Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The emergence of "Zombie" by The Cranberries as an Irish sporting anthem

Liam Kennedy is not an objective source on the troubles. You'll have to do alot better than that.

I'd tend to agree with you. If the Civil Rights Movement had been allowed to play out to it's conclusion things could have been so different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Pretty sure there were some on here earlier happy to be singing it as SF provocation.

But as I said, does it matter who started it?

It's clearly political now so they should pick another song.

• Administrators Posts: 55,163 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Imagine watching that game and what you take from it is to take issue with fans singing a song with lyrics that speak out against violence against innocent people?

My take on this is that unfortunately there are still plenty of people out there who need to go and get a life. The idea that it’s partionist is genuinely laughable, the attempts to portray it as such by the faux-intellectuals on Twitter would be amusing if it weren’t so depressing to see just how bitter (or stupid, in some cases) some people are.

Anyway, I dont think many people are going to be taking lessons on what’s appropriate regarding the legacy of the troubles in the north from a 40 year old comedian from Cork. What would he know about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

Objective reading says he's correct. The founders of the Provos - most of whom were not from the North - were open about their aims. The founders of the Provos were, to be entirely fair, fcuking idiots - at best.

The Fields Of Athenry is political. Should that be binned too?

Anhrán na bhFiann references the name of a political party. Therefore it's political. Should that be binned too from all Irish sporting occasions?

In your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

It doesn't seem anyone is claiming offence at either sing, or admitting to using them to offend.

So no, I think they're fine.

Also singing 'C'mon the Boys in Green' isn't political either, even if it "references the name of an Irish political party"

You might want to take a break.

So if a few miserable cranks online claim offence at a song, that's grounds for ditching it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,261 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Is the whole Zombie argument being put forward again now, simply a clever kick back about the controversy of the girls singing 'up the ra' a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,422 ✭✭✭trashcan

Thinks Zombie is a great song and calls me a miserabilist ! Hilarious. And a Primary school child could have written the lyrics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,171 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Song is huge all over Asia and has been for years for some unknown reason.

Kennedy's primary field of study is economic history, so make of that what you will. As for the PIRA, even though they were founded by mostly non-Northerners they were soon rapidly taken over by them, hence the subsequent dominance by the 'Northern Command' of the organisation. It's easy with the benefit of hindsight bias to state that they would never succeed with their campaign. They ridiculously underestimated the strength of British/Unionist opposition to them. Perhaps the total failure of the 1956-62 campaign should have been a good pointer in this regard? Ideally they should have never started at all, but seeing as they did, they should have quit in 1972 when Stormont was abolished. There's a good deal of truth in Seamus Mallon's comment that the 1998 settlement was "Sunningdale for slow learners".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I don't think it's even the usual social media cranks. It seems to be mainly Shinners who are deeply unhappy at a song which singles out the IRA for criticism (I never knew until this weekend that they don't like Dolores O'Riordan and have an issue with her because of the song).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Really time for them to start fight elections up north. <<< hint: that's called whataboutry.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

John Hume was far from entrenched. Indeed, you are actually quoting a speech he made around the same time that we was trying to broker a position of sitting down with Sinn Fein. Hume despised the IRA, that much has always been clear, but he certainly co-operated with militant Republicanisn because he rightly saw the value in doing so and he was criticised by a lot of the usual "I talk peace but do nothing to promote it" types. Indeed, three years previous to the speech you quoted, Hume's attempt to meet the IRA leadership in the Republic was criticised by Taoiseach Garrett Fitzgerald, who threatened to intervene and stop the meeting.

One could probably safely assume that, had Boards existed in 1985 and you were knocking around, you'd be giving us the "murderous bastards" blah blah and how horrid a man Hume must be to engage with them. But those views got us nowhere ultimately.

The Provo lovers hate when people are reminded of what the Provos actually did.

A good workman should be proud of their work, not desperately want to hide it.

The stuff they've been saying online about Dolores O'Riordan is scurrilous.

Best of luck to them in their campaign of demonisation against one of Ireland's most beloved singers, a woman who knew a thing or two about being an actual victim herself, having been a victim of child sexual abuse.

And they'll have to go after Sinead O'Connor too, because Sinead participated in the protests against Provo violence after Warrington.

John Hume was absolutely entrenched that violence and murder was the wrong way. He never wavered. We could never thank that man enough for what he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Long Sean Silver

innocent citizens may well have been caught up in anti-terrorist operations. if the terrorists did not exist, then such operations would not have been necessary. in the vast majority of cases due to the professionalism of the security forces very few innocent people were caught up. Loughgall is just 1 example of such a professionally executed operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭forumdedum

Zombie never did anything for me. Like a few Cranberries songs like Dreams. I remember reading reviews of either their 2nd or 3rd album way back and they were slated as a band then. Funny how a death can elevate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,328 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Do we know they are the same people?

Why does anyone really care?

I ain't a fan of SF but I can see the reality that the other parties have done feck all to improve health or accomodation and that younger voters have no choice but to vote for them. And could many really blame them?

If you want to attack SF you need to step away from this type of thing - it's pointless - a lot of younger voters don't care. Attack them on their political record in the North - there's plenty fodder there to hit them with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,310 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Of course young people have a choice not to vote for SF.

Voting for someone just because they are not the current govt is not a good strategy at all.

There were almost 30k homes built last year by the way. How many do you think SF will build if they get into power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

there was no truth to that comment at all.

the reality is that sunningdale was capitulation to beligerent unionism at the expense of the majority, whereas the GFA was a deal based on reality.

the only reason the GFA is referred to as sunningdale for slow learners is that those in support of the sunningdale unionist capitulation agreement were bitter that an agreement was reached that suited the majority at the expense of the minority, that minority being beligerent unionism which was finally sidelined.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

The retrospective justification of a 27 year campaign of terrorist murder should be a disqualifying offence for government in this state.

If a party retrospectively justified the murder of James Bulger, would it be a disqualifying offence for government?

What was the difference between the murder of James Bulger and the murders of Jonathan Ball and Tim Parry?

The difference is the murderers of James Bulger were 10 years old. The murderers of Jonathan Ball and Tim Parry were adults.

Shinners started this whole debate by gormlessly attacking the 30k people singing Zombie on Saturday night.

And yes, most of them are the same people.

If the Provos hadn't bombed Maurice Gibson and his wife to death (likely with Garda help), Nigel Carr would have played for Ireland at 1987 Rugby World Cup. Instead his career was ended after he was caught up by chance in that bombing and badly injured as he travelled south to Dublin for training with two of his team mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Alexander Shulgin

Dare I say , a lucky win ! Bok's missed easy penalties, Irish line out was frightening, anyway , if anthems & flags are going to divide us then let's just do away with them , instead of an anthem a minute to reflect on those who gave their lives for what they believed in & for those dark days never to return !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭mikethecop

lol they are still terrified about who's name is going to come up as a tout as so many were at it, multiple touts in the same unit at some stages all ratting on each other .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭mikethecop

as per usual from this "account " this is dangerously delusional shitposting

some one in the provo press office needs to get control of the bots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

That was Eamonn Dunphy’s role at the time. He wrote some nasty stuff about John Hume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭almostover

That sing has been banned now I believe. No longer sung in Cardiff at rugby games. Was at an Ire v Wal 6N game there in 2017 and it was belted out before the game. Made for an unbelievable atmosphere. But again, the PC brigade and the eternally offended ruined the fun. As if singing that song meant that 80k+ fans condoned domestic violence. Same stupid carry on as the recent furore about Zombie and Celtic Symphony. They're just catchy songs. People sing them for fun.

Post edited by almostover on