Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,136 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

His approach to putting is interesting. No reads from caddie, quick walk around and then hit it based on feel mainly. While it is easy to criticise other golfers who follow more elaborate processes and have putting coaches the margins are so fine at the top level you'd wonder if he did have a more exacting process would it help him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,336 ✭✭✭Trampas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Leslie Purkiss

SL needs to lose a serious amount of weight. Hard to take him seriously in current shape.

Mod Comment

Absolutely ZERO discussion around Shane’s weight. We’ve been there before. This is a topic covered and not welcome to be repeated. End of.

Post edited by slave1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭coillcam

MOD EDIT: No discussions on Shane's weight/shape

Warnings will be instant going forward

Post edited by slave1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,723 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

All that matters for golf is flexibility, to be able to turn your shoulders, and enough fitness to comfortably walk six miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭coillcam

Pretty much it for the most part. Although you do need the speed/power for distance at tour level.

However at club level you just need to be able to finish the round. The lads who won my club's 4 ball matchplay had a sprightly combined age 173. Great to see them win.

Yeah, you need the speed but that comes from the turn and obviously increasing your speed at the ball.

Great to hear about two old guys winning the four-ball.

Shane headed to woodies after his game yesterday and not the range to get some 3 in one oil to get rid of the rust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

🤦.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭gypsy79

win tomorrow and Ludvig Aberg has more playing rights than Shane Lowry!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,997 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Aberg is different gravy though, already more wins on tour than Tommy Fleetwood.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

And Monty and regular pga events than Shane. Shane choose not to try qualify for the big early events. Time will prove if a risk worth taking

Its a VERY long road back.....he needs do very well in middle east in January or he is behind the 8 ball for rest of season

i just cant see him winning one of the lower events. They will all be birdie fests

And it gets worse next year if the LIV guys are actually coming back

I have to say, greedily, that I'm delighted. I don't and have never watched short field events since early in the WGC days. They are awful.

Some of my favourite events are being ruined by this.

I'll be watching the alternative events when these are on and I'll get to see loads of Shane as he'll be in the featured groups all the time.

Another thought going through my head is that there are 4 sponsorship exemptions for each event!!!

Which may explain why his social media has gotten so cringeworthy

Maybe he was told about an invite to genesis (eldrick might get one spot) but can’t see him getting one for AT&T since hasn’t played it recently

I expect Thomas to get a spot in both

His swearing isn’t really what a sponsor wants also even if shows passion

Scott and Billy Horschel might be in with a shout for invites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭dublin49

How is Shane at num 37 in world rankings not getting into the big events,Jaysus he has got himself into a pickle now,will need to play really well to prevent a slide down the rankings,I am of the opinion he cant currently put 4 goods rounds together so has become a fixture in mid table which was ok before the new changes as he will get hot once or twice a year but if hes not in the big ones he wont make up much ground,Is this his last year of exemptions for the 3 majors as well,No need to panic but a potential crossroad awaits,

I'd say the golfers not in it with the biggest social media following are most likely to get in. That'll attract more viewers, sponsors and advertisement revenue.

Money talks.

All entries are based off the Fed Ex cup from last year and the early events from this season which is now known as the fall standings

Top 50 from last season's Fed Ex and top ten from this year's events so far. Current season tournament winners also get in.

It's set up as follows, For Pebble Beach,

Too 50 from last year's FE cup.

Next 10 from fall standings. Next ten means top ten not including those from last year's Cup..

Swing 5 which is top five best, not included in the other groups, from the Sony Open through the Farmers.

Exact same situation for the Genesis except the swing five includes Pebble Beach

Arnold Palmer,

The swing five changes to best from the México Open and The Classic, formerly Honda.

And it goes on like that with somewhere between the previous two and four tournaments as the swing five.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Hadn't realised or had just forgotten that had changed and was wondering what all the fuss was about.

I get the people think the Shane should be doing more but at this stage, but we should probably know by now that he's not going to be your typical golfer. There'll be highs and lows, more so than others, I wouldn't worry about him falling off the radar but I suppose it is a risky game to be playing.

From an interview/vlog he did recently, I got the impression the he's going to really focus on the Masters this year and that early season preparation will be all about that. He has had 4 very solid years at Augusta and I think he could pop up with a green jacket at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭dublin49

why is he not playing now given I presume he will be resting up for the big events. I suppose its a conundrum for him because if he tries to play his way in he will be bollixed when he gets there but if he doesnt he will be fresh with only DP or Asia to play,

He also could get back in by getting in OWGR top 30 for full info so a win in middle east in January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭abff

A win in one of those events is a big ask, based on his recent form. And I’m not even sure there would be enough world ranking points at stake to get him back into the top 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Not focused on Shane but he's featured in the group. Interesting insight none the less I found. They really have to fill a lot of time with small talk.

I noticed Shane hasn’t his name on the entry list for either of the Dubai events which seems strange as one is a Rolex event. I presume he’s starting on the pga to try and get into the big events over there. Anyone see where he is starting again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭GolfPar

Thought I saw he was starting in the American Express, which is the week after next on the PGA Tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭abff

Fingers crossed he can get off to a good start. 🤞🤞🤞

Solid round from Shane but it’s hard to know where he’ stands with them playing 3 courses this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,809 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

The LQ course which he played on Thursday is the best represented at the top of the leaderboard.

There are three courses - LQ, NT and SC, here's how players who played those courses are represented at the top of the leaderboard, down to tied 14th - 22 players.

LQ 12

NT 7

SC 3

Now factors which influence the difficulty of one course over the others (e.g. wind) might not be repeated over the next two rounds (the cut is after play on Saturday) but it looks like LQ is by far the easiest and SC the most challenging of the three courses. So Shane will have a challenge to climb up the leaderboard. He's playing NT today (Friday) and the first round scores would suggest that he's going to progress from the easiest to the most difficult over the three days.

Post edited by coylemj on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭Heighway61

Birdie birdie eagle on his last three holes to make the cut.