Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 sidekick simon

As pointed out, Merrion Square closes over the St Patrick's Festival. Also, aren't parts of the city closed off for New Year's Eve? Have the Gardai issued a figure of how many arrests were made at the marathon? I think we could all guess the number.

City Centre was packed last Sunday, plenty of money spent in pubs, coffee shops, hotels etc. Fantastic, positive, friendly atmosphere and the likes of Keegan and the NTA want to find fault. Twats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

It also closes for Pride and the Street performing world championships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Tommy Max

yes huge number of people very frustrated it appears that they couldn't get a place. hence why so many ran under another name. that's on top of the 6k no shows, that's a fair chunk of the 22k capacity that didn't run.

I see the race director is quoted as being at a loss why there was so many no shows. clearly the feedback and queries being logged are not being very well communicated within in the organising team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭custom_build

Claiming that there is no need for change or some sort of success is a bit of a misnomer when there is a 27% no show.

There were people on earlier claiming it was all about the runners and not a cash grab (which I believe), but it is a success only financially.

The event does seem quite parochial, which in turn reduces the status of the event. It is not run, nor does it have the feel of an international marathon. I've done many.

Now this may be the goal of the organisation, which is well and good. However you can't then complain when dcc or the nta, treat it as the event that it is and feel they have the authority to pressure a move.

Its either an international event hosted in Dublin, with prestige and power.

Or is a large local Irish marathon that sails on the winds of council pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Might get a bit of grief for this and I know you shouldn't run under someone elses name under the rules but honestly I don't see anything wrong with it. Even in the worst case scenario if there was an emergency and someone collapsed and was hospitalized not knowing exactly who they are shouldn't impact that much on the medical treatment more than randomly collapsing in the street. 99.9% of the time it would be fine and for €115 I would (and have) run under someone elses name.

Maybe a conversation for another thread though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I'm not suggesting there's no need for change. Simply pointing out that there is little evidence that a series of concurrent smaller races like a 10ks and/or a half marathon and/or a relay (your original suggestion) is necessary to drive interest in the event, which has been selling out at capacity for years. There's little evidence that there would be fewer no shows if these events were incorporated, even if they were needed to generate sales.

I've done a good few international marathons too. I would imagine they all rely on local authorities for permits and sign off on road closures, etc. The amount of buy-in from local authorities is probably different in different locations, with different systems of local government etc. While I wouldn't be too worried about the latest Dublin start/finish area kite flying, I would be wary of council pressure in general, due to the influence of local elected representatives lobbied by disgruntled local residents etc., which does seem to be more of a threat to city events in Ireland than elsewhere.

Dublin marathon is hardly parochial, or at least it's the most international event we have, and it certainly has international ambitions. It would have gone under years ago had the organisers not made special efforts to market to the international running community when locals had little interest in it. That said, things are far more competitive now, coupled with the extraordinary times we are living in, with high inflation , accommodation shortages, price gouging etc (although I've been recently gouged in Amsterdam and Berlin and Chicago too, so it's definitely not just an Irish thing.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

When you say "International marathon", can you please explain what you mean and where you are comparing it to?

Sure, I've run Paris, Berlin, Valencia and Amsterdam.

Seeing as Amsterdam is the most recent and also the city the closest size and population (although Amsterdam is smaller on both) I'll use there as an example.

Of the 20,000 entrants and roughly 16,000 finishers. 52% came from a country other than the Netherlands, with a total of 130 different nationalities at the start.

That is in contrast to Dublins 2% rate.

This was my experience in all the other locations also.

Hence, when I say international marathon, this is what I mean. 98% of participants are from Ireland, making it a very big local feeling marathon. Which people on here seem quite happy with. Far be it from me...

Post edited by custom_build on

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,210 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Where is the 2% figure coming from? Plenty of articles I am seeing say it is in the thousands. Wikipedia says 5,000 for 2019 (no reference though).

From 2016:

https://www.fm104.ie/news/sport/participants-put-in-last-minute-prep-ahead-of-the/

Race Director, Jim Aughney, says the race is now the fourth largest marathon in Europe.

"With the enteries we have here, we have Paris, Berlin and London just ahead of us, so Dublin is up there with the big numbers.

" We have 5,700 coming from overseas over the weekend, when you look at the London Marathon, they have less than 3,000, so as in international marathon, we rate higher than London.

From 2022, over 5,000

Plus Amsterdam is a lot easier to get to from abroad than Ireland. You can get trains from a few different countries to it which would certainly help. I know people who work in The Netherlands but live abroad.

That dublinlive article says there were 25,000 participants when there were just over 14,000, so I'd take that with a pinch of salt.

I read a number off 500 international participants in the newspaper last week, I've been trying to corroborate that online but there is no real detail on the Dublin marathon website like other marathons.

Sure, it might be easier to get to Amsterdam and that may be one of the reasons it has the feel of a proper international marathon, unlike Dublin.

By the way you didn't need to look too hard the other weekend to see the field was entirely dominated by Irish people, I've never seen so many John's and Mary's in one place.

Look I think Dublin has been a great success alongside the cultural change towards more athletic activity in society. I don't think they've increased the numbers and more people have signed up. I think demand has risen and they've kept up.

I think it's great, I just believe it could be so much better.

This is a list of world athletics marathon labels, there's 49 here. Dublin doesn't make the list.

It'd be a great thing to strive for, if there was the ambition.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_World_Athletics_Label_marathon_races#Platinum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

On the other hand you could take encouragement from how many Irish people want to take part, as others have said it was in the low single thousands not that long ago.

Also a large change also in the amount of unattached runners taking part, running clubs locally here had very few entries compared to the number of other unattached entries.

I'm agreeing with you, I think is great that more people have come to the sport and the organisation have facilitated this.

All the things that everyone here thinks are positive, I do too.

There's is certainly a reticence for change, but I'm barking up the wrong tree. Expressing that view here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I wouldn't say resistance to change just don't see the advantage of change, you will still get 20% no show on average no matter what you do, Its only the last 2 marathons that there was any issue getting a place for.

20% isn't just average though. It's the worst side of average when that is 10%-20%.

Besides the last two years have been 27% and 42% no show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Is it more of an Irish thing maybe? Every Race i sign up for be it 5km to Marathon has a huge DNS number. I'm sure it was the same for all the race series races too and you'd imagine it'd be highest of all in a marathon.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,210 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm sure there were plenty of Jean and Maries at the Paris marathon but not sure how that affects how international it is. There were actually only 22 Marys and over 100 Johns (some of that 100 probably had it in their surname so may not actually be a John) at Dublin. The Dublin Live article may be wrong but it matches up with the other article with a quote from the race director. I can't imagine the number of overseas entries has dropped over 90% in a few years. I imagine you are either mis-remembering the news article or it was a typo. Closing off the transfer and refund window so far out is definitely a valid criticism but this seems like you are just trying to find reasons to criticise it. Is the reason the other marathons you went to feel more international just because they're in a different country and have very few Irish people which would be expected of a marathon not in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 SMACS

Edit

Berlin was 10% last year, new York something in the single digits.

I've emailed the office to see if they can give an accurate number.

I could easily see the international entries dropping that much. This year for example 11,250 tickets are already gone. Take out the charity places and gfa and invitees and your heading toward 10,000. Now I don't think Dublin has the cache of the 49 marathon above so can't see international entrants being wildly aware of the three days they have just after the last marathon to sign up to a lottery.

The reason the other marathons felt international was because there were 130 odd nationalities and plenty of Irish too. The streets were thronged with supporters waving flags from dozens of different nations, including 🇮🇪

Imagine I'm shouting this part because it doesn't seem to be coming across.

I think Dublin marathon is brilliant! I think a few things could make it a brilliant international event with greater bye in from government and society. I'm not looking to criticise the event I'm suggesting ways to make it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 SMACS

Do you have figures for number of places deferred in those races? Are those places opened back up to the public

As far as I am aware, no major marathon does deferrals.

London marathon isn't 20+% no show BTW, it's less than 10%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

I imagine the vast majority of marathons are fairly local in their feel. You could certainly argue that's the way it should be too. You have to think that most people that do anything like this would do 1 a year, maybe 2. With that in mind you'd have to think that the biggest one near where you live should have the most appeal. It's also the least disruptive to your own preparation as you're less likely to have to engage in obstacles like travel close to race day as well as staying in unfamiliar surroundings. Even the local entrant is faced with a problem on race day unless you're coming from reasonably close to the start line.

I'd imagine only the most prominent races have any meaningful international presence. Entering the New York or London marathon has sufficient prestige that it has its own incentive and very few events have that draw.

There's a very understandable reason why Dublin wouldn't have much of a niche for the international competitor, outside of the fact that it's not a global major. Even the biggest events have this advantage over Dublin in the main too.....and that is the difficulty of the course. If you're going out of your way to participate you're likely either doing it to chalk off a major event or because the course offers a good PB chance. Amsterdam and Rotterdam aren't major events but they are flat courses and have excellent infrastructure to facilitate such an event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Well you suggested adding 10k/HM races etc. That would be change, but change for the worse in my opinion. You seemed unaware that the race has been selling out every year. Some sort of change is necessary to fix the large no-show percentage (e.g. do away with guaranteed entry, better transfer system, maybe more places based on qualifying times, etc, etc).

With the greatest of respect this particular thread is a bit of a love in for past participants who want to clap each other and the marathon committee on the back. There is no space here for an alternative voice, so I will bid you adieu.

To those who enter the verious lotteries, best of luck. But if you don't make it there are many other marathons out there that offer something different to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

Both London and Berlin do deferrals, London you can defer right up to the day before the race (however I would not try and compare Dublin to it because London is a huge huge organisation with big money behind it). No major marathon does transfers or refunds however, I know its a bone of contention but this is unusual and in the favour of the runner. Imo, the issue is having to sign up so soon after the race to guarantee entry - have an open lottery and be done with it (only gfa get guaranteed entry) this would sort out a lot of the DNS. Again, just my opinion....

Interestingly I read somewhere that London has so much data from over the years that it can predict down to a couple of hundred runners how many will start on the day, must swe if I can dig it up.

Edit: found a link that breaks down London no shows, ranges from 24-30% over the last few years

https://atkosite.wordpress.com/2019/05/22/london-marathon-record-ballot-numbers-what-are-your-odds/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭Trampas

How many entries go to travel operators, charities and what % of them are no shows.

Is London still free public transport on the marathon day if you’ve a number? Maybe Dublin short tell us what they’ve to pay for? How much towards the gardai to pay for overtime. How much for barriers and water etc and compare that to London and similar size European marathons. Do the government or councils pay for things

Was chatting to someone in the know (works for a timing company) and he was saying they have to rent out Dublin Castle for the weekend to house the Garda command centre (including anti-terrorism unit) on top of the guards on the route (all on Sunday rates paid by the marathon. He was saying the race risk assessment document alone cost up to 1/4 million euro. The reason the race is not shown on TV is that the marathon has to pay to broadcast it! The Dublin marathon has to pay for everything so sponsorship is vitally important (more so than entry fee).Only the volunteers are free (and the 3 cans of deodorant!)