Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings part 4 - Read OP before posting - updated 30/12/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭portlaoisepal

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

22year old Michael Andrecut has been charged and remanded in custody. No further discussion of the Christmas Eve shootings permitted. Please observe this instruction as otherwise not only will you face sanction but you risk the thread being closed when there are other relevant issues that can continue being discussed.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

And the threadbans begin:

JacksonHeightsOwn

PokeHerKing

baldbear

Post edited by Beasty on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭passatman86

Starting to see a grand stretch in the evenings now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭john why

What's the point of having a gangland thread if you can't talk about gangland stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

Free the gangland thread 3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

You can talk about lots of gangland stuff. Just not anyone who has an on-going charge against them.

It's literally the law of the land - breaking this law can land the owners/admins on a contempt of court charge, fines, actual jail-time. Bigger sites like twitter/meta could lawyer up and perhaps prevent such an outcome, pay a big fine from petty cash and compensate any affected employee. Boards.ie wouldn't be able to do so.

So honestly, deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I can't deal with this.

Me nerves is at me 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

What laws are you referring too exactly? Papers print stories/continue discuss ongoing cases.

Irelands pretty harsh sub-judice rules.

Sub judice - Wikipedia

You are correct that papers continue to print/report on stories.

You are less correct that they continue to discuss stories. Discussion can veer into opinion, and that's where the law can be broken.

An example. Do you see the difference between these potential quotes?

1. "XYZ was charged today with a robbery in Abbey St, and was remanded on bail to appear again blah blah"
    2. "10 times convicted burglar XYZ was again caught red-handed in the act today in Abbey St. He later appeared in court looking guilty as hell. Hopefully a strong judge will give him a proper sentence this time".

The papers will always go with example 1 when they report on a case. Many boards.ie users will veer into example 2 through no fault of their own.

You know what, I might partially agree with you.

It would be interesting to defend a contempt case on the grounds of the laws pre-dating social media, anything posted here clearly being uninformed opinion, owners not having responsibility for content. Appeal it all the way through the system.

However, how much do you think such a case would cost? €1M perhaps, without any guarantee of victory. Far easier/cleverer to stop such discussion in it's tracks. It's exactly what I'd do if I owned a site like this. You too probably?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Screenshot_20231230_143203.jpg

Beware the beast is with us 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭TheRepentent

He also makes an appearance if you say "beastie" 5 times into a mirror.....

It is there in the site Terms of Use you all signed up to

No discussion of anything before the courts permitted

Now back on topic or there will be more threadbans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

What type of a gobsh1te would call their kid "XYZ". How would you even pronounce it - rhyming with "seize" maybe?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭40supple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

I remember when a group of farmers who were being burgled sometimes twice in the one week banded together and began patrolling armed with shotguns, the Gardai who were of absolutely no use to them when they were being robbed were out like a shot to disarm them. The extent of burglaries especially outside of dublin and the inability or unwillingness for the criminal justice system to do anything about it is more than enough reason to relax firearm laws for home protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭mikewebber

Mostly unoccupied homes cos it's handier

Aggravated burglary in Sligo I think where they needed the safe code

Presumably same gang that attacked the neighbour that died a while back

They must also have a list of targets when they they arrive at Airbnb

Getting the info off travellers on the move around the place or something

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Social media and geo tagged photos must make things easier too, least that's what I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭RoosterCogburn

In rural Ireland the Post-office has longer opening hours than the Gardai station, it's usually just one Guard there for a few hours to sign passports or a gun license or whatever, community policing in this country has well and truly died, getting burgled is no joke, to have your home violated like that even when you're not there can be traumatising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,291 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

How is a Garda sitting in a one man station longer going to stop burglaries?

I just find it hard to imagine why anyone would want to be in the gardai

Between paperwork and arresting the same people over and over only to see them walk must be both infuriating and a horrible feeling of inability to be effective

I wish I had some idea to tackle this but I've got nothing depressingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Because you don’t have to do the job really if you don’t want to. you are, to an extent, you’re own boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Call me cynical, but you could be forgiven for thinking this is an attempt to maintain traffic when the biggest story of the year is no longer permitted to be discussed 😜

I hear ya, possibly not the best post but I am just loving the use of airbnb as some form of base of operations

Also it's the only gang/criminal thing I have read lately that could be discussed here

To be fair that's old. These days the off-putting elements are low pay and the gsoc department making very delayed investigation type stuff inevitable

I've no gra for them but I can see how messy it all is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Cheddar Bob

Alright. Moving on. Or back.

Was listening to a repeat of a Tallant 4 parter on the Regency there and was reminded of something that bugged me during the trial.

Jonathan Dowdall, his da, and the hotel booking.

The hotel room was booked so as to allow Kevin Murray (Flat Cap) a base to let him reccy the layout of the hotel before the attack (pre trial there was wild theories that, as a qualified spark/ CCTV installer, Dowdall had been in messing about with the CCTV systems, but as far as I know that was nonsense).

Why in the jaysis did Dowdall use his card (or his father's, or wife's, can't recall now) to book the room in his dad's name, and then have his father collect the key the night before?

The organiser of the operation (not G Hutch, he was completely innocent as decicded by a judicial panel har har har) would surely know post attack that the guards would trawl the CCTV and the bookings and see that a best mate of Patsy Hutch who lived 4 odd miles away had booked a hotel room the night before (a hotel room that CCTV presumably showed Flat Cap entering the next day, sealing the connection), which would be stretching the bounds of coincidence and bad luck to a serious level.

Flat Cap was dying and (presumably) took the job on to leave a fat wedge for his family knowing he was too ill to ever face trial or remand. Why didn't he book the room himself and collect the keycard? The effort he put into disguising himself shows he had little fear of going down for any of it.

If that wasn't an option, just pay an old local alco/ gambling addict with no real record to book it, some eejit who the Gardai would know full well wouldn't be privy to the seriousness of what was about to go down, and thus wouldn't find themselves facing serious charges at all (he could claim he was told it was for something mad like a swingers orgy or a porno being filmed, but that he was now too scared to tell who put him up to it). Or a foreigner who was permanently leaving the country soon.

Dowdall used that to his defence, why would I be mad enough to use my own card (or was it the wife's) to book a room if I knew what was about to go down.

It was about the only part of his defence that made a bit of sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

It's the interest of any police force that people don't form their own rival police force. Gets messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Many areas in Rural ireland have seen their garda stations closed by Alan Shatter and Fine Gael in 2013 and have become lawless since be it travellers robbing houses , selling drugs etc etc or most other people driving round on their phones … zero law now with garda stations 20 or 30 miles away from people.