Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

When you look back over the last few pages and the various setups that have ran into trouble,what's the thing that strikes you most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,762 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

That so many on here are delighted to think other lads are failing

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,416 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Jack98

The guys who succeeded from the multi unit model were from substantial operations already, worked for two and the most successful guy had a huge home farm he could have easily went home in partnership with parents but now is milking across 5 farms. Home farm used to rear heifers for all farms now and could have always fell back on that if the rest didn’t work out.

Too many young people were sold the dream of share farming and taking multi units to grow wealth to buy farms down the line, of all the guys on multiple units that guy is the only one I know in our general area to have bought land but with income he has outside farming and the owned home farm to back it he was in a position a lot trying to ‘build up wealth’ would not be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I would say their ambitious, ambition doesn't go well with farming. .Secondly I think there's enough for a decent living but not to get rich

Post edited by kevthegaff on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,850 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I'd love to know what bank these guys deal with.

They don't back brave anymore, make things as difficult as possible for people now.

That was tongue and cheek, they’re gone brutal, all dealings are with them at home but will be going with BOI for loan over the next 10 days if they don’t match what they’re offering BOI have been far easier to deal with.

Aib reckon ulsterbank over borrowed a lot of customers and they're having to deal with the fall out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭green daries

It was mostly ulster for the bigger lads especially lads interested in the second and third farms they were looking for my business when I was looking for a couple of fairly big loans at the one time they were the only ones keeping manners on bank of Ireland in my case anyway they were coming in substantially lower with interest rates and were more flexible around levels of security etc. The agri lender for them had it as a selling point that they were the bank of choice for the people who were driving on and expanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭cjpm

Absolutely Incompetent Bastards my neighbour describes them as

That's the main point I think it's nearly like the joke ..how do you make a million farming...you start with two 🤔 if everyone knows the margins are tight over a five to ten year cycle what In gods name convinced lads that loads of staff in different counties never mind yards was going to give big returns.......and I'm not talking about the group farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,750 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

An ammount of shite agreed last few pages but that statement is unfair and no matter who I’d never like to see anyone fail or go under …..all these greenfield ventures and share milking agreements etc never got them …huge risks and lads just got too greedy or big for there boots …I know of a few who would look down on smaller farmers as just been in there way and think they can just bulldozer them out of the way

They may be . And to an extent your right

Kev but. From my point of view wheres the margin. Teagasc advice on a farmer converting to dairy is or was that you would not break even in first four years and no profit for the next two. That was a few years ago and they had no figures for the second unit set ups when asked . Now obviously there's a variety of reasons for this to be better or worse than the above scenario (edited auto correct kept putting Kevin instead of kev)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,762 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Well you come across as bitter, very bitter

You'll say you're not but you're posts are littered with mentions of heros and poor performing cows. All ways of putting other lads down. But then you'll sign off with "there's enough people outside farming to put farmers down" so it's all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,763 ✭✭✭straight

Find AIB grand for our needs, they haven't let me down so far.

If you think so. it's your opinion 🤷...everyone is entitled to their own.

mahoney_j I think it was yourself that was on about the vat on calf feeders being withdrawn...just wondering if you have heard anything else on it or what other equipment is in the firing line think someone mentioned milk tanks

...that may have been on another platform 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Labour, if you haven't got a good highly experienced team managing the farm and farming it like their own your f**ked unless your prepared to put in the hours yourself to make it work.....

Then the margins most years simply aren't their to pay enough to form a team like the above so corners are cut and farm owners expect lads to work 60 plus hours a week and milk cows twice a day year round,workers leave then and you get a vicious cycle and revolving door of staff coming and going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,340 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I was talking with AIB before I built. Two people came out to me. Before we even talked about costs or looked at plans one little prick asked about a loan my parents fell behind on over 15 years ago but paid the loan. I told the two of them to get back into the jeep and head out the gate.

I stuck with BOI and found them very helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

It’s quite simple really

if you had 2- 300 cows on mostly owned land with loans for cap ex on that farm nearing an end and it not needing any immediate investment soon you had a ball of money and heifers to put some where

johnny and Mary down the road 10 miles away with a 100ha block are gone old and want to retire and the place is available at reasonable money and you have heifers and money to buy there cows and have milk flowing straight away in a few months

thats basically the blue print for alot if these places and the home place carried it for a year or 2 until it got going and then all of a sudden the cash from at home is freed up again

i personally know one family operation who have bought an awful lot of land in the last 5 years in one of the busiest farming areas in the country and wouldn’t have done it with out all the cows they’re milking

in time they’ll have a block of ground for each child should they wish to Persue farming or an asset they can liquidate either

im not trying to big ppl up or run ppls noses in it but it is possible and clever lads have made it work and fair play to them.

just look at the hickeys there from Kilkenny, shrude operators who own an awful lot of land now. It is said they came into alot of money along the way but what about it if that’s the case. They spent it wisely. They may not be liked but you can’t deny the lads that are making this work are willing to go above and beyond what others aren’t.

A bit of luck involved along the way too of course !

We were taken to a farm walk in the midlands with ag college when I did green cert a farm bought 5 years previous and fully converted, new parlour the works and new cow accommodation . Owners were very open said it wouldn’t have been possible only they happened to buy two petrol stations in a town during the recession and the town boomed and shops made them a killing.

A bit of transperancy in some cases would just show people who see the poster boys what a farm can buy and what you need alongside it in some cases to expand your farm.

You’d need extremely deep pockets the guys who have that rented long term won’t let that go easy, prominent contractors and big dairy men.

Not quite that simple now to do that ….more power to people you outlined there and they deserve all the success that comes there way …..labour and lack of it is now the killer and places huge risk in second /third units …..personally I wouldn’t risk my bread and butter (existing land and what I have )…..I’ve no want to be the local bollix in the parish either mopping everything up …..when is enough going to be enough for some 🤔🤔🤔🤔…..at end of the day we’re all heading one way and wether you have here lies Jerry maguire died x day remembered by loving family etc or here lies big dairy farmer Jerry maguire milked 1000 cows on 4 farms always on the hunt for land no wife estranged kids remembered by his cows land and dog ….

My father started off with 50 acres and we have over 400 between us all now. Alot of hard work and sacrifice but loved it as we went.

The problem with alot of these lads is that they know nothing else only farming and that's all they see to do with their surplus money. Diversification is important I think myself.

I don't know alot of those guys that are spoken of here but the problem I have is that they are used as poster boys to drive on less skilled and able people down a similar road which often just leads to ruin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Calf feeders, milk tanks , auto scrapers so far