Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,664 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

"I like a chicken roll with butter, or Mayo".

I flipping hate that ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭deezell

Look again. He's in the dressing room, not in Coppers. And they're all in full kit, not cargo pants and sandals. Facts are facts. Name calling (racist? Ignorant?) is cowardly on an anonymous forum. But you couldn't resist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Change the name of the thread to 'Swivel eyed racists moaning about a black actor and a white actor pretending to be a couple for a 30 second advert' sad and pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

Suggesting that calling your comment racist is "name-calling" is embarrassing for you. You should be embarrassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭giseva

Those Verisure ads are awful. Surely the point of a company paying for ad services is to boost company sales. The ads aren't funny or informative, and they only stand out for how terrible they are. Who signs off on piss poor adverts, featuring dreadful storylines and 'actors' with zero acting ability or talent. I need an ad blocker for my TV!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭blackvalley

The Axa car insurance adds are horrendous horsesyt. Grandfather and grand daughter headed off with telescope when tractor crashed into car.

Grandpaw immediately takes out his phone which for some incredible reason seems to have Axa as a screensaver.

This seems to suggest that when you call the company your call is actually answering by a human being without first going through a litany of press button one, two or three options.

And most normal humans in such a situation would have a look at their car and check that tractor driver hadn’t gotten a heart attack etc BEFORE calling the parasites that are the insurance companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Altreab2

Not to mention the car shouldn't be parked in a working hayfield in the first place ....and damage done on the wrong side of car. Has anyone else noticed that the "Well not those two" line has been edited out of the Rugby ad?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Not just mixed race families, but overweight, and extremely overweight, participants. Particularly the ones advertising deodorants, saying it keeps them dry after heavy exercise - even though they are dripping wet with perspiration.

And what is this about deodorants lasting 72 hours? Do people expect to last three days without a wash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Handy to know if a deodorant lasts for 3 days in case the water goes out. (Speaking from an incident that happened years ago-water was out for a week).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,697 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I hate insurance ads that are based around the insurer paying out to cover plain carelessness. Insurance is based on sharing risk and I really don't want to be sharing with people like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭RINO87

There's an ad on the go for some energy company or other at the moment....yer man finds the love of his life in a chipper....Anyway thats not the point, at the start of the Ad it shows him as a child and locking eyes with a dog in what appears to be a funcking PUPPY FARM. WTF?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

And the girl in that adverts been in a lot of adverts, she was in one for Barry's tea a while back.

She's never given any lines, though, which is quite funny.

I think he has withered legs, like you used to see way back on kids with polio, or it could be any number of other things. Fair play to him.

Be careful commenting on the exploitative, inappropriate and farcical use of the diversity agenda by ad agencies, you'll be accused of all sorts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

"Zis is not a vaterbottle". I swear I'm going to go insane if I hear that once more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭giseva

the lad dripping in sweat after doing his tricks on the skateboard yet "no sign of sweat" or something along those lines is announced 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,044 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

An Post ads with Angela Scanlon, all annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭oneweb

There's an ad for Culture Night and the date is flashed up for less than a blink.

It is what it's.

Ads that use sportspeople to "act". The current Lidl rugby one is cringe.

It is what it's.

Another badly-redubbed-with-an-Irish-accent ad, another offender being the security company one.

LOL, just noticed the naughty word filter doesn't hide naughty words in reply previews.

It is what it's.

There's a newer version of the Verisure ad with a dodgy as feck looking guy in generic securityperson gear hanging outside someone's door. Some yawyaw across the hedge engages in conversation to be told "I'm from Verisure, I'll be here until it's sorted out."

Great, now any scumbag can just explain away being at a breakin by saying "all good in the hood, bro, I'm from the skuritee kumpnee". 🤦🏻‍♂️

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

What the fu*k were Bord Gais thinking when they hired that pair of washed up cretins for their advert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,024 ✭✭✭YellowLead

For me at the moment the worst is the bank one (don’t know which bank) where the couple are applying for a mortgage - poor Sean gets called John and asked if he too is married along with the wife. Multiple versions with different actors as mortgage advisories so you get the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭sicknotexi

That Jedward advert. Almost implying that they are in some incestuous relationship. Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,697 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I think it's quite funny, taking the piss out of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,206 ✭✭✭RoTelly

To ads that I am sure will annoy other but I think are not bad

The Jedward ad and the EBS Mortgage ad.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,044 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I believe I saw Arnie in a Lidl advert, if I see again, I'll be back 😉

Penelope Cruz is advertising Emirates Airlines, why oh why, money money money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

The Ryanair ad 'Dump the kids on Granny' !

Who exactly are they targeting with those €5000 seats Cruz is farting into?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭littlevillage

I suppose its as aspirational thing. Like what's called halo model cars. The plebs will only ever be able to afford the lowliest option, but some of the "sparkle" of the more expensive stuff will fall onto them.

The only thing that lands on the basic product is the enormous spend on sponsorship, advertising and celebrity endorsement. Tens of euros on every Emirates flight to Cruz and Declan Rice, etc. Hundreds of € to Kevin Bacon on the price of your Hyundai.