Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The emergence of "Zombie" by The Cranberries as an Irish sporting anthem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

I'd say you don't get out and about much.

But anyways.

I guess you think it's important then these people hear 'Zombie' to be reminded of the unjustified atrocities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,755 ✭✭✭standardg60

You keep going on about goading and it's absolute nonsense.

You do know the South Africans played it themselves after the URC final don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭mikethecop

As was common in the past sfira have blown them selfs up with this one , going after a stadium full of happy people out of spite is a big mistake by the provo press office .

but if the future of Ireland with sfira in charge is only talking about the history they allow its a warning to us all

also its just a song and a load of drunk people ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

This is a genuinely frightening view of the world. First of all it claims that a terrorist murder gang are the legitimate defence forces of this state, not the actual Irish Army.

This view says that the "real" Irish Army are now in fact dissident terrorists, the sort of scumbags who murdered Lyra McKee.

Secondly it holds that everybody should support their country's army no matter what. That's a view that holds that any British person who opposed Bloody Sunday was a traitor to Britain.

It also holds that any Russian who opposes Russia's barbaric war against Ukraine is a traitor to Russia.

It's genuinely scary that there people with this kind of worldview out there.

You're resorting to childish personal insults now.

Have you ever heard a Sinn Fein member or supporter say that the Provos 27 year murder orgy was in fact a disaster and that John Hume and the SDLP had the correct approach?

What is the hissy fit over Zombie over? Do you know?

Go back to earlier in the thread and you'll see people were singing it as a message about being in the oppositions heads.

In my view that's poor taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,305 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Never said it did and you try to escape inconvenient truths by constantly saying that in an effort to shut down debate. I have nothing but contempt for the IRA and Sinn Fèin.

I'm one of the most anti SF posters on boards.

To be specific the one line that I find problematic in the song is "it's in your head".

The reason I have an issue with that is if I were from one of those many families who were victims of the Loyalist pogroms, murdered or torched out of their homes in the 60's / 70's, for example, I'm essentially being told it never happened - you imagined it...it is insulting. I would find that insulting.

I think I would be right to be insulted by that by people such as yourself with zero comprehension.

They'll probably try to censor Paul Brady's "The Island" next. Brady of course was a partitionist free state bastard from Strabane.

They say the skies of Lebanon are burning.

Those mighty cedars bleeding in the heat.

They're showing pictures on the television.

Women and children dying in the street

And we're still at it in our own place.

Still trying to reach the future through the past.

Still trying to carve tomorrow from a tombstone...

They're raising banners over by the markets

Whitewashing slogans on the shipyard walls

Witchdoctors praying for a mighty showdown

No way our holy flag is gonna fall

Up here we sacrifice our children

To feed the worn-out dreams of yesterday

And teach them dying will lead us into glory...

Now I know us plain folks don't see all the story.

And I know this peace and love's just copping out.

And I guess these young boys dying in the ditches.

Is just what being free is all about.

And how this twisted wreckage down on main street.

Will bring us all together in the end.

And we'll go marching down the road to freedom....

Freedom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,755 ✭✭✭standardg60

I've read the whole thread, the only person continually bringing it up is you.

Can you answer my question about the URC final. Were you aware of it or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,053 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

What has that got to do with singing a song that condemns blowing up children with bombs?

I apologise for the insult.

I was thinking out loud and I find it hard to understand your extreme black and white view of the world.

Yes some things are absolutely wrong.

But you seem happy to assign this violent worldview to people with the most tenous connection to the actual wrongdoers.

Why is being in opposition to the murder of children by terrorists in poor taste?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,053 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Yes, it is important that people are educated about what the PIRA did and how vile they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,537 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'd go for Christy's '' Crazy World ''. Brilliant chorus too.

I don't have an extreme black and white view of the world.

I have a black and white view that the Provos' 27 year long murder orgy was exactly that.

And I'm teasing out the logical consequences of people throwing a hissy fit over a song that was a protest against murdering people and what it says about the real worldview of those people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭almostover

Because they're not singing it in opposition to the murder of children. They're singing it to goad the opposition.

Words, and songs, and actions, can have different meanings based on the context.

I don't want to insult you, but it seems that either you struggle with some fairly obvious things, or you're willing to bend logic this way and that in your crusade against the 'shinner cranks'

What opposition were the Irish rugby fans singing Zombie trying to goad? South Africa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

it was mostly innocent civilians were killed during shoot to kill, the policy wasn't about anti-terrorism but about killing as much civilians as possible.

such a policy would have existed regardless of the PIRA as it would have continued to be aimed at the civil rights movement had they remained active, it was aimed at them on bloody sunday of course.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,068 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

You like to stretch things out to keep the thread going, fair play to you.

I accept that their was a national army and a State Army, where people turned up for the wage.

You don't have to support the army of any country, never said any one had to. It is just fashionable in some groups to be anti army, it's a trend, not judging you for being fashionable.

This thread is your hobby horse, enjoy it. I disagree with your views, find them frankly bizarre and reminiscent of Trot bollix from the likes of Clare Daly.

The Provos were not our country's forces. They were a murder gang. Clare Daly is a cheerleader for Russia and I think you'd fit in there very well.

Delicious

Screenshot (70).png

According to the earlier posters I believe so.

So any singing in a sports stadium now counts as goading the opposition? 😄

I don't know, it's like this song has a meaning for you and you think it must then have the same meaning for everyone else?

A lot of people were just singing it for the craic.

Is that ok with you then? To be singing this really important message that the world needs to be reminded about, for the craic?

What about use of the n-word?

Is that always right or wrong, or can people judge based on the context?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,684 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

The difference with chanting up the UVF is you're supporting a militia who backs the Invader. It's like saying supporting the Azov battalion was the same as supporting the Donetsk peoples Republic.

By grouping the UVF and IRA together you are putting the blame equally on the Irish here who lets not forget were invaded and nearly wiped out thanks to plantations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,068 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

They certainly were, they weren't Mexico's ffs.

I'd be backing the Ukrainians in that one comrade. Your arguments are similar to the points that people like Clare Daly, other Trots and the Russian media use, that's down to your world view more than any special animus towards Ukraine.

The Ukrainians in the occupied areas have their own national army, independent of the Ukrainian State, their own IRA and they have been researching and copying Irish army operations from the North of Ireland like the bombing of an enemy base by adapting a car to drive on the train tracks, learn from the best.

Fair play to them.

Your views tend to often be contradictory and convoluted, do you or do you not support those fighting the Russian occupation, just to clarify that.

The UVF and the Provos were both murder gangs. They slaughtered civilians. They Provos just did more of it. Northern Ireland was internationally recognised as part of the UK.

You're deliberately confusing the Provos with the Catholic population of Northern Ireland. They are not remotely the same thing.

No they said they were singing the song to goad the opposition.

Using the 'in your head' line to make a point about being in the oppositions heads.

Weren't you doing similar yesterday, tagging it to the end of your posts?

A minute ago you were saying Irish rugby fans were singing it to goad South Africans and now you're saying they were singing it for the craic. You're all over the place.

The fact is the song has inherent meaning. But I don't particularly care why people sing it, whether they sing it because of that inherent meaning or whether they're just singing it because it's a banger of a tune.

You see, it's not me that has the problem with the singing of the song.

It's those throwing a hissy fit over people singing it that have the problem. And none of them have yet come up with a coherent explanation for their hissy fit.

You're trying to bring the n word into this discussion? Have you got any more absurd irrelevancies to the topic you want to bring in?