Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,646 ✭✭✭deezell

Eh. Big bum mum is in the background twice, filling it even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,697 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭thegeezer

OK it seems very creepy that moronic voices appear now to be en vogue - LIDL lady, but worst is that cretinous voice telling us What's eat have, and in the next advert selling us VIAGRA !!!

Absolutely hated ad right now is peurile Tesco ad which is on in EVERY break on Sky, with the guy who breaks into "I've got the power" when his clubcard is accepted. I wonder what he sings if his card was declined "why does it always rain on me" ?

I took a tip from something I read online and actually turn the sound off when the ads are on, makes for much better experience !!

Moronic voices? Don't watch UK ads so, unless you think it's behhah to buy a mowhah in a cah supehmarkeh in Brihan, mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭JeffreyEpspeen

Attractive men don't molest children. Only ugly men do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Also liking the KitKat passwords ads.

Interesting to see Twix and KitKat advertising again

Pity M&Ms and Maltesers can return to better ads.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Also there seems to have been a law brought in TVland where you can't be in a relationship with someone of the same race as yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

One which keeps cropping up on the STV player is an advert for Greggs which uses Tori Amos's Professional Widow, Obviously they weren't aware of the true meaning of the song lyrics - "honey bring it close to my lips" and "it's gotta be big" have an entirely different meaning to what they want to say about their products.

Who has the nicer arse? Yer wan in the Eir gigglybit ad or yer wan in the Tesco ad with the You're Gorgeous song.

Anyone else find the new H&M ad a bit strange? Are we back to sexualising children now as a society?

On that note, what is up with the amount of ads aired before the watershed that feature women shaving/showing their pubic area? There's the one advertising pubic hair shaving products with a gratuitous shot of a woman shaving her (visible) pubic area, and the one with yer wan with red hair having a shite on the toilet while talking about period products. I'm pretty sure you can see her pubic area if you do a Sharon Stone in Basic Instinct and press pause at the right moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭I says

All fcuking ads on tv at the moment boil my piss. Bring back this https://youtu.be/NjWHrjCG1LQ

That'd be the work of the 'Gender and Minority in Advertising Quota Enforcement Officer'. Thats her in the green Jersey behind Andy Farrell in the locker room ad full of Male White (mostly) Men, which image breached the quota, hence her standing there.

Post edited by deezell on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭irs

I like the Viagra ad with the woman who stops the video call so she can ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Gunner5

The Andy Farrell Vodafone ad is nauseating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭Acosta

Skewl shooz already

The kid must nearly be in secondary school by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

The airup bottle ads on youtube. Yeah just get another guy with the ikea/skoda scandi thing going on to convince us we need that shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭I says

The new Guinness World Cup ad. My eyes, my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Thought she was saying 'did you feed Spot', honestly.

The Jedward advert is terrible. It's also seriously confused. Have their voices not broken yet?

They're 31. It's starting to look kind of pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭forumdedum

This is a long thread that I’ve just discovered. So maybe I missed it being mentioned. The Malteser ad where she was with Jamie on the dance floor. More than ‘just a snog’ happened. We are left in the dark,

Sort of clever ad, young medical staff in a depressing canteen, working 80 hour weeks, the one with the glasses desperate for bit of excitement and titillation to relieve the grinding stress. When I first heard that ad, I was sure the other one says, "You know that knickers you lent me, the one your gran left you?" Double take until you realise it's 'necklace'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭oneweb

To me it feels like they totally skipped gay lads in ads and went straight for lesbian couples.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Welcome to the 2000s lads. Mixed-race families are a fact of life, and you'll see plenty of them in McDonalds. Since this is upsetting to you, maybe you should stay in your bedrooms and get your Big Mac orders delivered. You can get your Mams to answer the door just in case it's a foreigner doing the delivery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭johnnyk29

I think posters are making the point that it's quite rare in the representation of the Irish population compared to the prevalence of the majority of adverts depicting that trope.

Not everyone who points that out is a race hating fast food eater who lives at home with their parents as you are implying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

The advert where some ejit rings up looking for "Norm", I think its for O Meara camping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

IMG_1411.jpeg

This ad seems to on EVERY channel …Amazon l think. Annoying

And the babyfaced lad playing his father looks all wrong. A working-class man from the coal-mining/textile factories town of Wigan would have looked a lot more grizzled back in '83. Even if only in his 30s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Timfy

His father, who worked in the catering industry, played some rugby league himself and has always been involved in coaching underage teams and scouting for rugby league clubs, and now works full-time with Warrington.

No trees were harmed in the posting of this message, however a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,050 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Boom Boom!

Fcuking health insurance ad😩