Not a good look. I wonder did he go because this was going to come to light?
Threadbans:
CGI_Livia_Soprano
Sorolla
Stevie2001
Rothco
realdanbreen
Paterson Jerins
Aldo006
HBC08
Clay Shaw
Pintman Paddy Losty
northknife
StevenToast
ButtersSuki
Bobson Dugnutt
What's the story with the other two chancers (Duffy & D'arcy) suddenly being off air today? That is not just a coincidence
No. he was arrogant, entitled and obnoxious. Yet RTE think he was legendary. No time for him. It must be the way in RTE.
.... as KB enters stage left singing "The winner takes it all"
What talent? Bunch of ex sports people and influencers? Give me Dave Fanning every day of the week.
Tubs will get offered some sort of show on Virgin and probably indo radio.
I can't stand him but he is light years ahead of 95% of the absolute shíte they hire.
Over 20,000 posts on this thread from 100’s of posters, and almost 600 posts already today. Is that a record?
This story has a long way to run, with lots of loose threads. RTÉ will never be the same 😥😊
Hold on to the Toy Show musical set RTE. We could have a winner on our hands here. A new musical starring the toyman as the owner of the golden goose. One Christmas Eve in an effort to be Mr Kindness to everyone the toyman killed the golden goose thinking he could do no wrong. Immediately he rang his master Mr Koel Nelly for advice. Nelly said oh jaysus no u’ve ruined us. The toyman said but shur I was only doing what RTE told me to do. Nelly said ah here we tried that line before and it didn’t work
We end with the toyman tearfully signing the ABBA song….Slipping Through My Fingers
They had vastly different careers and dealers
I could easily see RTE 2 and 2FM being shut down as a result of reforms.
Over the summer and for most of the year, there is simply not enough content to keep two TV stations going. There is very little Irish commissioned programs on RTE these days. RTE 2 is just wall to wall imported programs, and they put most of the best programs on very late at night.
RTE 1 is just repeat central over the summer. Repeat after repeat.
They could fit it all on one channel easily and anything they can't fit, probably shouldn't be there anyways or can be found on Netflix.
I'd keep RTE Jr and RTE News channels as I'd say they take limited funding - the news channel is just duplication of radio and news broadcasts.
The same goes for 2FM. Combine the most talented broadcasters, producers and researchers from radio 1 and 2fm and get rid of the rest. And that means getting rid of most of the oldies like Joe Duffy, Dave Fanning, etc. They've had their time.
Gerry was a character though and in terms of his approach, a very long way from our hero of clay feet Tubs.
I know a lot of people didn't like him, and he sometimes used bad language on the radio, but he didn't really get the support he needed. Being before the people for hours each day and having people know about your private life is very hard.
Gerry Ryan was simply obnoxious.
Definitely trolling at this stage
As I said in my earlier post, the goose that laid the golden egg comes to mind. Their greed got the better of them. They cut the goose open.
Tubridy had a nice easy job for life, vastly overpaid.
Greed is a terrible thing really.
tone deaf is the phrase commonly used- reminds me of how Gerry Ryan went on about having to take a pay cut whilst bragging about all the money he made RTÉ through advertising when the whole country was on its knees.
Tubridy and Kelly didn't read the room. They kept acting in the same manner that got him the big contracts. Didn't have enough cop on to realize that he was in a completely different situation. They got away with bullying Dee Forbes into finding a way of giving him more money. Should have realized that they were in a very weak position.
Spoken to like a child is how I remember it.
I can see the tagline - "A riches to even more riches story and back again to riches"
Yes, it would be the kind thing to do. It would definitely be something the "most honest man in Ireland "would do.To give the 150k of tax payers money back
I've intrigued and curious as to when and how this will happen?
He would never hear the end of it until he pays it back.
100%, can remember the Late Late at the start of it, uber cringe!
what?
I have no doubt something like that will happen in the next few months. The Sindo never turn down a fake celebrity sob story or millionaire fallen on hard times. Its all part of the PR circuit.
I think that poster you replied to is trolling. That's the way his posts come across to me. Or maybe I am wrong and It's Ryan himself:) Ryan has proven to be very immature given his utter dependence on Noel. During the pac meeting he was at least telling the truth about the nature of his relationship with Noel. I would love to have seen Noel's expression when he got the news Ryan won't be coming back on the airwaves anytime soon. Maybe he was enjoying one of the Docs nothingburgers at the time.
Here we go… incoherent gombeen …
IMO ... by the late 80s and early 90s RTÉ were competing with those channels on cable with the role out of Network 2 and its imported programming. But yes it had a monopoly on local programming, much like UTV was well liked in the North as the best performing local station in the ITV network for their region.
RTÉ are doing less now than they were back then, under massive political pressure and where we had the lowest tv license in Europe even when including Eastern European nations! while in the worst recession. There really is no excuse for the current state of RTÉ IMO.
And back then technology wasn't as accessible to either the audience or the producer.
They could do a new series of BOSCO, that would go down with all the toy show fanatics....
Rte totally over did covid even when restrictions were lifting , it was pathetic
Theoretically yes but Tubridy would be nicely found out if he didn’t follow through on his promise at the Dail accounts committee to return the funds if the gigs didn’t go ahead. That was the only condition he made and since these gigs are absolutely not going to go ahead now, he’s nowhere to hide- I’d bet he was hoping a few simple meet and greets could have been organised so he could keep the dosh- it’s money for old rope to him but no way that’s happening now.
so he’s down the “Renault” money and he’s down his new contract of 170k- so that’s close to 350k down - ouch that’s gotta hurt
I also appreciated kb’s honesty on the fact that money will be harder to get back now if tubs throws his toyman toys out of the pram/ jag
Hopefully RTE management will take care of business and not depend on whistleblowers.
Thats what they are being paid for isn't it ?
It’s not Renaults money- RTÉ paid him that money which means you and I paid it through our TV licence