Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

If there's a whiff of a Kennedy in the air or a distant relative of a Kennedy, you'll find Captain Schmooze there to meet and greet and namedrop some late society hostess not related to him.

It's a sad sorry sight.

Yes, but the sum of these distractions is what is the issue at stake, and each one is a visible symptom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I think that's highly unlikely. He wouldn't be able to cope with another potential rejection from the public. Anyway the RTE scandal is already impacting the government negatively so FF will not want that baggage.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

I believe there drawing in his JFK book which show Tubbs as a presidential figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,466 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Jaysus Breener, yer atter stepping on a ‘Bouncing Betty’ there.

Crack open a couple of Argus 8%s and take the hound for a walk.

Get a bit of air.!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

It's an interesting idea. As a 'celebrity' TD though he mightn't think he would have to do much, could ghost into a ministry and have lackeys do the research and make decisions? Imagine if he ended up in Catherine Martin's Dept!!! An expert in media etc blah blah.. It'd be a spectacular reversal of fortune for our hero.

Mind you, the election could get very dirty if he tried his hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

The hits keep coming. You can see from the response from RTE, they compare themselves to the BBC in everything except viewers and revenue. They’re small beans but think they’re a steak. They need to clean house and half the TV license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭Allinall

RTE have no imput into the cost of the licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Judging by the sentiment (female in particular) in SoCoDu I think he’d get in, dirty campaign or not.

i genuinely think the only thing stopping him would be the hours.

edit: typo

Post edited by ButtersSuki on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

The government had their chance but rejected the recommendations. They like to keep all the piggies well fed and comfortable, can’t have them asking difficult questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Where they get the genesis of the story from is from the betting companies. That article you linked to specifically mentions Boyle Sports. It's a well known tactic they have - create a list of "candidates" for a particular position or event, include some serious ones, some outsiders and some complete off-the wall-ones, then give one of the off-the-wall ones that's in the news half decent odds (knowing that they'll never have to pay out on them), let the media know, and sit back and soak in the publicity.

Here's Paddy Power's current list:

https://www.paddypower.com/politics/next-president-after-michael-d-higgins

Tony Holohan, Bono, Anne Doyle, Roy Keane. Do you honestly think their publicists are planting them on the list?

None of those have agents like NK. If you’re at all familiar with Tubridy you’ll know puff pieces are/were churned out on an almost daily basis by the machine behind him.

Would you consider it inconceivable that the bookies aren’t on the puff piece circulation list?

I just wouldn't ascribe to a conspiracy what can be easily explained by more mundane means. The big bookies are absolute masters of marketing, and would put any publicist - including Noel Kelly - to shame. They're certainly not waiting around for someone to suggest to them that Tubridy be added to the list.

To be clear, I’m certainly not saying NK is a master, quite the opposite. His scattergun approach is so blunt and untargeted it’s akin trying to play a piano with a sledgehammer. I’m surprised he’s not using an post direct mail to send newsletters with updates of his clients latest adventures to every home in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭jmcc

Donnelly was already a TD when he defected to FF. He was one of the three "leaders" of the SocDems at the time. Martin/FF is facing a lot of criticism within FF and FFers seem less than happy at the prospect of him leading FF into the next GE as he was responsible for FF's poor showing in 2020 where it only won the same number of seats as SF. Tubridy is genetically FF but there are too many FFers who don't have RTE's forelock tuigging respect for the FF gombeen gentry.

Just on the George Lee/FG thing. He had a background in Economics and business and had worked in the field before RTE. However, the FG gombeens had reserved the Finance portfolio for one of their own gombeen schoolteacher/TDs, Noonan. The difference is that Tubridy hasn't any competence outside of broadcasting. FF is in an almost existential struggle against SF as many of the younger people who might have voted FF are now voting SF.

Tubridy as a presidential candidate would seem to be trying to recapture a Sean Gallagher vibe (he was FF and was a proxy FF candidate until RTE's Frontline show (most of those involved did not have their contracts renewed and the show was cancelled) ran that unverified tweet which changed the outcome of the election). The problem for Tubridy, and FF, is that the electorate has changed since 2011 with more younger people becoming eligible to vote. The old certainties of FF running an inanimate carbon rod, or hurley, and it getting elected are over. Those FFers who put in their time for a chance at getting their snouts in the trough would not be pleased with an imposed candidate like Tubridy. Tubridy has been historically active in FF and there is an upside to having at least one competent media performer (Martin still does his rat-like clawing motions with his hands when he's under pressure.) in FF but the last thing that Martin wants is to cause more problems within FF.

Regards...jmcc

Post edited by jmcc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭alzer100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,051 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I would love to see tubridy try running in Dun Laoighre, Rich Boy Barrett would have him for breakfast. Even the shinners, who are usually nowhere in DL would be licking their lips at being able to point score off him, he'd be easy pickings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I believe in his mind - at the time of writing the book - he thought himself presidential material.

Maybe there is one - I certainly didn't read the book. But any of the images from it I've seen from it depict him as a ubiquitous journalist that is present at JFK's every move, rather than the President himself.

There is that publicity photograph of Tubridy posing in the same way as JFK is on the cover of the book (with a poster of the cover behind him). I won't post it, as I know it could invoke nightmares, but I would read it as a cringey - but fairly standard - book-launch publicity shot, rather than an indication of Presidential ambition.

The multi-seat nature of our national political system means that there's actually little or no conflict between candidates at different ends of the political spectrum. Candidates don't really campaign against each other like they do in other countries where there's only one seat to win. If Tubridy were to stand (and there's absolutely no indication that he would or will), his fight would be against the FF and FG candidates. RBB has a completely different electorate. His tactic, which is very successful for him, is to go against the system itself, rather than any individual that is standing "against" him.

All valid points.

But but but….The Toyman …....children….kindness….etc.

Honestly if you’ve been in the coffee shops of SoCoDu as frequently as I have in recent weeks you’d think Tubridy is the most wronged man in the history of the world.

i wouldn’t rule it out entirely, but my gut is it’s much too much work for the work shy RenaultMan. The Presidency would have been a much easier gig given it’s largely ceremonial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Karppi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,466 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭jmcc

Never underestimate the abilites of snouters to turn on one of their own when their place at the trough is threatened. They can be like cornered rats. This goes doubly so for FF. Tubridy might like the photo ops of being a TD but there's a lot of hard work involved too. The FF candidates for the presidency seem to be Bertie Ahern and Mehole Martin (though Martin probably wants a job in Brussels). Against those two, Tubridy would be outclassed in sheer nastiness. Not sure that there are enough votes in the coffee shops of SoCoDu to get him elected as a TD or president. As well as appealing to the few listeners to his ex-show, he would have to appeal to a broader spectrum of voters.

The presidency may attract Tubridy in terms of his vanity and the opportunity to stick his snout in the trough like the incumbent. The only reason Higgins is in the Aras is because RTE put him there twice. The first time, it was the fake tweet. The second was that he was the FF/FG/Lab crony candidate as FF and FG were saving money for the upcoming Local/Euro elections. About 49% of the electorate even bothered to vote in the 2018 presidential election and in real terms Higgins only got around 25% of the electorate to vote for him. That was with the Irish media backing him.

FF, FG and SF will all want to have their own candidate next time out because whoever is president could be the first president of a reunited Ireland. Wasting such an opportunity on Tubridy would be a bridge too far for FF. (WW2 and Mary McAleese metaphor in one. :) Or maybe it is an allusion? Perhaps a great writer like Tubridy would know.)

Regards...jmcc

Post edited by jmcc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Bulmers

he'd be mad ( aka bonkers) to go into politics. every doorstep / debate he'd be torn apart by ..well anyone.

One for a whiteboard session with Noelser..who's completely deliciously bonkers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

If Tubridy was to run and get elected, he'd be our very own Boris Johnson clone in Dail Eireann. Never turning up except for votes. Mainly on holidays. Rarely asking a question or making a contribution of any kind, except when there's a hot topic he believes would get him into the national consciousness.

As for his bread and butter constituency work!? Good luck on that!

To my mind, a bit like a certain former US president, Tubs would probably see the role of TD beneath him anyway. He wouldn't be one for the muck and bullets and his very tenuous grasp of the detail would make him very unsuitable to such a job. No, his eminence certainly sees himself as more of a presidential figure. Big house paid for my someone else. Drivers and servants at every beck and call, also paid for by others. And the chance to attend every event, ceremony, gathering and opening in the 26 counties......with no entry fee on any of them too. That's quite important.

He's really tailor made for the presidency if you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Karppi

If Tubridy was to run and get elected, he'd be our very own Boris Johnson clone in Dail Eireann

But surely he wouldn't earn the epithet that the wonderful, sharp and acerbic wit Marina Hyde gave to Boris two or three years ago, when she wrote, "Boris Johnson’s big contribution to reducing plastic consumption is not wearing condoms. Or as Gavin Williamson put it this morning: “Boris Johnson has done more for the environment than any other politician.” Quite. We don’t need a joined-up strategy to prevent climate catastrophe with the largest and most successful trading bloc the world has ever seen, because Johnson’s going to spaff our way to the higher ground, while we serve as galley slaves on his privatised sex ark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Mr Disco