Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

And they'll have some lovely parades after to remember the glorious dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Apiarist

1 million Russian army in Ukraine is unlikely. I think that Putin no longer needs a victory in Ukraine, a stalemate is fine, maybe even preferable. Right now, the Russian society is kept in a hysteria, where they are constantly pumped up by the hate-filled propaganda. They must ignore the worsening economic situation and all the dead soldiers, and feel the hate for Ukrainians, Jews, migrants or anyone, just not Putin.

When the was ends, regardless of the outcome, Russians may wake up and ask if it was worth it. Logically, the war is a huge mistake, and the mistake made by Putin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭dennis72

I do not view Russia or Russians as normal they are hated wherever they go.

I live in an area where they holiday there presence is widely disliked but for economics are accepted.

Saving Russia during ww2 was a big mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭20silkcut

At that time the alternative to saving Russia was a lot worse.

The alternative was a very efficient, much less corrupt, outright murderous and far more technically advanced killing machine that was very close to getting the Bomb.

The allies should have ploughed on to Moscow in 1945 but the appetite and political will was completely spent at that stage.

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,040 ✭✭✭✭briany

They obviously have more approaches than that because the response to the insurgency in Afghanistan was not to flood the valleys with countless grunts. The response in WW2 was much more about overwhelming numbers, but this was an existential conflict for Russia where it was a case of by any means necessary.

The Ukraine war is perhaps existential for Putin, as a failure there carries a huge risk of the end of his political career or worse, but for his people? I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Their quality of life would improve very soon if the war stopped. But they have been whipped into a frenzy by fake news about the west threatening their right to exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭m2_browning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭I.am.Putins.raging.bile.duct

Russia can get all the shells in the world but nobody can give them enough barrels which is what they desperately need. Their arty is outdated and inaccurate compared to Ukraines now also, russian arty needs to be in very large batteries all firing in a tight square to be effective as they are so inaccurate. Unless they use this doctrine which they can't anyone more, their arty is basically only scaring crows. I posted a very good hour long video by Perun a few weeks ago about russia losing arty supremacy I'll try find it again. On top of all this the Ukrainians have become masters at counter battery.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,318 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

While the Soviet war effort(not just Russia, nearly half of the Red Army weren't Russian) and truly horrific sacrifice was without doubt a major contribution in bringing an end to Nazi Germany's end and one that should be 100% acknowledged and celebrated, it's highly unlikely we'd be "speaking German now buddy" if they stayed out of it, or indeed joined Nazi Germany as quasi allies. After all, they were at the start, agreeing to carve up Eastern Europe between them, while German tanks needed Soviet oil and steel to blitzkreig their way across Western Europe. When does WW2 start in Europe, when does Russia commemorate the start? That near two year gap has been memory holed for a reason...

Nazi Germany's economy was unsustainable in the long term(and not too sweet in the short or medium), while the Soviet military machine was outdated, relying on sheer numbers and their economy was grown on the back of imports of Western tech. That western tech and millions of tonnes of weapons, transport, food, etc that they got through Lend Lease wouldn't have happened if they'd stayed out of it or gone rogue. The Brits alone sent them two million pairs of army boots but one example of that, and that was a tiny percentage of the stuff. The US sent 14000 aircraft, 13000 tanks and a host of other kit, including over a third of all explosives used by the Soviet Union, 80% of their copper and fifteen million boots on top of the Brit's two, amounting to over five hundred billion dollars in today's terms.

America kicked off the Manhattan Project in late 41. Germany was years away from an atom bomb and going down the wrong path and the Soviet Union only got theirs after post war espionage helped them. So an Allied attack(without the Soviets) on Germany would almost certainly have a city like Hamburg or Berlin herself reduced to radioactive dust. Game. Over. And Moscow would have been next if they got too twitchy.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,330 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Russian 1: Wanna hear a joke about how yesterday we bombed our own units?

Russian 2 : Lucky we missed them all. And I don't smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,649 ✭✭✭Rawr

Just Putin-bot nonsense from that one I’m afraid Wibbs. I had suspected he was doing the more advanced «slow-burn» trick of coming on here to «just ask questions» for a bit before getting into the meat of his Russian disinformation later on once «established»

He was notibly the only user I noticed cropping up liking the posts of our current resident Russia fan.

Based on the pattern I expect a «we need a ceasefire and peace now!» post from him or something similar in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Polar101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭dennis72

Ukraine is not winning I think time is on the side with more resources is that double Dutch to you?

I am up 4 Ukraine but they needed a similar result to last year especially with better weapons and training so get real, the 47th has been pulled from zapairiska or whatever to avidakia not a good look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,422 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

No need to get angry with other posters for calling out your gobbledygook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Has Putin promoted the commander in charge yet?

Given how he loves a good meat grinder, expect thousands more to be sent there.

The greatest asset Ukraine and NATO have in this war is Putin.

Lets review shall we.

WW1 - mass slaughter on front line which was in turn the primary cause of the Russian revolution. No effort to save Russian lives.

Winter war with Finland - mass slaughter of Russian army by much smaller force. Sole strategy was to overwhelm Finland with numbers which they eventually did at a horendous cost to themselves.

WW2 - overwhelmed the Nazis with numbers. Germans could simply not supply themselves with enough ammo to kill Russians. Russian training was minimal, life expectancty short. Why spend time training someone thats going to be dead in a week or two?

Afghan War - took a beating, did indeed flood the valleys with conscripts who were easy targets.

Chrchen Wars - same story, poorly trained conscripts killed by the thousands. Plan C was to flatten the place.

Ukraine war - no huge improvement, pooly trained conscripts sent in to overwhelm the Ukrainians. As with previous wars human wave attacks in broad daylight a feature, with todays human wave climbing over the bodies of yesterdays wave. This is how the Russians do war and no-one is expecting it to change anytime soon.

They already have 400,000 in Ukraine. Once the election is over, don't be surprised to see a massive conscription drive to match the massive blood lust of the Russian leadership. They are hell bent on destroying Russia in the medium and long term and are determined to bring as many Russians into the grave with them as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,995 ✭✭✭jmreire

Well if the Nr of shells fired can be proved ( and it seems they can be) and that Nr exceeds the promised Nr. etc. then the additional shell 's have had to come from somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

From the articles I previously posted from one of biggest western suppliers they said it would take years to get up to the capacity needed to supply those numbers, we keep seeing claims of America having 4 million cluster munitions, yes America Might have access to 4 million cluster munitions but America has not said they are planning to send 4 million cluster munitions to Ukraine,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

And yet Ukraine have fired over 1 million more artillery than the 300k delivered by the 'west'.

Nice to see you using the correct figure for cluster shells and not the 100+ million figure you used before (counting the submunitions)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭I.am.Putins.raging.bile.duct

lads the barrels are wearing out, blowing up and getting killed but won't be replaced. shells are a moot factor now for russia as the decline is on a steady logarithmic decrease.

all russia is trying do now is fill trenches with meat and mine the shite out of the land behind them. desperation 101 and nobody is coming to save them this time like WW2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,649 ✭✭✭Rawr

That’s the thing isn’t it. They can get their hands on (and maybe even produce) huge amounts of dumb munitions, but unless they can keep the launching systems & vehicles in working condition and replace where needed, it won’t really matter how many shells they’ve got.

As you suggest, there will be no US supply drop up in Murmansk to save their skins this time. They have to rely on the leftovers of fellow despots, and that won’t last forever.

Ukraine themselves are not asleep at the wheel

we’ve seen the amounts of weaponry and rockets likes of Hamas and Houthis acquired while being under blockades building missiles in garages

A civilised country of 40 million with open borders and large existing industrial base and history of weapons production and support from neighbours and west can and will produce more

Notice how Ukrainians are not even talking about artillery anymore (the 5 million cluster rounds US wants to clear out us equivalent to 50million dumb rounds in their mince meat creating capabilities) but medium to long range missiles and anti drone and ev capability while pilots are being trained for next year.

Putin is playing tick tack toe while Ukrainians are playing 3D chess

The latest round of sanctioned specifically went after those transfers of tooling and components to Russia, time is not on Russian side despite what their army of useful idiots might claim, Russia de industrialised in 90s and now we will watch them retard into 19th century

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,654 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

And calling Israeli's Nazis in the Israel/Hamas thread. All the checkboxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,995 ✭✭✭jmreire

It will last as long as the Russian National Reserve Fund lasts, and at the rate they are burning through cash, that's not going to last forever. The war is now the main driver of the economy, but war does not "earn" money, it takes from the existing "stock" without replacing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

This is getting repeated since year one and I'm not seeing anything to say there Barrels are running out, or they can't replace them , just like they ran out of men and missiles and vehicles and yet they are still coming and holding territory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,856 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

We went from Kiev in 3 days to we just about holding with help from (checks notes) North Korea

Next year is going to be wild