles.

Not sure we really need to bring them into the country. Would it not be better to hold them in the Mediterranean, pay that Mediterranean country to hold them while their process is ongoing, and only accept the legitimate ones from actual warzones after strict vetting? Do that in combination with turning away all asylum seekers from Dublin airport, and flying them to that Med country to get in line.

I believe it was Mr.O'Gorman who advised, likely conservatively, that his dept expects 15,000 annually. That's 40+ a day, every single day.

Since it's not in his interests to exaggerate, that's 150K to 500K in the next 10 years, plus relatives & dependants in time.

The identity of this country which we dearly love, would be decimated with this degree of population assimilation.

OK, do I have this right- rampant immigration to our tiny Island is not happening then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Gussoe

I like this idea and I also think it could be joint Ireland/Britain solution. EU vs non-EU might pose some interesting challenges. But it could be a good bridge-building solution with the UK.

The Hard Left want infinite immigration. They just don't have the balls to be honest, hence all the nonsense from the handful on here.

• In this case, absolutely acceptable way to behave considering the imposition on our country Acceptable for individuals to set themselves up as judge?
    • It was not random, he found an economic migrant , that's who he wanted to talk to. Good Man for highlighting this. Because he wanted to find someone to harrangue for his youtube channel. Scumbag behaviour
    • This Economic Migrant is a clear bullshit artist and should be sent back when he came. He told us himself for gods sake. Have you checked the bona fides?
    • In what way is that Man perfectly legitimate? and if that's legitimate, then we have deep disfunction in our systems. I say, may or may not be legitimated, but permanently outraged on youtube is clearly the standard of evidence these days
    • The fact that 10's/ 100's of thousands like him are here IS the real issue I'm afraid. 13,000 last year 18% of asylum seekers are children, 32% female. So they are not all like him. The facts are that women, children and families are not housed in the same type of higher risk environments so are invisible to the permanently outraged
    • 'My problems' I've done everything right, I'm one of Leo's early rising Big Pharma types, have a good career and spend most of the week sleeping in my **** van at work in Dublin because there is no accommodation. I pay a **** ton of taxes and get nothing in return. I have a right to be pissed off.
    • Its not 13,000 asylum seekers that cause the issues with accommodation, it years of pandering to vested interests in maintain scarcity as it looks good on their balance sheets
    • ALL of the big issues in this country are being made much much worse by your open door , anyone come in and take everything attitude to our sovereignty There is no open door. 13,000 people a year is f all
    • Honestly, it feels if a person can straight up support all of this, you must have skin in the game frankly, its Kafkaesque....What is Kafkaesques is people determination to go after the edges of the issues, the few thousand asylum seekers, while giving the real cause of the issue - the land hoarders etc a free pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

You are referring to accommodation — of course people have to be accommodated. What do you propose we do with them? Put them on the street indefinitely?

The analogy question you pose about Gaza is just ridiculous when taken in the context of the fact that the very reason there are Ukrainian refugees in Ireland at all is due to the fact that nation states across Europe and the world have committed to help each other and to co-operate on this issue. So if 2 million Gazan refugees were making their way to Ireland we would be hoping to rely on the very same commitments that Ireland has undertaken re Ukrainian refugees and that the obligation is shared even if Ireland is a safe country. Poland alone has been dealing with 1.5 million Ukrainain refugees/asylum applicants and, ironically given the high pedestal many seem to place Poland on given its stance on migration over the years (despite benefiting from the migration policies of other countries for many years), the fact is that of it weren't for other countries like Germany, Czech Republic and all the others — like Ireland — doing their bit then Poland could have been looking at the catastrophe of several million refugees fleeing into its territory.

Have you ever heard of incentives? If you accommodate them, more will come. If they know they'll have to sleep on the streets as we have nothing for them, they may not come at all? Get it?

Behold, some form of gas powered lighting providing upside down world responses...

Lads, I think you done it, here is the answer :)

The vast majority of immigration is legal migration to fill available jobs. Ye are all shouting about a few thousand asylum seekers though as if its the same thing

That is patently untrue and expecting any of us here to accept this is utterly insulting to our intelligence as fellow citizens.

You need to learn what gaslighting means and to argue the points rather than shout "gaslighting" everytime someone disagrees with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

OK well then why don't you just go right ahead and elaborate on your point with a solid suggestion. The official government policy of the Irish State should be to send refugees straight to the streets as a warning for other refugees — is that the suggestion? Do they get a blanket at least or would that not be deterring enough? How long do you keep them on the streets? How do you deal with legal disputes emanating from the rights of these people under international law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Gussoe

Yes this is what i posted yesterday. We are in a "Race to the Bottom" with the rest of the EU, regarding what services and handouts AS/Refugees get.

Pity the government haven't figured that out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

It'll be over 1,000 living on the streets in a matter of weeks.

I made my suggestion - we should pay a Mediterranean country to hold them during their application and remove all asylum arrivals at Dublin airport to that Med country to get in line for processing. Whats your problem with that, they're safe the whole time right?

I asked you a question. If 250000 asylum seekers arrived this year would you be ok with that?

Say 225000 male and 25000 female.

Why are you deflecting by crying strawman. Like the last lad crying bedwetter.

Either you'd be happy to have 225000 single men arrive or you wouldn't.

It's either yes or no.

Are they really all on the streets though? How many of them are crashing with their mates etc.?

I think you have that wrong! It's the Hard Right who want immigration and the more the better. There's big money in it and cheap labour. Shut up and don't question your betters.

The majority of us stuck in the middle will be shafted and left paying for it.

The vast majority of immigration is legal. That is reality. Do you not like reality?

I think we agree that he hard right and hard left are are bad as each other! Extremists.

Sensible center anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭snl rory

If that indeed was the reality, then the system needs to change as its damaging the fabric of our nation.