Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should RTE stop airing Father Ted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,461 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

No.

The bill is about incitement to hatred; if you said something like "all queer people should be executed" then yes there would be a case against you.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I feel sorry for him that his whole life is just an obsession about trans people but yeah he is very nasty.

Of course Fr Ted shouldn't be dropped.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Yep,it needs to be stopped before it gets further out of hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,136 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

If those are genuine quotes from GL then the man has issues. It's fine to be opposed to nonces but why pick on the trans lads? There are bound to be some trans nonces. There are loads of white men nonces and nobody expects me to take responsibility for them just because I'm also a white man.

If GL was abused and this is his way of talking about it by going on and on about nonces on Twitter, then fine. But leave the trans lads out of it. They have enough going on without being branded deviants.

Haven't we seen this exact same movie before except with gay people as the suspects? Spoiler alert, gay people are grand and they aren't nonces either.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,415 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I think if you're going to write a musical, pissing off the gay community and devoting your life to supporting conspiracies that link gay pride with paedophilia might be a commercial faux pas

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,420 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's sad seeing one of Ireland's best comics turn into... this. He's just another angry little bigot now but his name is on some of the best comedy from these islands.

He hates trans people. Making them out to be nonces is his justification for hating them and nothing more. I'd say those quotes are real as well. He's form for absuing people online to the point where the police got involved. Of course, some people here pretended that he was being censored to excuse him.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,936 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

He doesn't live in Ireland... But he's already gotten in trouble with the police in the UK for harassment.... He's a prick. Air it away and nobody cares that it or the IT Crowd is still aired. The reality is that most of the comedy scene simply don't want to do future work with him.

Everyone has seen examples of tweets from him in this thread. I'm doubtful that the other people involved would want to work with him after this ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭briany

I wonder how much of the rabbithole Linehan has gone down is due to him fervently believing that gender identity is a dangerous delusion and how much of it is due to having encountered a Twitter argument he couldn't win, because whatever you may think about them, pro-trans activists are very organised and vocal on Twitter. It wasn't a group he could simply block and sick his own followers on them. He had to engage directly, non-stop. He was already addicted to Twitter, but this must have made him really obsessed.

It's a real shame - he's lost everything of his former life. The friends he's perhaps gained in anti-trans circles cannot be worth it, despite what he may tell himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,898 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Even before he became involved in the whole trans thing he came across as quite an abrasive, arrogant character in his Twitter interactions. This would have been when he was still regarded as "woke". Id say he has some sort of personality disorder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

But it’s half Arthur matthews baby and he loses out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭I.R.Y.E.D

Always good however to see more evidence to corroborate the theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Should RTÉ stop playing the Corrs if Jim Corr says something a bit odd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭geographica

No, it shouldn’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭RonanG86

Not reading 5 pages of no doubt top quality boards.ie brainrot peddled by people who have no real knowledge of Linehan's activities in the past few years and instead rely on what the soft-touch British media report.

Instead I'm going say something controversial here: Linehan isn't actually an ideologically motivated transphobe. He's just an internet addicted, mean-spirited, egotistical, bully who found an acceptable target group to pick on, people who'll support him in it, and a media who won't take him to task whenever he rears his head outside Twitter. And has run with it to the point of torpedoing his entire personal & professional life, leaving him with nothing left but bigotry. That in some ways makes it worse. Remember his "Twitter Policeman" persona before he went bananas? Remember what kicked him off on this was people gave him some mild criticism for an episode of the IT Crowd? How dare you criticise Graham's art. Now all trans people must pay forever.

Barring a successful intervention from whatever friends he has left who aren't toilet obsessed loonies, he's going to end up in the asylum screaming "WHY DO YOU SUPPORT THE MUTILATION OF WOMEN AND GIRLS?!!" at the staff as they try to sedate him to stop him from hurting himself again.

That being said, I don't think there's any need to cancel Father Ted over him. For one thing, it was co-written by people who haven't become absolutely horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,936 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

It's fair to wonder if they actually want to make it with him. From what I gather Neil Hannon is out because of Linehan. The only one I've seen getting annoyed about it not going forward is Linehan. Matthews and him only got back on working terms again in 2019 and now that Linehan is just causing controversy after controversy, I'd imagine it's an unworkable relationship again.

What is GL's actual issue with trans people? I'm a bloke and a fair bit of the media aimed at me is supposed to make me cross with trans people. I can't actually see any reason to be cross with them for being trans, it just doesn't seem like a problem for me. So could someone who is actually opposed to the trans lads explain why I should have a problem with them?

Essentially he's adopted a world view whereby gender dysphoria isn't real and men only pretend to transition to female so they can wave their willies around in women's changing rooms and cheat at sports.

And if any teenage girl even drops the slightest hint of gender dysphoria when talking to a doctor, she'll be immediately force fed puberty blockers and breast removal surgery arranged on the spot without any further consultation. Sure, the doctor might even lop them off there and then. Most trans people, or indeed anyone with a basic capacity for higher reasoning, will tell you that's the literal opposite of what actually happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Do you support hormone blockers for prepubescents?

Like most complex medical topics, I don't have a strong opinion on it because I'm not a Jaysus medical expert.

Do you have a strong opinion on it and are you a medical expert or just role playing being a medical expert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

there are no “ medical experts “ in this area , only activists and ideologues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I would think psychiatrists are experts in this area. Do you disagree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

They should just stop playing The Corrs anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,745 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

RTÉ should stop playing The Corrs because its musical cancer, not because of Jim Corr being stone mental.

But of course Father Ted is legendary and of the highest quality and so likewise, its status is irrelevant to that of Graham Linehan.

In any case, I've yet to hear anything said by Graham Linehan, on the topic for which he has attracted attention, which was anything less than logical, sober, common sense and verifiable by scientific standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

Many psychiatrists disagree with affirming “ gender transition “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

But you agree they are experts then on thesubject? You just disagree with the majority of the psychiatrists opinion on the matter.