Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Life passing by people in their 30s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭rowantree18

People saying a 35k deposit taking "years" of savings.

If - if you're on 3k/month net and you live with your folks and throw them say, 400e a month, give yourself an incredibly strict budget of 600e for the rest of the month and live like a hermit, you CAN save 2k a month. No bought lunches, coffees, clothes, beauty treatments, holidays, no car, no social life. No nothing basically. But in 2 years you'd have nearly 50k.

The Indians do it, my night manager has 2 houses. This is their first management position so they did it on staff nurse salary. And as soon as they buy just one house they rent rooms in it and live with other Indian couples which is more normal in their culture. These couples effectively pay the mortgage until they too save enough and move on.

I reiterate - I'm not advocating this method, very difficult for Irish people. Buy, it CAN be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

I never said economic growth is the be all and end all. I have stated that numerous times but I guess thats not what you want to hear.

I also didnt say we should increase our population 6 fold. I said, for context, that England is 6 times more densely populated than we are.

Even if we went to 10 or 11 million, we would still be relativley sparse in comparison.

I dont agree with increasing the pension age to 70 just yet, although I do agree it should be incrementally increased.

I will say this though, your dream of depopulation in the west just isnt going to happen, so its rather pointless discussing it.

We can live more sustainably, sure. But it wont be through depopulation. Thats just the reality. I am not saying that is a good thing by the way, but I am saying it is a true thing.

Post edited by BlueSkyDreams on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,196 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

That would single handedly be the worst decision ever made in the history of irish fiscal policy. One of the few good things to come from the crash in 07-08 was an enforced more prudential attitude from lenders. I remember not only 100% mortgages, but 105 and 110% mortgages! Putting the holiday on a 25-35 year term.

CBI rules should be maintained. I agree that rental repayment should be taken as proven repayment capacity - and most lenders already do this. When I bought my first property in meath I was renting beforehand and all lenders I went to (AIB,BOI,PTSB) took rent payments into consideration. Even though the only proof I had was a rent book as the rent was cash in hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

You're wasting your time trying to reason with this poster. He/she has had several usernames in the past year or so that have all ended up getting sitebanned so came back multiple times starting the same threads again and again.

No matter how many times good advice was given, the poster continued to ignore them and got nasty to other users, including calling me a loser as I had moved back into my parents house for a while. He insulted another poster because they drove a Dacia (despite not owning a car themself). There were other examples too that I can't think of off the top of my head.

My advice to the poster (not that it'll be listened to) is to forget about what you perceive others think of you based on if you own a property or not. In my office there's approx 30 people. Of the other 29 people, I don't know any of their situations regarding who owns/rents/or lives with family. The guy sitting next to me that I talk to every day could be living in a palace or in the back of a van for all I know. People just get on with their own lives and don't really give these things a second thought, so I'd suggest doing yourself a favour and stop thinking the world is laughing at you for not owning a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,941 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

While I agree and disagree with you. I prefer proven knowledge as to theoretical(not to say a grad won't be amazing in the future).

Yes I think the standard of education has decreased, but I disagree about the free fees(plus theyre not free) being bad because a lot of smart people who didn't have an opportunity, now do. They're more driven I find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,941 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,576 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I be on that tomorrow morning flaking investment property. It has no previous rent advertised if that the case I could rent it straight away for 12-1800/month. Could probably go to 200k for a 9% ROI

It probably was rented and the RTB rent is probably very low so I have to leave it empty for 18-20 months after buying. If fussy Rednecks like @BillyHaelyRaeCyrus will not buy beause they are too fussy big bad landlord will and rent it back to them

Flaking option young lad was working in Dublin but is travelling at present he consider something like that if he came back and I would not be letting him leave it behind him if he was interested

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,576 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Still good value at that it's about 100-120k below build cost IMO

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Funnily enough I was watching armageddon with Bruce Willis the other night in it. Theres a line in it where he says theres 6 billion people on the planet or something like that.

I said to myself hold on theres 8 billion now. It was a 1996 film so

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,457 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Tell me how we can live sustainably while still increasing population indefinitely?

Because indefinite population growth is the exact opposite of what "sustainable" means.

I started this by challenging your idea of continually increasing population to deliver economic growth by saying economic growth wasn't the be all and end all. You've been arguing against me ever since - therefore you have to be arguing it IS the be all and end all.

If we got to ten million here, you'd be the one arguing for 15 million. After all, they have more people in other countries. And we're only a small country.

But these aren't arguments. You ultimately don't have any arguments. "10 million would still be sparse" isn't an argument when the world is overpopulated. Your posts are just you dripping with privilege, wanting to keep getting richer and trying to fob the fix on climate change and resource depletion on anyone else. You have repeatedly only shown concern for economic growth above everything else, yet you fail to acknowledge that without a sustainably-modelled society we'll always be looking for more people to grow our economy and pay pensions, etc

Why do you not agree with moving pension age to 70? Do you not agree it would bring economic growth? Do you not agree the 66 age belongs to another era? These are other things you're just unable to discuss. Again, because it would force you to acknowledge and address your privilege.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Kindness1

Hey there,

This may help you on your opinion on Meath 😊.

Just to let you know about my little oasis in beautiful Co. Meath. Slane... Slane is such a wonderful spot to live in, so beautiful too...Ireland's best kept little secret! The people living here often say to each other how fab the place is, but they would rather people don't know this as well so that it doesn't get too build up 😄😉! But once you are here you are welcomed with open arms, that is once you are a good sort, friendly and a decent type of person etc. There is a sense of care, loyalty and friendship here.

By car it takes 14 mins from my home to Navan town, 18 mins to Drogheda town centre, it's about 30 mins to Ashbourne in light traffic or about 45 mins in heavy traffic and an hour to O'Connell Street. An hour an 10 mins if traffic is heavy. (I've done these journeys hundreds of times). There are buses in every single direction. Dublin commuters going every morning with a great bus service in the centre of the village Many moved here for a better way of life & to work from home etc. You aren't compromising in any way living in Meath, as there are fantastic venues, theaters & cinemas here too & a great night life. The people are the best here, I've lived here many years now & once you do live in Slane, few people want to leave. But, as heads up, if you do anything majorly wrong to the people that have lived here now or even to past residents of Slane (people who were liked etc) it's also a village filled with those that never forget, because people know each other and care about their village & its residents... there is a major loyalty here. I have known of a few blowins that acted badly or where cruel to nice people living here and its the quickest way to find yourself on the outskirts of community life, as bad behaviour is not wanted or tolerated here and rarely forgotten, just my experience.

But me personally, I have never known such happiness, genuinely (and I've lived in a fair few places in the past) the people are the most friendly that you will find, that's if you are willing to mix in etc. People have been so good to me here. You cannot help but get involved in the community... and the village has everything to offer, a hotel, patisserie/cafe (George's), restaurant (Inside Out), a farm shop for all your fruit & veg, a Centra and another local corner shop with a post office, a credit union, a butchers, Slane Crafts, an art gallery, a pottery out the road, a primary school in the village, three take aways, a car showroom, several mechanics, a few montessori's, did I mention the best scenery and walks in the countryside to wake up too, plus different sporting activities in the area & the river boyne have plenty of canoeing/Kayaking and beside it Rock Farm and all its wonderful activities.

I've made tons of life long friends made here, with some very decent lovely people. There are a lot of guards living here, so it's a very safe place. The pubs are really fun too. We have a stunning castle, with a whiskey distillery, restaurant & coffee shop, and walks around the castle. My family & children love it here. The locals do look after one another, and when the concerts are on, the teens get their concerts tickets etc. They run the concerts so well here, despite what locals may say...lol... they often just want a little more funding from the promoters for local projects for the inconvenience of it and they are right there is money made here so fair enough, I applaude that, local needs are a must... but the concerts are just fun full stop and fab craic for the locals as well!!

They are a few local county councilors living here who really get things done as well, and we have a great youth club and community centre about to be opened, every single thing you really and truly want is actually on your door step. The hill of Slane... there is such history too!

Church lands and Ledwidge Hall are the best estates to live in, I dunno much about Riverview or Castle Gardens, but I have heard only nice things about those places too, I have never heard anything negative!

The village has many people commuting to Dublin every single day, so buses go very very frequently... a good bit of the village have Fiber optic broadband, the rest gets it in April to June '24. The pipes were laid in most places months back, Ledwidge Hall has an new Development called Fennor Lodge, so half the estate has Fiber and its turned on now because of Fennor Lodge and the other half of Ledwidge will be turned on very soon. But the WiFi is excellent in Slane thankfully anyway! But I personally and not a fan of Eir.

So, I hope this give you another bit of insight into life in a village in Meath... For me and many others who have moved here, the quality of life here is just fantastic. I had a house in blanch many years ago & I'd never go back to Dublin ever ever ever, it felt terrible compared to here... just my own personal experience.

I do hope you get sorted either way, but I do understand what you wrote, been there many moons ago. But maybe keep your options open as there are a definitely a few beautiful places in Meath & it may save you a few bob compared to Dublin, blanch takes nearly as long to get to anywhere as here with traffic. Wishing you the very best of luck with all. Best wishes 👌

X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Stupid lending means stupid lending to everyone. The person who can outbid you with 4X lending will still be able to outbid you if you both have 8x lending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I do agree that a proven record of rent paying should be considered against a deposit in some cases. I know banks don't like it as it tips the LTV against them, but maybe exceptions could be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I was more responding to the desire for "celtic tiger lending again"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭SharkMX

I partied in my 20s. When I compared myself and my friends who did to the ones who were sensible then, including some siblings - your statement holds. The ones who were sensible and saved and worked hard instead of taking time outs and traveling etc are much better off and stable in life than the rest of us.

Chasing economic growth has always been a primary goal for this and every other western government.

Do you honestly think Climate Change will confine the metric of Economic Growth to the history books?

I do not see that ever happening.

I think we will always chase economic growth, becuase we exist within a capitalist world.

And I dont need to justify the merits of economic growth, I didnt make the decision to prioritise it above all else. I do not work for the government.

On a positive note, It is perfectly possible for businesses to operate more sustainably though and that is what they will have to do.

They will all have climate targets to hit and I do agree we need to financially penalise industries or corporations that dont reach their targets.

Afaik, the govt have no plans whatsoever to place a cap on population growth in Ireland, but if you know better, I am open to correction.

I agreed with you that the pension age should increase to 70. But incrementally and over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Great post.

Why anyone would want to live in Dublin rather than a countryside village/small town is beyond me.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

There is an appeal to Dublin, but it's kind of at a certain time of life. I lived in a number of big cities as a young man, was able to come home in my early 30s and never missed that side of things.

With remote work, don't bet on city property in the years to come. It's already overpriced. By all means it's understandable to buy a home in Dublin city if you want to live there, but it's a far worse investment bet than for generations. Dublin prices down by almost 2% year on year. It's higher if you exclude apartments. Sure, rising interest rates are a big factor, and the market did cool outside Dublin to a lesser extent, but many people who would have had to live in Dublin previously will not be going there in the future. It will become even more a city of young people and immigrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Dublin offers more choice and its were most of the jobs are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,087 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

And women and food and pubs and coffee and shops and gigs

I graduated with a an arts degree from UCD. Dont ever to Archeology and Irish and expect a career out of it :) Muggins here didnt ciop on for years and got sucked into doing a useless masters too.

Total waste of time. After 3 years working in call centers and supermarkets and bars etc I said I would try something different.

Did an electronics cert at night in DIT. Took a shine to the software development. Then after that was finished a company gave me a job looking after their network in a building out in the sticks. Cost me more to travel there than I made but I was grateful for it and embraced it. Ended up writing software for them, which I still do for them a few days a month either in the morning or evening before my current job as i am still grateful to them for believing in me.

Current job is software developer in a multinational now making very good money. I still remember the interview and they were asking me how my arts degree got me there, i thought i was out, but they hired me thanks to a reference from my old boss.

But even then its only the last couple of years that ive really been interested in putting money away and getting on an buying a house/apartment. Prior to that i was happy to spend on all sorts of things - bad move on my part i can see now. I spent far too many years on useless degree, useless masters, traveling every few weekends, and Jesus what I must have spent on coffee and booze over the years :)

I am only now growing up. I definitely wouldnt have gotten away with waiting that long to grow up in my parents generation.

Are you sure the problem is that what you are doing and not what you are saying?

Just from this thread you come across as someone who would be very hard to live with or get on with. Nobody likes to be around someone who moans constantly about how everything bad in their life is down to others. And if you are anything like you are in this thread in real life people wont respond well to that kind of atmosphere when you are around.

And its not surprising that none of the people you now seem to own houses either because you probably drive anyone who does away by blaming them for your situation and trying to make them feel guilty about it.

Find it interesting with some of the comments here and that story in the Irish Times. It seems there's a cohort in Dublin who won't accept that they might need to move out of the city. It's kind of widely accepted that a fair amount of young people will leave rural areas, but some native Dubliners don't seem to see that they need to up sticks to have a bit of a life. I suppose there wouldn't be that background there in previous years.

I would say exactly the opposite.

I cant understand why you would want to live outside of Dublin.

Less entertainment, less shops, less theatre, less markets, less exhibitions/events, no restaurant scene, no gigs, no comedy, less job opportunity, less multicultural, more insular, less variety of everything, basically.

There is nothing down the country that Dublin doesnt have and country life to me is utterly sterile, insular and samey.

Dublin has great beaches, great parks, great walking and hiking trails, The sea, harbours and the Dublin mountains.

I have always found, ironically, that when you go down the country, you have to drive everywhere. Even if you want to go for a walk you have to drive somewhere to do it. :)

There are bundles of things Dublin offers that rural ireland will never have.

But it all comes down to what you want out of life and the stage you are in, ultimately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭BillyHaelyRaeCyrus

Yeah, I cant imagine living rural. Even living somewhere like Tallaght or Lucan, while I will do it, seems way outside of the action for me. Ive never even learned to drive as Ive always been able to walk or cycle. If it comes down to Ireland not being set up culturally (stigma) or practically (no long term leases or retirement payments for renters) to rent in Dublin long term if I cant buy then I will move to London, Manchester, Edinburgh etc. Id feel and do feel when I visit much more at home in a British city then in a rural part of Ireland outside Dublin.

Indeed. Those places have a similar vibe and would be a good shout.

Leeds, Glasgow & Bristol also.

Birmingham is still a bit meh.

Im going to say I think that place was flooded at some point and I think they did some work replacing floors and painting etc, but forgot a few things that give it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭BillyHaelyRaeCyrus

I know lots of people in Scotland at the moment. We seem to have a big rural/urban divide in this case. I guess they have a normality of moving to Dublin. But the reality is for Dubs, apart from a view estates in Kildare and Meath outside the M50, or north Wicklow, we dont move to other parts of Ireland. Go south of Greystones or West of Cellbridge and I literally have no family members living there. I wouldnt know anyone from Dublin living there either, I would know more people living in Asia I went to school with than outside of those areas. Its not an option, the option is generally emigration. And its really wrong that working class Dublin communities are being squeezed out of existence to make way for overseas tech workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,112 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

so you can do it, if you don’t live, give up on living… at some stage you’ll need to buy clothing… at some stage for your sanity, you’ll need entertainment and other stuff…

That's kind of what I thought the thread might be about, the extent to which younger people are giving up on normal life because of the state of the housing market. It is sad that people are still at home in their late 30s.

I don't like to bring everything back to immigration, but one politicial commentator (who has been cancelled) says the country will never again have a normal housing market and a strong economy at the same time. He says its just too easy to come to a small country like this and there'll always be a flood if the economy is strong, making it very hard for Irish people in terms of housing. Unfortunately he might be right.