Electric Picnic 2023 **No Ticket Sales / Requests ** - It'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Wooderson

It does, no question. Still had to google her nonetheless. Its not easy being this ignorant lads, keep me in your prayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Scenes in here when it turns out Fanirish is correct! 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭crl84

As already stated, she's playing elsewhere on Sunday, so isn't her.

And even if she wasn't elsewhere, there's no reason to keep her secret this long.

Here's two more playing here soon that might be there reason to hold off because they're not sold out, both promoted by MCD:

Tiesto

Noel Gallagher & HFB

Both free on Sunday 3rd. Noel Gallagher would have to to 3 nights on the trot though, which he doesn't seem to be doing anywhere else. Tiesto is in Vegas on Saturday lunchtime, so plenty of time to hop on a private jet over here for Sunday night. His next gig after EP is in Sweden on the following Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

NG, possible, about as likely as Boygenius.

Tiesto? We've not had a dj type on in daylight main stage before have we?

No reason he can't play after The Killers. The EP conventions of "X type act plays X slot" change from year to year these days.

8:30-10pm for whoever is on 2nd last will mostly be in the dusk/dark anyway.

Killers 8:30-10

Tiesto 10:30-midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Killers will be playing last, it's the Sunday headliner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭rubick

Guetta? Tiesto?

@desk tidy we might need to bring the shotgun.

Maybe. The Saturday headliner usually didn't play last. But sometimes does now.

No reason Sunday can't have a dance act to finish out the night too this year.

As I said, the "rules" went by the wayside years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭duckdiggler

100% loved him pulling the piss out of it 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

I can transfer or sell my installment tickets FYI

Ticketmaster has opened it up now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,369 ✭✭✭endainoz

Just had a quick look, there was a weekend ticket available for 245, by the time I went into it, it was gone though 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Manner14

First time heading to EP for both myself and herself. I know there is the usual Q & A at the start but just looking for some helpful tips for when arriving on the Friday morning.

How long is the walk from the car park to the campsite?

Is there a good time to arrive or is it just bedlam on the Friday getting through?

We've been looking at one of these camping trolleys to lug the stuff from the car are they worth it or just hassle?

Anything else handy i should know would be greatly appreciated

Snarky Snark Snark

Soooo, it's all relative to where you end up parking, where you're looking to camp, ground conditions, time of arrival (queues) etc.

The car parks are mahoosive so it could take you 30 mins or over an hour but earlier is better. Camping trollies can work but if with tiny wheels then don't bother hole, even the good ones can get bogged down in mud.

Yeah that's what i was thinking regarding the trolley. I might just wait until the week of it and see what way the weather is before making a decision on that.

Don't want to have to make 2 trips to the car so was figuring out the logistics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Best to read the 1st post on this thread- its going to cover a lot of what you will need to know.

How long is the walk from the car park to the campsite? Depends :-)

Is there a good time to arrive or is it just bedlam on the Friday getting through? Depends :-) - but earlier the better if you have a specific site you want to get a good spot in

We've been looking at one of these camping trolleys to lug the stuff from the car are they worth it or just hassle? Depends :-) - but you will see it mentioned if you do go for one, get something reliable like one with pneumatic wheels. It may cost a bit up front, but something you could have for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Hank the DJ

Links not working, but search for Decathlon Trolley, about €100 each

I've used 2 of these for 5 EP's a Glasto and ATN, have never left me down,

Snarky Snark Snark

Two people should be able to carry all that a pair need for the weekend, if you're not then you've too much stuff

It has happened before where the advertised headliner didn’t fill the expected slot. Bjork top of the poster in 2013 but opted for an earlier slot with both Two Door Cinema Club and Disclosure coming after her. My Bloody Valentine top line in 2008 but played the Electric Arena. So it’s not set in stone though I’d be very surprised if you were wrong and they didn’t close the festival.

Been mentioned here before by myself and others. Surprisingly not yet announced given they’ve a deal with FR for Reading/Leeds. Still selling tickets for their Belfast gig the Sunday before EP so very likely to be a late addition, and a great one.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

It's most likely the carrying of the alcohol that will cause the problems 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭fourmations

Am i missing something, why are there constant ads on Today FM for EP in the last few days, its sold out, surely it costs them money to run ads? or is it Today Fm just running the ads to push their soundgarden stage (they are generic EP ads that dont mention soundgarden at all)

cheers

Snarky Snark Snark

That was on the Saturday though (was at Billy Bragg when she was on), I'd suspect on the Sunday that there's a requirement for the main stage to be done by 12:00ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

Resale tickets that people are about to offload I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,369 ✭✭✭endainoz

Official event partners and all that, probably would have bought this time ages ago. I spose they could be pushing for the early entry tickets to get sold. What also hasn't been done in a good few years, is radio stations recording sets from festivals and gigs and broadcasting them at a later date. They used to be good craic to listen back to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

They'll be trying to shift early birds in 30 days.

Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Think they are running competitions for tickets so maybe to generate interest