If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭green daries

Nobody will pay me cash 💸 💰 🤑 why would I pay cash 💲

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

My one pet hate is lads looking for cash …..had a lad recently quote me for trimming few hedges and gardening work around house ….was mad what he quoted ….he also wanted cash and me to take away trimmings as he was working …..got the hump when I refused cash and said even for cash price twas mad money …..proceed to then tell me typical miserable auld farmer tight as a ducks arse 🙄🙄needless to say he didn’t get job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Lorne Armstrong

I pay €40 cash a milking to a local lad who will milk weekends. He let's me know every Friday evening what milkings he can do on the sat and sun.

All he has to do is bring in cows and milk and close gap after no moving wires. It takes about 1hr and 20 mins in total so It's handy pocket money for him.

He has no farming background but they're plenty of these guys and girls out there. Its just takes a bit of time to train them in to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭older by the day

Sher don't pay them cash so. If it's a regular thing of course not. I might only be missing six milkings a year so 300 euro ain't gonna break me.

Of course if you're relief milker gets a choice between a guy who pays cash or who doesn't then you can't blame him for going with cash.

Cash is still legal tender. You can withdraw cash from your bank account and put on the statement that it's paying relief milking. Is that correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭liam7831

Just holiday cover for few weekends and maybe odd week once a year, milk 8 at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Yep that’s what we’ve done all year with building a house

they all want cash. That’s fine by me. It’s not my job to pay there tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,036 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

I see "Dairy Herd Manager wanted" adds in the farming press for the past few month offering as low as 30K - are these people actually getting replies and if so does the likes of milking, mucking out etc. included in the role??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

I have a number of friends building at the moment and the black market in one off house builds is scandalous I think. I know it will only make building dearer but people getting up on 20k in cash for jobs is a disgrace in my opinion.

I believe those adds are a needed to apply for a work permit for foreign labour.. they aren't looking for replies

Yep, paid out multi ables of that amount in the last 18 months with our build

it’s the only place trades can get cash. If they do a job for a building company or the like it’s all bank transfer

All very well till your audited ….small one offs I’d get over giving cash but if work any way half regular better register properly and put it thru books the proper way 2 lads here during spring and regular relief Milker all thru books all legit and all happy …..

It is and more fool whoever is paying it ….leaving yourself wide open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,169 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It's all about supply and demand. If a lad wants 20+ euro an hour net to milk cows outside his normal job there is a couple of way to pay him. Pay 40-50 though the books or pay him 20 an hour cash.

I have had this debate with my in-laws over the cost of a plumber to fix a leak or replace a tap. As I pointed out the time on site is only part of the consideration as he has to get to the next job and also collect equipment and pay for tools

I do not like paying cash either. But I understand I have to pay a premium for to put some jobs through the books.

I make the decision as to which makes the most sense. Mostly it's to put it through the books but I understand about having to sometimes I have to pay a premium

Slava Ukrainii

Everything is put down exactly as it’s used here, read my post again

its not my job to make sure they pay there tax

my accountant has made sure it’s correct. His accounts are as good as a set of audited accounts

Like I said have family and friends building, without exception the labour content of the builds is almost entirely cash. All of them would be getting self build mortgages, a rated homes fully certified by engineers, who by the way are looking for cash aswell, architects cash.. how revenue are letting it go is beyond me it's absolutely rife with one off house builds..like gtm says they can't get cash off the big sites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭Jb1989

When solicitors regularly ask for cash you know there is no law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Have you got invoices etc of the lads doing the work with their registered vat number etc and cash paid accounted for and wrote on invoice, if your using mortgage money drawn down their probably is zero issue, but if trying to expense it to farm accounts without the above your accountant is horsing

It’s a very grey area tho in an audit ….if just paying a guy direct he is treated as a contractor and u need a receipt to show same ….most won’t give any receipt in case there caught ….I even asked if I could just pay employers Prsi and leave whoever did job pay his own tax ….u can but can u be Sure he will pay the tax ….I know of one case like this and landed both sides in bother with revenue when he was audited …..revenue not someone u want looking for gaps in accounts

just agree a gross wage both sides happy with and it’s clean …gets messy if it’s net figure as guy working for you may have very little credits if any to allocate to you as he has them given elsewhere …..20 euro an hour rate could end up costing you 40

Had the same experience here with tradesmen. Gave me two prices. If I have to pay tax your paying it they said.

None of it was used as an expense to offset tax. Building materials, block layer, plumber, electrician all that money is down in the bank account and accounts as to where it went

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,169 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

With trades people it's a double whammy add 13.5% vat into the equation

For a lot of handy men that the risk as well. There fear is they end up vat registered.

For lads doing a few milking of they were cute they would register as a sole trader write off the part of the phone and car costs, charge a bit extra an hour self access and work the system.

Biggest issue issue is many are not too computer savvy

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭green daries

Grand how many cows. how long in total does it take you .... Will it be cash ....

Revenue play waiting game. There is no point in catching a lad for 3-5k or even a bit more it would seldom cover a revenue audit costs.

They normally target a sector and hit it hard so the word gets out. An electrician who got audited told me they looked for all his electrical compliance certificates and a payment for them all. It would be similar with solicitors and engineers.

The real sting is if you not vat registered and are over the vat registeration limits

Slava Ukrainii

My teagasc man tells there is alot of his dairy customers hanging up their clusters. Good operators and not that old but just sick of all the regs and the whole thing. They wouldn't like to see their children doing what they do. I'd say he seemed concerned for his own job.

If this dairy exit scheme happens I reckon there will be serious interest ….im farming since I was a young lad ….in my own right since 2010 and the changes even since 2010 are huge ….the changes happening now and what’s proposed will be bigger again and will drastically change the landscape for anyone milking cows expansion as we’ve become accustomed to since quota abolition won’t be possible and a lot of heavily borrowed new entrants especially are in for very rocky ride

The land of milk and honey .........let ye keep working on the promise of 💰. Was a saying an old timer who did bits and pieces with farmers and contractors use 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,763 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

A mechanic from Wicklow happened to be in the yard here recently.

He sold haylage delivered locally for €55. What he's doing for the last number of years and he said there's more farmers around going the route. Is buy a few cattle when grass comes in Spring. Make silage or haylage in summer and sell. Then sell the cattle in the autumn. He has no cattle for the winter. So no work. Solves lots on nitrates too.

If a farmer or stud owner bought 250 bales off him that's €13,750.

You'd be cracked giving that amount of money for 250 bales. But you'd be cracked not to be selling 250 bales if you got that money.

There's lots looking at easier options.

If it good haylage and he is replacing the nutrients he probably had 15/ bale out of it last year after delivery costs. So about 3-4k of a net margin.

Lads have a mortal fear of keeping cattle over the winter. I find they are the only ones that pay. Last couple of years serious money made summer grazing. This year will be break even at best for many.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Just supposing I get in a few young lads in college to milk at weekends, holidays etc. and pay by bank transfer, do they have to go on my books or is there on onus on them to look after their own tax? Is there some exempt threshold or anything to cover occasional workers like this?