Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ admits paying Tubridy €345,000 more than declared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 ✭✭✭jmcc

Don't think that Sheehan quite expected the Indo to actually get a few heads with that story. Brendan O'Connor did well in the JLNRs so his show may not be in trouble. The PT interviews and discussion were good. Prone, however despised, was 100% accurate about Tubridy. Bakhurst stated a few weeks ago that he was not going to be talking to Kelly so this direct negotiation (based on what has been said) with Tubridy is in line with that. Some of the other NKM "talent" in RTE may be first in line for cost reductions.

Regards...jmcc

i predict this is going to be one of the seriously overnight threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,435 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

RTE on the verge of financial collapse.

Hardly any discussion about this on RTE.

Wildfires and Trump - RTE all over them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭maebee

I can second that. I have zero grá for his type of music but great grá for him as a man. A few years ago my OH and I were visiting an elderly relative in a nursing home in rural Co. Limerick, when Daniel made a visit there. He interacted with every single resident. He had no entourage and there was no media mention of it but he lifted many spirits that day, including ours.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Understatement of the year, lol.

What a time to lose your voice, you had plenty of comment to make earlier...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭bigroad

I get the feeling Bakhurst and NK might have had a bit of a blow up.

To be serious I never take a joy in anyone’s personal downfall (unless a total crim etc) but this Tibridy lad needs to learn a very very long hard lesson. He won’t be without means. But lacking in the affirmation he is accustomed to. He has his lovely daughters and mother, siblings etc who adore him, that should be the important focus. He needs to learn his place, there’s plenty of love, though it might be more focussed than he is used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,214 ✭✭✭furiousox

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,214 ✭✭✭furiousox

The irony here is that Tubs fecked it all up for himself.

He had a verbal agreement with the DG and it was a matter of when, not if, he would return to RTE.

He couldn't help but be the smug git and release a statement that seems to have royally pi$$ed off the DG.

Whatever happened, it wasn't public opinion or the views of his work colleagues that went against him.

Ultimately he got himself sacked and the irony is delicious.

It's a bit of a "JFK moment" hearing this news, which I'm sure Ryan will take some comfort from. 😂

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,435 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Surely they will drop the Ryan Tubridy title at this blooming stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,858 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

The Stalinists in RTE will be busy deleting Tubridy from the website and every publicity photo. :) Bonus points for whoever catches the updated schedule with the Ryan Tubridy Show title changed.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,353 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

She stopped for a second when he said lower salaries were on the agenda as contracts came up for renewal.

€170000 is all any of the top 10 earners should be on.

Bak and to the left? :)

it takes a certain type of incompetence to screw up a sure thing when even the management was trying to get Tubridy back on RTE. Tubridy has that kind of incompetence.

Regards...jmcc

Can I not delete the phrase “thick delusional idiot”?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,002 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Terry Prone said one of RT's comments in front of the PAC I think it was, was that he wanted to reach out to the children of Ireland?

That is a bizarre and frankyly creepy thing to say.

Aside from the fact that I never felt he felt genuinely comfortable around children, Sure, he loved hosting the toy show, with the lights and music, and the spotlight on him, but the kids were more a necessary evil than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

However it came about the end of Ryan Tubridy is absolutely special. I can't believe it has come to pass and he did it all himself. Glorious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,706 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Aragh I'd love to have seen them try to reinstate him. Just for the craic like!

Legal proceedings are inevitable now. I'd love to see the face on Noel Kelly now. He is normally like a bulldog with a wasp on his nose.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,002 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

It's very telling that BBC covered his departure. It's almost a very subtle "Don't worry folks, he's not coming here".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,232 ✭✭✭ebbsy

When a TD's salary + expenses + a committee or two pays more than RTE. Will George Lee's wife want him to go back to being a TD?

Prime Time on +1 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,512 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Well Bakhurst laid out a road back for Tubridy.

It seems to involve ditching agent NK, some humble pie and toeing the RTE line / narrative on the payments.

Bakhurst said The organisation is bigger than any one person eg Tubridy.

Subtext is that the organisation will take him back if Tubridy "takes the knee".

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Sorry now but I’m not taking his sho1te about children of Ireland seriously- I’m looking back at that statement through very cynical eyes at this stage- a ploy to garner public support and place pressure on RTE to cave in to his agents demands-

Yes I’m a complete skeptic- this whole “I’m just a presenter who loves my little tv family” is hogwash- no way could a 50 year old man be that naive and if he is then he’s created this la la land himself and simply believes his own hype. As he admitted himself he doesn’t ready negative comments about himself- not bad advice normally but in his case well maybe he should start

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Just in from the pub. Couldn't resist a cheeky nothingburger and chip on my way back.

Might watch the 9 News and PrimeTime recordings, see if anything new.....

He learned to sing darned well through a helluva lot of vocal training, I know that required an awful lot of ongoing committed training, such doesn’t occur with merely weekly sessions. I noticed his initial attempts were very shaky, just like any average performer, like anyone off the street who could half hold a note, who had the eventual potential to hold a longer note or two.

Ryan was sent for very serious stage training, and it is evident he had first class voice coaching, just watch his breath control as he sings, he invested a huge amount of effort into this. The deflation must be huge

Yep and it is clear there would have been a strike of Tubs came back.

Bakhurst is really getting digs in on Noel Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,623 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

There shouldn't be a single employee on over €150k at RTE, contractor or otherwise. And that should be for a full working week. If Scam Tubridy only does 5 hours a week, that's all he gets paid for. Absolute madness they're still talking in the triple figures for this, or any other, dose.

If I had my way, there wouldn't be a single "talent" earning over €50k for the time they put in.