Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration to Ireland - policies, challenges, and solutions *Read OP before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,350 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Poverty exists. Yes. No reason to assume that anyone coming into this country will have to live in poverty.

Education, equality and integration are all answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Would there be a different tune coming from Government if areas like D4, mount merrion etc were having Refugees/asylum seekers housed there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Everywhere is full where are they going to put them now ,

Ghettos,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

But we have proof they're coming into poverty. They're coming in completely dependent on SW. Some of whom don't speak English.

You're not contributing in good faith and you know it or maybe you don't realise because you're so deluded.

Either way we're never going to see eye to eye so I'll leave it there.

You're clearly not posting in good faith, considering my posts are pointing out that education, including language classes are essential to their future. Or perhaps you're just not actually reading them

You are all about problems and that's all you see. These people would live in poverty for their lives if it was up to the likes of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Basically if they change their tune to what the majority of the country think then they will gain a lot more votes.

But can they do that with any credibility though, given they have been a consistently immigrant/refugee-friendly party for over 20 years? If they made any substantial moves in that direction they would be absolutely crucified by the other left parties who are watching them like hawks for any derogation from 'woke' orthodoxy. I think the most you guys can hope for from SF is a slight change of tone, a bit of dog-whistling to their backwoods supporters but essentially full steam ahead with current policies if and when they get into government. If you think that's enough to earn them your vote that's your own call...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Photobox

Still wouldn't trust or vote for them in a million years and I am very concerned about immigration control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,271 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

But immigration largely is controlled. In the case of work and student visas for non EU citizens for example, the Irish government decides who receives them and how many are issued. It's not as if some outside agency is forcing us to issue the visas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

They certainly aren't all poor in many cases to judge by the cars I seen them drive recently.. hopefully they'll be gone soon.

And the likes of people like your good self, who support Israeli brutality.. would seek to drive them from their home countries to ours. Much skin in the game?

Tell us exactly how many asylum seekers were refused permission to stay over the past year and of those, how many have actually been deported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Roderic O'Gorman claimed in the Dail today that due to our history of emigration, there’s “an unvetted male migrant in every one of our families”.

I know for a fact my uncles’ passports and their 'papers', etc were checked at ports & airports when they emigrated to Birmingham or Holland in the mid 1970s. For Banks and even when they booked flats etc. O'Gorman is a fool. An NGO gave him that talking point

I don't support brutality at all.

No skin in the game. Paranoid much?

Wow.

there is a difference between 'vetting ' someone and looking at their passports. Big difference.

Oh, and there is not any requirement for Irish people to have a passport to go to the UK. Free travel existed between UK and Ireland even in the 70s.

So you knowing 'for a fact ' doesn't mean much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭enricoh

Back in April it was costing 30 million a week to pay for Ukrainians in hotels n bnb's.

That number doesn't include asylum seekers in hotels, direct provision etc.

numbers have grown since and I doubt hoteliers renewing contracts have been slow to put the boot in. Probably closer to 60 mil a week now for accommodation alone.

Anyone take a stab at what 100k + Ukrainians and asylum seekers are costing a year?

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41112766.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭enricoh

Saw a clip of him n aodhan o Riordan in the dail yesterday- the famine wasn't mentioned this time which is progress I guess!

Utterly deluded, no plans whatsoever - just shout down any naysayers.

Think the penny is now dropping that this has snowballed out of control.

Maybe an early election next year as corporation tax miraculously got a big bump this month and Joe public doesn't have to pay for this farce- just yet!

I'm talking about immigration to Ireland, not the refugee / asylum situation. We are totally in control of our own immigration laws and how many work and student visas are issued by the state every year.

As far as Seán or Sineád Citizen is concerned - an immigrant covers all non nationals who have appeared on our streets. And the impact this is having on us as a society.

Paschal Donohoe very cleverly trying to jump ship to the IMF, after splashing the cash, aka our hard earned tax. It was said so many times on here that the amount of money being spent on housing refugees and gifting them so much Welfare without question, is simply unsustainable. I would hate to see anyone lose their jobs because of a recession but this absolute farce will not slow down without one.

I saw the rural TDs speak up about immigration and fair to them and more power to them.

• This content has been removed.

I don't disagree with anyone discussing immigration policy, I point out lies and hyperbole. I believe in facts, truth and the law.

I believe the current immigration legislation that this country implement is a good policy.

I personally believe that we should have some even stricter policies in place here, every person coming into the country should be required to register their name and address with identification within a few weeks of coming here to live.

I'm not quite sure what you're asking here;

At the extreme, if someone committed a crime in another country should they be penalized for it on entering Ireland or allowed to evade the law?

Ireland is part of the Schengen Information System, which is the system for sharing information for border management in Europe. Wanted people who present at the border will cause an alert.

I don't believe we have jurisdiction to penalise people for crimes committed elsewhere. I don't believe people should be allowed to evade the law.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭freebritney

Do you agree with the Taoiseach when he said we are at capacity or very near?

I think the Taoiseach ( or whichever of his advisors told him to) said what he did because he wants to keep his job. He sees that his government is not being blamed for all the wrongs, and that people are blaming immigrants instead.

very easy for him to jump on that bandwagon now, ingratiate himself to anti immigration voters, while getting away Scott free with his government's failures to provide proper services.

Capacity referred to current emergency accommodation for refugees / asylum seekers - definitely not to anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭freebritney

So that's a big no then, see it's the constant gaslighting on this issue that is getting everyone upset. I don't blame the immigrants and I think the vast majority don't either. I think the vast majority see the system being gamed and are getting fed up of Cairns, O'Gorman and others telling them they're far right for pointing out the system is being abused. I mean if you cannot admit that a man lived in a free house for 10 years with 24 of his family and worked a few weeks upon entering the country before claiming disability isn't morally repugnant then your are not arguing in good faith. I know we've plenty of our own mooches at the same craic and that's not right either, but inviting in 1000's of others here to go at the same game isn't sustainable either.

I absolutely have issues with welfare frauds. Regardless of their nationality.

I believe out welfare system needs some serious changes.

That's nothing to do with immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,965 ✭✭✭buried

So you see him as being a disingenuous character?

That's interesting. He is the head of the government, and you now view him as a disingenuous character. So you also agree his government and party is also disingenuous, right?

Welcome to the club who have known that has been the case for the last decade.

What else do you now realise he and they have been disingenuous about? Immigration?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

More than likely he mean all accommodation not just emergency

I wouldn't suggest it is far right no.

It limits asylum seekers only. So your issue is entirely with asylum seekers, no other immigrants? What limit would you suggest?

There were 13,000 approx in 2022, I don't know how many this year.

Also, housing is a supply issue. I'm not sure why you think financially well off people are unaffected by immigration? Immigrants to this country are at all levels of wealth.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on