Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,590 ✭✭✭RoTelly

IMO ... by the late 80s and early 90s RTÉ were competing with those channels on cable with the role out of Network 2 and its imported programming. But yes it had a monopoly on local programming, much like UTV was well liked in the North as the best performing local station in the ITV network for their region.

RTÉ are doing less now than they were back then, under massive political pressure and where we had the lowest tv license in Europe even when including Eastern European nations! while in the worst recession. There really is no excuse for the current state of RTÉ IMO.

And back then technology wasn't as accessible to either the audience or the producer.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Here we go… incoherent gombeen …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,775 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I think that poster you replied to is trolling. That's the way his posts come across to me. Or maybe I am wrong and It's Ryan himself:) Ryan has proven to be very immature given his utter dependence on Noel. During the pac meeting he was at least telling the truth about the nature of his relationship with Noel. I would love to have seen Noel's expression when he got the news Ryan won't be coming back on the airwaves anytime soon. Maybe he was enjoying one of the Docs nothingburgers at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

I have no doubt something like that will happen in the next few months. The Sindo never turn down a fake celebrity sob story or millionaire fallen on hard times. Its all part of the PR circuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭bladespin

100%, can remember the Late Late at the start of it, uber cringe!

Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭sxt

Yes, it would be the kind thing to do. It would definitely be something the "most honest man in Ireland "would do.To give the 150k of tax payers money back

I've intrigued and curious as to when and how this will happen?

He would never hear the end of it until he pays it back.

I can see the tagline - "A riches to even more riches story and back again to riches"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭hawley

Tubridy and Kelly didn't read the room. They kept acting in the same manner that got him the big contracts. Didn't have enough cop on to realize that he was in a completely different situation. They got away with bullying Dee Forbes into finding a way of giving him more money. Should have realized that they were in a very weak position.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

tone deaf is the phrase commonly used- reminds me of how Gerry Ryan went on about having to take a pay cut whilst bragging about all the money he made RTÉ through advertising when the whole country was on its knees.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

As I said in my earlier post, the goose that laid the golden egg comes to mind. Their greed got the better of them. They cut the goose open.

Tubridy had a nice easy job for life, vastly overpaid.

Greed is a terrible thing really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Westernview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭tom23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

I know a lot of people didn't like him, and he sometimes used bad language on the radio, but he didn't really get the support he needed. Being before the people for hours each day and having people know about your private life is very hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Gerry was a character though and in terms of his approach, a very long way from our hero of clay feet Tubs.

I could easily see RTE 2 and 2FM being shut down as a result of reforms.

Over the summer and for most of the year, there is simply not enough content to keep two TV stations going. There is very little Irish commissioned programs on RTE these days. RTE 2 is just wall to wall imported programs, and they put most of the best programs on very late at night.

RTE 1 is just repeat central over the summer. Repeat after repeat.

They could fit it all on one channel easily and anything they can't fit, probably shouldn't be there anyways or can be found on Netflix.

I'd keep RTE Jr and RTE News channels as I'd say they take limited funding - the news channel is just duplication of radio and news broadcasts.

The same goes for 2FM. Combine the most talented broadcasters, producers and researchers from radio 1 and 2fm and get rid of the rest. And that means getting rid of most of the oldies like Joe Duffy, Dave Fanning, etc. They've had their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,423 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭TruthorBust

Hold on to the Toy Show musical set RTE. We could have a winner on our hands here. A new musical starring the toyman as the owner of the golden goose. One Christmas Eve in an effort to be Mr Kindness to everyone the toyman killed the golden goose thinking he could do no wrong. Immediately he rang his master Mr Koel Nelly for advice. Nelly said oh jaysus no u’ve ruined us. The toyman said but shur I was only doing what RTE told me to do. Nelly said ah here we tried that line before and it didn’t work

We end with the toyman tearfully signing the ABBA song….Slipping Through My Fingers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭Caquas

Over 20,000 posts on this thread from 100’s of posters, and almost 600 posts already today. Is that a record?

This story has a long way to run, with lots of loose threads. RTÉ will never be the same 😥😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,574 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

What talent? Bunch of ex sports people and influencers? Give me Dave Fanning every day of the week.

Tubs will get offered some sort of show on Virgin and probably indo radio.

I can't stand him but he is light years ahead of 95% of the absolute shíte they hire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭hibble

.... as KB enters stage left singing "The winner takes it all"

No. he was arrogant, entitled and obnoxious. Yet RTE think he was legendary. No time for him. It must be the way in RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

What's the story with the other two chancers (Duffy & D'arcy) suddenly being off air today? That is not just a coincidence

Shietin their pants at the thoughts of getting €170k. There’s a new sheriff in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

The vox pops this morning from Cork and Dublin are intriquing to me. I realize RTE are probably going to skew the report to a 60/40 in favour of their former golden boy, but it still doesn't explain the strange appeal that Tubridy's unique brand of inoffensive, bland, 'top o' the mornin' bullshít had with so many people.

I think for many he fell into a similar category as Terry Wogan. How anyone could lump Tubridy in with a genuine talent like Wogan is beyond me. Many people seem to be like kittens with a ball of wool. Very easily excited and distracted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭Schorpio

The most telling thing about Tubridy, to me anyway, was the discussion at the PAC about the money he was paid for Renault gigs which had not happened yet (100k, or 150k? can't remember which).

Tubridy's stance was - if the gigs don't happen, I'll give the money back. It was inferred by a number of PAC members that the gigs were unlikely to happen, given the controversy which had occurred, but Tubridy stuck to the same line that if he got confirmation that the gigs would definitely not happen, then the money would go back.

I don't think Tubridy (or NK Managment) are idiots. Surely they knew that it would have been a far better look to have arrived at the PAC and announced that the money had been repaid. It could then have been rightly paid to Tubridy if/when the gigs did happen, and not before.

But, no. In reality, Tubs and NK knew full well that the gigs were dead in the water. They knew that if they money went back, they would never have sight of it ever again. They also knew that the chances of them being pursued for the money was low.

They were willing to risk Tub's potential future earnings, for the sake of keeping that 100k. Future earnings which would have been in the hundreds of thousands, even at a rate vastly reduced from his Late Late peak.

Maybe I'm wrong. Maybe they are idiots after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Shoulda listened to Liveline - RT was almost sainted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

So it’s plainly obvious now that Tubs or Noel Kelly or both of them were leaking private conversations to Fionnán Sheehan and explains his remarkable change of heart on matters.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/revealed-what-ryan-tubridy-told-kevin-bakhurst-hours-before-rte-boss-ended-talks-for-radio-return/a736919415.html

Tubs couldn’t even give it a few hours before leaking the legal email exchanges. The man is truly pathetic, so is Sheehan for that matter, who’s gone into overdrive with articles about how badly wronged Tubridy has been.

IMG_2843.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Duffy's only just back this week from a long stint away, I thought he might have been engaged in perusing his Claddaghgreen accounts and tidying up any 'evidence'. Darcys been gone all week I think, probably on another hollier down in Inchadoney.